Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th July 2012, 05:03 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
FC 17 has only splash screen

New install of FC17, 32 bit Gnome desktop. After apparently good install. all I have is the splash screen w fireworks on the right and stars on the left. No mouse, no keyboard, and no icons either. Help please. Tks Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th July 2012, 07:45 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,078
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

That's no splash screen that's the gnome background picture ;-)

What kind of netbook or graphics chip do you have?

Can you try to hook up another external monitor?

Sometimes the primary screen is configured for another monitor for no apparent reason.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th July 2012, 12:09 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

It's a Dell PC Inspiron about a year and a half old. Can't tell about the graphics card except that it has whatever Dell put in them. No difference with another monitor. And the current monitor (Acer H233) works fine with Ubuntu (v12.04), and Win 7 as well as openSuse (v 12.1). Sorry I haven't been much help with details. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th July 2012, 12:34 PM
Yellowman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
It's a Dell PC Inspiron about a year and a half old. Can't tell about the graphics card except that it has whatever Dell put in them. No difference with another monitor. And the current monitor (Acer H233) works fine with Ubuntu (v12.04), and Win 7 as well as openSuse (v 12.1). Sorry I haven't been much help with details. Bob
That's an understatement

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=259252


Post the output for this command

Code:
lspci -v

Hopefully someone else can help as I don't help noobs , it pisses me off too much.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th July 2012, 02:52 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

I can't get the terminal window up. No keyboard, mouse or icons. Just the gnome startup screen Tried CTL + Alt+T to get terminal but that soes nothing too .Whole keyboard is dead I guess along with mouse.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th July 2012, 08:55 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Tried again to get a terminal window or mouse activity but no luck at all. Just have the gnome screen that shows after installation. Unable to enter the code above lspci -v because the screen is non-functional. Should I wait til the final release is out and start over? Bob
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th July 2012, 09:18 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

What happens if you hit Ctrl-Alt-F2

That should bring up a console screen, there you can sign in as root and run the lspci -v command
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th July 2012, 01:37 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

CTL + ALT + F2 opened a console screen. Ran the lspci -v command and got about 3 or 4 screens full of output which flashed by very fast. It stopped at the login again. New to this and have no clue as to how to send all that output to you. Any more suggestions? Bob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th July 2012, 02:00 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

easy way..

lspci -v > lspci.txt

Then copy lspci.txt over to where you can access it from Windows (since it appears you are using Windows to get on here)

You can then either copy/paste it here, or attach it as a txt file.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th July 2012, 02:15 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Yes I'm in win 7. Not sure I follow. Where do I type the lspci -v >lspci.txt. I assume I have to do that in Fedora but how can I copy it over to Win and paste it. I have 2 separate HDs. One with win 7 and the other with Fedora. Have to shut down the pc ,remove the drive ,and put in the other one. So not sure how to copy it over. Thanks for the help. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12th July 2012, 02:24 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Do you have a flash drive? Or even a floppy drive? Either could be used to copy a small file between operating systems.

Or, Just run

lspci -v | grep VGA

That should tell you what video adapter is in there. You can easily write that down, or remember it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12th July 2012, 04:31 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Output from lspci -v |grep VGA Compatible Controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03) (prog if 00 [VGA controller]) Bob
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16th July 2012, 06:50 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Any more suggestions as to what I can do to get past the gnome screen in FC 17. Output to lspci -v |grep VGA is posted here. Haven't heard any more. Hope it can be fixed. Thanks guys.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16th July 2012, 07:10 PM
Yellowman
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Try

Code:
su
yum erase gnome-shell
and see if you get a login screen
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16th July 2012, 07:30 PM
Skull One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lost...
Posts: 1,158
linuxredhatmozilla
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

No mouse and no keyboard?
Please, report here the log file '/var/log/Xorg.0.log' to check for error messages.
__________________
:confused:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
screen, splash

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splash Screen f14 ablyall Using Fedora 2 4th February 2011 11:30 AM
Splash Screen Jamwa Using Fedora 2 5th February 2010 12:01 AM
Splash screen (?) won't go away.... jpopesku Using Fedora 2 6th November 2006 05:31 PM
GRUB screen instead of install splash screen varelg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 8th June 2006 03:19 AM
splash screen freddye Using Fedora 4 28th November 2004 12:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:03 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Daye - Eastwood - Srono Photos