Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th June 2012, 11:46 AM
THEcreationist Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
linuxchrome
Unhappy Fedora 16: unable to switch to console

On my fedora 16 system, once I press Ctrl+Alt+F2, the screen goes black for a long time but no terminal appears. When I press Alt+F1 it instantly switches back to GUI mode.

The same thing happens when I execute init 3 from the terminal, the screen goes black but nothing happens for a long time.

However, if I set the default runlevel to 3, it successfully boots into terminal mode. The problems seems to be in switching from GUI to terminal mode.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th June 2012, 12:10 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 16: unable to switch to console

You now use the systemctl command from the command line to change runlevels.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th June 2012, 04:39 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,765
windows_7chrome
Re: Fedora 16: unable to switch to console

Do any other virtual consoles have terminals on them (i.e. try Ctrl+Alt+F3-F6)?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th June 2012, 05:14 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 16: unable to switch to console

Which kernel are you using?

I just noticed something weird: the agettys are only started when you switch to that console, but on a reasonable fast system they should appear almost instantaneously.

Code:
ps aux | grep -i getty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th June 2012, 07:31 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,634
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 16: unable to switch to console

Make sure your /etc/sysconfig/init file has this line uncommented:
Code:
ACTIVE_CONSOLES=/dev/tty[1-6]
If you do end up changing that file then you'll probably have to reboot for it to take effect.
If that doesn't fix it, then post the output of this command:
Code:
ls -l /etc/systemd/system/getty.target.wants/
I had a problem in F15 where my display manager was causing plymouth-quit.service to not quit, which prevented virtual consoles from being created. My solution was to kill plymouth: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=264526
That may not be your problem, but you could try it if nothing else works.
__________________
"I'm not glad he's dead, but I'm glad he's gone."
-- Richard M. Stallman, on the death of Steve Jobs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st June 2012, 06:01 AM
THEcreationist Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 16: unable to switch to console

I tried changing runlevel using systemctl but with no success. None of the virtual consoles seem to load.

The kernel is 3.4.2-1.fc16.i686.

All my agettys seem to be started already:

Code:
$ ps aux | grep -i getty
root      1098  0.0  0.0   4280   732 tty3     Ss+  10:08   0:00 /sbin/agetty tty3 38400
root      1101  0.0  0.0   4280   728 tty5     Ss+  10:08   0:00 /sbin/agetty tty5 38400
root      1102  0.0  0.0   4280   728 tty6     Ss+  10:08   0:00 /sbin/agetty tty6 38400
root      1103  0.0  0.0   4280   728 tty4     Ss+  10:08   0:00 /sbin/agetty tty4 38400
root      2166  0.0  0.0   4280   728 tty2     Ss+  10:21   0:00 /sbin/agetty tty2 38400
ashu      2212  0.0  0.0   4596   840 pts/0    S+   10:27   0:00 grep --color=auto -i getty


---------- Post added at 10:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:28 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by RupertPupkin View Post
Make sure your /etc/sysconfig/init file has this line uncommented:
Code:
ACTIVE_CONSOLES=/dev/tty[1-6]
Yes the line if already uncommented.

Quote:
If that doesn't fix it, then post the output of this command:
Code:
ls -l /etc/systemd/system/getty.target.wants/
I had a problem in F15 where my display manager was causing plymouth-quit.service to not quit, which prevented virtual consoles from being created. My solution was to kill plymouth: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=264526
That may not be your problem, but you could try it if nothing else works.
There is no plymouth process running. Here is the output of the command:

Code:
$ ls -l /etc/systemd/system/getty.target.wants/
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 34 Oct 22  2010 getty@tty1.service -> /lib/systemd/system/getty@.service
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 34 Oct 22  2010 getty@tty2.service -> /lib/systemd/system/getty@.service
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 34 Oct 22  2010 getty@tty3.service -> /lib/systemd/system/getty@.service
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 34 Oct 22  2010 getty@tty4.service -> /lib/systemd/system/getty@.service
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 34 Oct 22  2010 getty@tty5.service -> /lib/systemd/system/getty@.service
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 34 Oct 22  2010 getty@tty6.service -> /lib/systemd/system/getty@.service
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
console, fedora, switch, unable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to switch between Gnome and KDE desktops in Fedora 12 Trevor4706 Using Fedora 0 23rd February 2010 09:20 PM
Fedora 12 , can not switch to console via CTRL+ALT+Fn hantsy Using Fedora 1 19th November 2009 03:30 PM
Fedora 10 : getting Warning: unable to open initial console aliaseldhose Using Fedora 3 31st December 2008 01:56 AM
can't switch to console from X seeker010 Using Fedora 0 25th October 2007 04:57 PM
Vmware Console Switch seyyah Using Fedora 0 19th March 2006 10:52 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:28 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat