Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st June 2012, 10:46 PM
Bad2theBone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, Georgia
Posts: 363
linuxfirefox
Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

I have just updated from F16 LXDE to F17 Gnome Shell/Cinnamon. I have noticed that after having a calc spreadsheet file open and the focus on it for a while the desktop suddenly becomes unresponsive. The mouse pointer can be moved around but that is it. I can not change windows or desktops. I am able to Ctl-Alt-F3 to another virtual console and login there. I have tried kill -9 of all processes related to Libreoffice with no change. The only thing that works it Ctrl-Alt-Bkspace which of course restarts X and I'm able to log back in, but of course all opened files will be locked when I try to restart those apps, and I have to go through a file recovery for calc.

Anyone else experiencing anything like this, or have any ideas as to what may be causing this? I haven't found anything in the logs to suggest any problems prior to this happening.
__________________
Hey, I was born confused, what's your excuse?!?!?! :D
AMD Phenom II 965 64 X4, MSI 890FXA-GD70 16 GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3 RAM Corsair, Video = AMD HD5770 w/1GB VRAM, SATAIII HDD 1 = 640GB, SATAIII HDD 2 = 1.0TB, SATAII HDD 3 = 1.0TB, SATAIII HDD 4 = 1.0TB, SATA 7 = ASUS DVD/CD, SATA 8 = Panasonic BD/DVD/CD RAM, Corsair HX850W, CoolMaster ATCS840 OS = Fedora 20
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd June 2012, 12:50 AM
itsjustarumour Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad2theBone View Post
I have just updated from F16 LXDE to F17 Gnome Shell/Cinnamon. I have noticed that after having a calc spreadsheet file open and the focus on it for a while the desktop suddenly becomes unresponsive. The mouse pointer can be moved around but that is it. I can not change windows or desktops. I am able to Ctl-Alt-F3 to another virtual console and login there. I have tried kill -9 of all processes related to Libreoffice with no change. The only thing that works it Ctrl-Alt-Bkspace which of course restarts X and I'm able to log back in, but of course all opened files will be locked when I try to restart those apps, and I have to go through a file recovery for calc.

Anyone else experiencing anything like this, or have any ideas as to what may be causing this? I haven't found anything in the logs to suggest any problems prior to this happening.
Yep, I'm seeing the same thing in LibreOffice Writer. Use it for about 30 minutes, then everything freezes and I can only move the mouse. Have to hard reboot each time. Using Fedora 17 (64 bit) with lastest Cinnamon. Everything was working perfectly until 2 days ago when I updated Cinnamon, so I'm suspecting thats where the problem lies... so far I've been unable to pin it down with any degree of certainty though...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd June 2012, 01:31 AM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

Libreoffice takes up some memory.
Is there plenty in your machine.
F17 in vobx with 1024MB frose on me yesterday.
The Gnome-shel was using a lot and the same symtoms you describe occurred.
I check the vbox task in top and sure enough it was well over the limit.
I changed the memory in the VM to 1152M and there was no more problem.
fyi, the shel used 400MB virtual, so you need a swap even if it doesn't show being used, other wise it could hang at any time.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd June 2012, 01:57 AM
Bad2theBone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, Georgia
Posts: 363
linuxsafari
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

Slowjet, I have 8gb on bare metal. I had also thought, the same, but I sort of doubt it, unless there is a memory leak.

---------- Post added at 08:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:53 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustarumour View Post
Yep, I'm seeing the same thing in LibreOffice Writer. Use it for about 30 minutes, then everything freezes and I can only move the mouse. Have to hard reboot each time. Using Fedora 17 (64 bit) with lastest Cinnamon. Everything was working perfectly until 2 days ago when I updated Cinnamon, so I'm suspecting thats where the problem lies... so far I've been unable to pin it down with any degree of certainty though...
Hmm, I haven't tried straight Gnome Shell, to see if it's actually Cinnamon. Now based on your comment I am definitely try it to see. Will get back to ya'll.
__________________
Hey, I was born confused, what's your excuse?!?!?! :D
AMD Phenom II 965 64 X4, MSI 890FXA-GD70 16 GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3 RAM Corsair, Video = AMD HD5770 w/1GB VRAM, SATAIII HDD 1 = 640GB, SATAIII HDD 2 = 1.0TB, SATAII HDD 3 = 1.0TB, SATAIII HDD 4 = 1.0TB, SATA 7 = ASUS DVD/CD, SATA 8 = Panasonic BD/DVD/CD RAM, Corsair HX850W, CoolMaster ATCS840 OS = Fedora 20
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd June 2012, 02:24 AM
itsjustarumour Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad2theBone View Post
Slowjet, I have 8gb on bare metal. I had also thought, the same, but I sort of doubt it, unless there is a memory leak.

---------- Post added at 08:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:53 PM ----------



Hmm, I haven't tried straight Gnome Shell, to see if it's actually Cinnamon. Now based on your comment I am definitely try it to see. Will get back to ya'll.
Coolio, let us know how you get on, and in the meantime I'll have another look at things this end. I'm on 4GB of RAM plus 2GB of swap, so I don't think I'm running out. I have noticed that this latest version of Cinnamon uses more RAM over time - its starting out at 105MB, but gradually goes up to 250MB and beyond. No idea how the previous version fared in comparison, as since I had no problems, I never needed to check!

