Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th May 2012, 07:42 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

I can tell now that there is going to be a flood of people on here wanting help with installing Fedora 17 if the TC3 image is any indicator.

On my machine here that has had trouble free and smooth installs from F12 through F16 had major headaches.

It had big issues installing grub2 into the boot sector, and I had to manually drop to the console and mess around with it for quite awhile before it would install. (One of the main issues was that it tried to set the root to a partition on an external USB drive when I was wanting it to use an internal drive, and specifically told it to install to /dev/sdb)

Now if I can just figure out why it tries to set the video mode for the grub2 menu out of range for my monitor. I get no grub2 menu because the monitor cuts off and displays the "input out of range" error display.

I also see that that danged SYSFONT=True is STILL in there and STILL causing an error. (not to even mention those 3 modules it tries to load that don't even exist on my system.

Yep, I can tell it's going to take a really beefy miracle to get this one off the ground

Edit:
TC3 was a lot more trouble than the F17 alpha, which isn't a good sign

Last edited by DBelton; 8th May 2012 at 07:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th May 2012, 08:54 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

prolly best to skip F17 altogether and stay with F16 an wait for F18 cause there aint much different between F16 an F17
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th May 2012, 09:52 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

I tend to agree with you on that.

F17 has been nothing but problems. It's a bad omen when a fresh install from the alpha runs better than a fresh install from a TC.

I am still trying to decipher all the garbage that's in the /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file. The alpha didn't put all of that crap in. And I haven't figured out why it's got my video all screwed. I get the "Loading Grub" and then some error flashes up, and the video blanks. It appears it's setting a video mode not supported by the monitor. I never see the grub menu.

Want to see a lot of bloated gibberish?

default grub.cfg with 1 kernel update.
Code:
[root@tower11 grub2]# cat grub.cfg
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub2-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
set default="0"

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_gpt
insmod ext2
set root='hd1,gpt4'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt4 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt4 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt4  2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
set timeout=5
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Fedora (3.3.4-4.fc17.i686.PAE)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd1,gpt2'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
	fi
	echo 'Loading Fedora (3.3.4-4.fc17.i686.PAE)'
	linux	/vmlinuz-3.3.4-4.fc17.i686.PAE root=UUID=2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
	echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd /initramfs-3.3.4-4.fc17.i686.PAE.img
}
menuentry 'Fedora Linux' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_gpt
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd1,gpt2'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux 3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE ...'
	linux	/vmlinuz-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE root=UUID=2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/initramfs-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Fedora Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7' {
	menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE-advanced-2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_gpt
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd1,gpt2'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE root=UUID=2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7 ro rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE.img
	}
	menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE (recovery mode)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE-recovery-2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_gpt
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd1,gpt2'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd1,gpt2 --hint-efi=hd1,gpt2 --hint-baremetal=ahci1,gpt2  0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0fb69619-0e11-49bf-b79c-27d81149fced
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE root=UUID=2722b475-bcc0-4bc6-b061-9abb12a99da7 ro single rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE.img
	}
}
if [ "x$default" = 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE' ]; then default='Advanced options for Fedora Linux>Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.3.4-3.fc17.i686.PAE'; fi;
### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_ppc_terminfo ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_ppc_terminfo ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Microsoft Windows XP Professional (on /dev/sda1)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-CADC8BADDC8B927D' {
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ntfs
	set root='hd0,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  CADC8BADDC8B927D
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root CADC8BADDC8B927D
	fi
	drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
	chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

Last edited by DBelton; 8th May 2012 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th May 2012, 10:16 AM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,263
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

1.kernel line with sysfont =true has a bug, I guess.
2.If you have any other OS with grub2 you can hook this TC3 with that.
3.I have installed TC2. But almost all issues are sorted out.Yet to sort out the disabled iptable service and cannot enable it for no reason.

Overall buggy beta ever. f16 was better.
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th May 2012, 10:37 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

have you tried

systemctl enable iptables.service

(note the s.. iptables and not iptable)

I changed the sysfont=True to sysfont=latarcyrheb-sun16 which fixes it on my other F17 installs, but I don't know if it fixes it on this one or not since I can't even see the grub menu. I get no video displayed until after the nouveau driver loads and resets the video mode.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th May 2012, 10:50 AM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,263
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

Code:
[root@localhost ~]# systemctl start iptables.service
Job failed. See system journal and 'systemctl status' for details.
[root@localhost ~]# systemctl status iptables.service
iptables.service - IPv4 firewall with iptables
      Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/iptables.service; enabled)
      Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Tue, 08 May 2012 14:18:26 +0530; 1min 31s ago
     Process: 2906 ExecStart=/usr/libexec/iptables.init start (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
      CGroup: name=systemd:/system/iptables.service

