Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th December 2008, 08:54 AM
textux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Fedora 10 Atheros 5007EG was working now broken

There seems to have been a flurry of updates recently.
Somewhere along the way my wireless broke (I've been plugged in to the local lan so I'm not sure what broke it, but it did work).


My current kernel is 2.6.27.7-134.fc10.i686
output from lspci -nn is
02:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter [168c:001c] (rev 01)
This web page http://home.roadrunner.com/~computer...hwireless.html discribes the chip as Atheros 5007EG. The kernel defaults to ath5k module.

In dmesg it shows:
ath5k_pci 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
ath5k_pci 0000:02:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
ath5k_pci 0000:02:00.0: registered as 'phy0'
ath5k phy0: Support for RF2425 is under development.
phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'pid'
ath5k phy0: Atheros AR2425 chip found (MAC: 0xe2, PHY: 0x70)
ath5k phy0: gain calibration timeout (2412MHz)
ath5k phy0: unable to reset hardware: -11
....

the last two lines repeat.

I did try moving back to the previous kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.27.5-117.fc10.i686, but that didn't help

I get the same info in dmesg

If I run iwlist wlan0 scan it doesn't find any wireless hubs.

I did try madwifi by blacklisting ath5k and running modprobe ath_pci

I ran ifconfig wlan0 up
iwlist wlan0 scan
No hubs were found (not normal for my neighborhood, should find at least 5 besides my own).

dmesg shows
ath_pci 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
ath_pci 0000:02:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
MadWifi: ath_attach: Switching rfkill capability off.
wifi0: Atheros AR2425 chip found (MAC 14.2, PHY SChip 7.0, Radio 10.2)
ath_pci: wifi0: Atheros 5424/2424: mem=0xfdff0000, irq=16
udev: renamed network interface ath0 to wlan0

Note: that was after a reboot.

Can anyone help me troubleshoot this?

Thanks!
//Bill

------------------------------------
Quick note at the top to say powering down the laptop resolved the problem
//Bill

Last edited by textux; 18th December 2008 at 01:34 PM. Reason: proglem solved
  #2  
Old 18th December 2008, 11:16 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
I haven't been able to duplicate your issue. My guess is that you might have turned off a hardware switch. (For example, on my Aspire 4720z there's a button that turns it on and off, unfortunately, it's not a switch that's in one position or another. simply a button that's pressed.)

If using MadWifi, the card is probably called ath0, rather than wlan0. (That's not a definite, but is usually the case.)

Make sure that whichever one you're using, (ath_pci or ath5k) that you've blacklisted the other one.

Make sure that the module is definitely loaded (whichever you use)

lsmod |grep ath
  #3  
Old 18th December 2008, 01:32 PM
textux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
power cycle fixed it

On the Averatec, the hardware transmitter control is a button at the top with some Icon I haven't figured out yet.

I did try that. That was my initial barrier to getting wifi to work.

What did remedy the problem I think was powering down the laptop. I had rebooted numerous times, but in this case a power down was needed to reset the chip.

Thanks for the suggestion, it led me down the right road.

//Bill
  #4  
Old 21st May 2009, 01:51 AM
gaga.zhn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Hi,
I have exactly the same problem with you. same wireless card. same fedora10! do you solve that problem?

I have XP and Fedora 10 both in my laptop. Recently I find my Network Manager didn't show any AP, not by updating or other "things", the problem just occur suddenly, just "suddenly". when I entered the windows I found my wireless didn't work either! In fact wireless did work well in fedora several minute ago.
  #5  
Old 9th May 2012, 09:54 PM
nasls_lsa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Greece/ Athens
Posts: 13
linuxfedoraseamonkey
Lightbulb Re: Fedora 10 Atheros 5007EG was working now broken

I was getting some days now similar error messages on my Fedora 16,

Quote:
May 9 23:19:59 loft kernel: [188617.065908] ath5k phy0: gain calibration timeout (2452MHz)
May 9 23:20:00 loft kernel: [188617.531234] ath5k phy0: gain calibration timeout (2457MHz)
May 9 23:20:01 loft kernel: [188618.918127] net_ratelimit: 2 callbacks suppressed
May 9 23:20:01 loft kernel: [188618.918131] ath5k phy0: gain calibration timeout (2472MHz)
May 9 23:20:02 loft kernel: [188619.379969] ath5k phy0: gain calibration timeout (2462MHz)
May 9 23:21:56 loft kernel: [188733.347585] ath5k phy0: gain calibration timeout (2412MHz)
and what I did and worked was as root:

rmmod ath5k

At the moment I don't use wifi but ethernet. When I will want to use wifi on my laptop I suppose or I will do a reboot or ( first ) I will try to load ath5k module first
  #6  
Old 9th May 2012, 10:28 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,082
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 10 Atheros 5007EG was working now broken

Thanks for adding a 'fix' on the thread, but since the last post was 3 years ago, hopefully the problem's solved long since.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
  #7  
Old 9th May 2012, 11:34 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,201
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 10 Atheros 5007EG was working now broken

Hmmmm.

I wondered where that odor was coming from.

Thread re-buried. <....>
Closed Thread

Tags
ar2425, ath5k, atheros, fedora10, wifi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atheros NIC not working in Fedora 11 ambawell Servers & Networking 1 27th September 2009 07:15 PM
Anacron not working on Fedora 11?? - possibly broken! Kaya Saman Mac Chat 0 3rd August 2009 01:10 AM
atheros 5007EG problem mbalaci Hardware & Laptops 2 26th November 2008 10:38 PM
Atheros 5007eg voltaire Hardware & Laptops 7 29th April 2008 03:17 AM
Atheros still not working darkgod Servers & Networking 15 24th December 2007 08:56 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:02 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat