Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 10th July 2012, 02:49 PM
jpollard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,870
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

You don't own /media, so of course you can't create directories there. /media gets created during startup (it is a tmpfs), so directories created there even by root will not survive a reboot.

You can try using /mnt, but even then you don't own the directory, but directories created there should survive a reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10th July 2012, 05:25 PM
pratporetw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: India
Posts: 27
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

Does this mean that what i am willing to do is not possible.... ??

And am not willing to mount at /mnt because mounting there wont mount the drive at GUI (as i have seen).

And surviving at reboot is not a problem because i have kept the commands in the .bash_profile file. so it will create those directories everytime and then will mount on it.

I was wondering if someone could solve my "Permission Denied !" Problem. i even tried doing
Code:
chmod 777 /media
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10th July 2012, 06:22 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 2,771
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by pratporetw View Post
And am not willing to mount at /mnt because mounting there wont mount the drive at GUI (as i have seen).
The GUI doesn't care what what your mount points are, but might be sensitive to how they're mounted (e.g. automatically by udisks vs. manually – and scripted mount commands are manual for this purpose). You can always create "bookmarks" or symbolic links if the GUI doesn't show the mount-points for some reason.

Quote:
I was wondering if someone could solve my "Permission Denied !" Problem.
Normally only root can ever mount or unmount file-systems. The automatic and GUI mounting infrastructure jump through a few hoops to hide this.

The correct place to mount file-systems is in /etc/fstab. Add lines like:
Code:
/dev/sda2  /mnt/C  ntfs  defaults   0  0
/dev/sda3  /mnt/D  ntfs  defaults   0  0
to mount the file-systems on boot. You must create /mnt/{C,D} directories once manually first.

There are refinements that can be made, such as using UUIDs instead of device names, and tweaking the mount options for file ownership and permissions (see the "mount" and "fstab" manual pages), but that's the basic starting point for setting up persistent mounts.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10th July 2012, 06:48 PM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,397
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertdaleweir View Post
At what point does the /etc/gdm/Init/Default script run when booting and going to a GUI Login Screen? I put a chunk of code there under F16 and it worked for me. Now under F17 it does not work. Has something changed in the order or even the use of this script under F17?
AdamW posted this in reference to gdm:
Quote:
'GDM' is now rather like Shell: it has two modes. If your system is capable of supporting Shell it doesn't really exactly run GDM any more, but GNOME Shell in a special login mode, which handles logging in.

If your system isn't capable of Shell, it runs GDM's fallback mode, which is basically GDM.

You can see this stuff in /usr/share/gnome-session/sessions/gdm-fallback.session and /usr/share/gnome-session/sessions/gdm-shell.session . So you have to be aware of the two modes when talking about 'gdm' and be aware they could behave differently.
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...4&postcount=13

And the situation may have changed again since then in F17...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10th July 2012, 07:03 PM
pratporetw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: India
Posts: 27
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

@Gareth Jones

Puting those commands worked for mounting the partitions at the startup but it removed the partitions from the GUI and now i cant access them from GUI as GUI shows partitions only mounted at /media but not of /mnt.

Anymore help
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10th July 2012, 07:18 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 2,771
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

I don't know a proper fix for that, but there is an easy work-around. Assuming that you're using GNOME/Nautilus, run the file manager and go to "/mnt/C" or whatever you called it. (If you press the first "/", the location buttons will change into a text-entry field.) If you press Ctrl+D, "C" should appear in the bookmarks on the left in both Nautilus and GNOME file open/save windows. I'm not sure about KDE though.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10th July 2012, 07:44 PM
pratporetw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: India
Posts: 27
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

This is just a temporary fix. Sorry but I would rather mount it manually using GUI then.

---------- Post added at 12:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:02 AM ----------

Please help me with one more problem. (Fedora is proving to be more complicated than i thought )

I have installed dropbox on my system. But when i try to access it, it says "you need to download proprietary daemon to use dropbox". Well this is not my problem. The problem is when i press OK it says "Your server is down or set http_proxy environment variable".

So i declared http_proxy as
Code:
http_proxy="http://<username>:<password>@proxy_server:proxy_port"
export http_proxy
in the .bash_profile.

But its still showing me the same error to set http_proxy variable.
When i do echo $http_proxy it shows me the value which means variable is available
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10th July 2012, 08:40 PM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 421
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoran View Post
AdamW posted this in reference to gdm:

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...4&postcount=13

And the situation may have changed again since then in F17...
Hi sonoran
I will poke around with this info and see if I cannot figure just where I could put my "numlockx on" code so that it is there at the Login prompt. Thank you, I really appreciate it

---------- Post added at 12:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:09 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pratporetw View Post
@Gareth Jones

Puting those commands worked for mounting the partitions at the startup but it removed the partitions from the GUI and now i cant access them from GUI as GUI shows partitions only mounted at /media but not of /mnt.

Anymore help
Hi pratporetw
If the mounts are stable from login to login whynot put two links on your Desktop which points to the two mounts. They will then be there, on your GUI Desktop, when you are booted up.
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 3.9.10-100.fc17.x86_64 GNOME 3.4.2
CPU AMD 955 Quad Core
MoBo Gigabyte MA785GM-UD2H-AM3 MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10th July 2012, 09:10 PM
pratporetw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: India
Posts: 27
linuxfirefox
Re: Error in Editing .bash_profile

That would be better.

In fact thats great. I wonder why didn't get that.

Thanks robertdaleweir
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bash_profile, error, fedora, gui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F13 .bash_profile dysphorichermit Using Fedora 2 28th May 2010 09:12 PM
grubby "no suitable template" error causes no editing of grob.conf marko Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 3 12th July 2009 03:18 AM
.bash_profile laughingteacake Using Fedora 24 19th January 2008 09:17 PM
.bash_profile armen Using Fedora 3 12th March 2005 07:04 PM
.bash_Profile chitech Using Fedora 9 24th August 2004 08:50 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:19 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Veinticinco de Mayo Instagram Photos - Pervomaysk Photos on Instagram - Banda