May 08 14:18:26 localhost.localdomain iptables.init[2906]: iptables: Applying firewall rules: iptables-restore v1.4.12.2: invalid mask `64' specified
May 08 14:18:26 localhost.localdomain iptables.init[2906]: Error occurred at line: 10
May 08 14:18:26 localhost.localdomain iptables.init[2906]: Try `iptables-restore -h' or 'iptables-restore --help' for more information.
May 08 14:18:26 localhost.localdomain iptables.init[2906]: [FAILED]
[root@localhost ~]#
this is what i get.
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th May 2012, 11:12 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

grub2 needs to really improve. one thing i hated with grub2 was you had to manually update it. this New firewalld should never been introduced yet till it was fully 100% complete. i dont believe it is. its another half a$$ed feature. bit like Gnome3 really.


i gotta try that frippery extension bob mentioned to me earlier.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th May 2012, 02:39 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=279072 <....>

F17 is probably not going to stay on the bare metal here much past 30 days after release. And that only for the purposes of familiarity for answering questions in the forum.

In my little corner of the world, there's not much beef to it, and it's kinda shy on miracle, too.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th May 2012, 02:57 PM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,263
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

Almost all the default apps from Fedora 17 CD works flawlessly in Arch linux. I 'm actually in a terrible situation jumping between Arch , fedora , debian sid. I can't live with arch linux but I have to, becoz F17 is so buggy. I have like 4 HDDs and swapping all of them multiple times in a week. I think I have a problem in my head!
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th May 2012, 03:45 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

DBelton, looks like you managed to get it to install on HDD with GPT. I am unable to do that! I have tried a few things without any success.

At this point, it looks like, if you try anything "fancy" with F17, everything just goes completely crazy. If you are using "tried and tested" partitioning scheme on a single HDD, everything seems fine!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 8th May 2012, 04:18 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

nonamedotc, after futzing around with my install, I seem to recall them changing something about GPT installs. It does a MBR by default on a BIOS system with a drive 2TB or less in size.

But yes, I managed to finally get it to install, even after the dependency problems with packages on the DVD, anaconda erroring out writiing the bootloader, etc...

I had to switch over to a console screen before I rebooted on the install, cd to /mnt/sysimage and create a chroot, do a grub2-config, then a grub2-install, watch it error out saying it couldn't find some of the grub files... force it to the path with the --directory option on grub2-install... watch it error again, figure out what happened and get that going.. hold my breath and cross my fingers as I switch back over to the installer and clicked on the reboot button...

Well, the "Starting GRUB" thingy pops up, then immediately my screen blanks because grub sets a video mode my monitor can't handle, but I just let it sit there for a few seconds, and when the nouveau driver loads and sets the mode, my screen is back, and it runs firstboot

It's a bloody beefy miracle that I got my box to boot.

F17 needs a really good

Edit:
Nothing really out of the ordinary about my install, either. Windows XP installed on the first drive, Fedora on the second, no LVM, boot loader (grub) in the boot sector of the second drive. A Bios_boot partiton and 4 standard partitions for /boot, swap, / and /home.

Last edited by DBelton; 8th May 2012 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 8th May 2012, 05:04 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,542
linuxopera
Re: F17 TC3 most toublesome install in a long time

In my case, did a net install from USB. It seemed to put a GPT partition on that, but I wasn't paying close attention. Put grub in root partition of install /dev/sdb1, booting it from F16 grub.

Samba and krb5-workstation was giving me issues. It wouldn't install krb5-workstation having to do with it wanting to install both an i686 and x86_64 version. I played with some options, wound up doing an rpm -e --nodeps which broke something, grabbed an rpm off the web and fixed it. I'd give details, but I was in a hurry, and don't really remember what I did.

All in all, a nothing special release as far as I can tell. No major problems. Might be some differences in cups, can't really tell yet, but it doesn't seem to work as a service.

A couple of other non-reproducable issues--openbox, whether from openbox's git or repos would start, but then, if it was closed, wouldn't start again without reboot. Another nice tiling WM, spectrwm--formally known as scrotwm, but they apparently grew up a bit and changed the name--wouldn't start. Again, non-reproducable, possibly a nouveau issue, but I don't have time to play with this machine very much, it's my main workstation at work. On other machines, not using nouveau, I didn't have the problem. At any rate, I'm using dwm as my main WM these days.

On another machine though, grub isn't giving me much of a problem. Seems to install alright. There was one machine where it wouldn', but that's an ancient machine--can't even get crunchbang installed on it.

As an aside, I wish Fedora had Debian's --without-recommends option--it's incredible how many extra things I neither need nor want get installed--they can then be removed without issue, but that's more trouble than it's worth unless space or resources are a real issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f17, install, long, tc3, time, toublesome

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tar -czf taking long long time shariqnitt EOL (End Of Life) Versions 3 31st January 2011 01:17 PM
The best thing I've done in a long time :) PabloEscobar Linux Chat 4 23rd September 2008 02:14 PM
Been a long time... av1611 Using Fedora 3 19th August 2008 08:31 PM


Current GMT-time: 16:15 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Tangier Travel Photos on Instagram - Musiri Travel Photos - Robit Photos on Instagram