EDIT - well that didn't take long to replicate the problem again. Opened a LibreOffice Writer document, and within 10 minutes my system completely froze up apart from the mouse. I was monitoring RAM usage for both Cinnamon and LibreOffice, and didn't see anything abnormal on that score...

Last edited by itsjustarumour; 2nd June 2012 at 02:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd June 2012, 04:28 AM
Bad2theBone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, Georgia
Posts: 363
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

Hey itsjustarumor, I've been working in Gnome Shell DE instead of Cinnamon and all seems to be fine. Been up for about 30+ minutes, with FF (3 tabs open), TB (with Lightning and using about 5 cal. through provider), Gnucash with about 7 tabs open, LO Calc spreadsheet, Calculator, Nautilus (using split payne) and KeePassX (password Manager). I have about 5 or 6 gnome shell extensions running that includes the 2nd panel on the bottom for task bar and desktop selector with 4 static desktops.

This is my current mem usage:

total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 8178664 7705668 472996 0 396340 4779236
-/+ buffers/cache: 2530092 5648572
Swap: 10649588 1728 10647860
__________________
Hey, I was born confused, what's your excuse?!?!?! :D
AMD Phenom II 965 64 X4, MSI 890FXA-GD70 16 GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3 RAM Corsair, Video = AMD HD5770 w/1GB VRAM, SATAIII HDD 1 = 640GB, SATAIII HDD 2 = 1.0TB, SATAII HDD 3 = 1.0TB, SATAIII HDD 4 = 1.0TB, SATA 7 = ASUS DVD/CD, SATA 8 = Panasonic BD/DVD/CD RAM, Corsair HX850W, CoolMaster ATCS840 OS = Fedora 20
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd June 2012, 03:25 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,750
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

This could be a graphics driver issue – I've noticed various programs have managed to crash the Shell/X/driver stack with the new Shell and Gallium3d drivers. Certain drawing operations just seem to catch it out, e.g. using the location buttons in Nautilus was a reliable way to crash on my machine, but that disappeared in the next update luckily.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd June 2012, 03:45 PM
itsjustarumour Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gareth Jones View Post
This could be a graphics driver issue – I've noticed various programs have managed to crash the Shell/X/driver stack with the new Shell and Gallium3d drivers. Certain drawing operations just seem to catch it out, e.g. using the location buttons in Nautilus was a reliable way to crash on my machine, but that disappeared in the next update luckily.
I was just wondering myself if this might be a graphics card driver issue. I'm on a GT240, using the NVidia binary blob. I'd previously tried the Nouveau/Gallium driver, but found that much more unstable on my system. Everything was working fine though until a couple of days ago with NVidia, so if some combination of packages or updates triggered this, then I'm not sure what...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd June 2012, 07:38 PM
Bad2theBone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, Georgia
Posts: 363
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

I have an older HD3650 (ATI) card, using the opensource driver and the problem definitely seems to be with Cinnamon as switching back to Gnome 3.4 it has dissappeared. I only have about 5 or 6 extensions installed, to include the bottom panel. There is one characteristic of the Task Bar that I miss the ability to move the tabs around in any order you want. Anyone happen to know of a way to do that?
__________________
Hey, I was born confused, what's your excuse?!?!?! :D
AMD Phenom II 965 64 X4, MSI 890FXA-GD70 16 GB (4x4GB) 1600 DDR3 RAM Corsair, Video = AMD HD5770 w/1GB VRAM, SATAIII HDD 1 = 640GB, SATAIII HDD 2 = 1.0TB, SATAII HDD 3 = 1.0TB, SATAIII HDD 4 = 1.0TB, SATA 7 = ASUS DVD/CD, SATA 8 = Panasonic BD/DVD/CD RAM, Corsair HX850W, CoolMaster ATCS840 OS = Fedora 20
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd June 2012, 01:58 AM
itsjustarumour Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad2theBone View Post
the problem definitely seems to be with Cinnamon as switching back to Gnome 3.4 it has dissappeared
Yep, thats the way its looking here too. I've been using LibreOffice Writer and Gnome Shell all day instead of Cinnamon, and I haven't had a single lockup.

Last edited by itsjustarumour; 4th June 2012 at 02:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th June 2012, 04:05 PM
Catastrophe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

yeah, just posting to confirm the issue on F17 x64, with any app of the libreoffice suite... sometimes it doesnt need even 3 minutes to die on me. trying GNOME on the meantime.

edit:
seems a problem on upstream cinnamon, the linux mint forums are also talking about this.
__________________
ASUS g74sx-bbk7 -- Fedora 17 x64
Intel CORE i7 2630QM @2GHz // nVidia GeForce GTX 560M 2GB // 8GB DDR3 1333 MHz SDRAM // 2 x 500GB 7,200rpm
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 8th June 2012, 07:39 AM
libregeek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
linuxfirefox
Re: Libreoffice Calc causes Desktop to stop functioning

I'm also having the same issue with Cinnamon+LibreOffice. Is there a bug reported in upstream?
__________________
http://libregeek.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calc, desktop, functioning, libreoffice, stop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LibreOffice Calc cells and fonts huge liderbug Wibble 3 2nd March 2012 06:40 PM
KDE plasma-desktop and most of KDE application stop functioning dmid7 Using Fedora 4 6th November 2011 04:59 PM
lvm stop functioning after unmounting /usr rob07mxa Using Fedora 2 10th August 2008 10:13 PM
Icon themes stop functioning after loggin in a few times?? Beepa Using Fedora 0 24th May 2006 04:04 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:33 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat