Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th June 2012, 04:08 PM
timvdwest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
linuxchrome
F16 -> F17 Upgrade. Preupgrade runs fine, but doesn't upgrade.

I am now running preupgrade a 3rd time to see if I'm lucky.

Problem is that preupgrade runs fine, it downloads all the files necessary and reaches the end and tells me to reboot. I click reboot, the machine restarts fine but boots straight back in to F16. Nothing else happens happens once Fedora starts up.

Any ideas?

---------- Post added at 05:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:04 PM ----------

OK, have found wiki notes on this issue, but now after entering the following in to grub:

Quote:
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/upgrade/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/upgrade/initrd.img
boot
It starts up and then gives me:

Quote:
dracut Warning: no suitable images
dracut Warning: Unable to process initqueue
dracut Warning: /dev/root does not exist
Cannot continue from here. I found a bug report here: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=810136, but according to this it should be fixed.

Think I'm just going to do a clean install :/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th June 2012, 07:43 PM
DrewP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: France
Posts: 70
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 -> F17 Upgrade. Preupgrade runs fine, but doesn't upgrade.

I suspect this won't help for your problem but I had identical experience over the last 24 hours. I ran preupgrade on a computer remotely, re-booted and it booted into F16

Only when I stood in front of the computer and watched it booting did I see one of the grub options was to set up Fedora 17. The default option was to boot into F16.

Be warned, it took several hours (on a 400 MHz P2) from selecting setup Fedora 17 to having a workable system.

It looks like the intel video drivers on Gnome fallback mode don't work very well either. Sadly the iso of the F17 live CD was on the disk that died and prompted me to install F16 from live CD and upgrade straightaway. I'm running preupgrade on another computer with intel hardware but I think I will delay until I have tested with a live cd before activating the upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th June 2012, 10:53 PM
timvdwest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
linuxchrome
Re: F16 -> F17 Upgrade. Preupgrade runs fine, but doesn't upgrade.

Did a fresh install. A pain though because for some reason Plex doesn't store library info in the home folder, which I backed up specifically for this. Now have to rescan my whole media library over :/

Besides that, I find boot speed a lot better and general experience seems to be much more responsive.

One thing that did bother me in the past was that Nautilus would take a long time to start up on my f16 install. Nautilus after installing f17 was super zippy but as soon as I installed Dropbox it slowed down again, so I think I found the culprit - now what to do about it...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th June 2012, 04:14 AM
mwette Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 887
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 -> F17 Upgrade. Preupgrade runs fine, but doesn't upgrade.

I had problems but was fixed by:

$ yum clean all
$ yum update
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
>, f16, f17, fine, preupgrade, runs, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade 10->12 with preupgrade hichmoul Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 22nd December 2009 08:41 PM
Upgrade using preupgrade Jamwa Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 31st March 2009 05:14 AM
Upgrade from 9-10 fine, although can't get past the GRUB Booma Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 17th December 2008 03:08 PM
FC9 upgrade works fine but mha Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 20 19th June 2008 10:31 AM
Fedora 9 runs fine in LiveCD and installs fine.... IncomingF5 Using Fedora 10 19th June 2008 09:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:43 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat