Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th May 2012, 08:24 PM
00005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Can I add bottom panel and change the top panels size?

Hello,

As the title says, can I add a bottom panel? And is it possible to change the top panels size? How?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th May 2012, 08:32 PM
sgage Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 50
windows_7firefox
Re: Can I add bottom panel and change the top panels size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00005 View Post
Hello,

As the title says, can I add a bottom panel? And is it possible to change the top panels size? How?

Thank you!
There are extensions that will give you a bottom panel - just go to extensions.gnome.org and search. Lots of other goodies, as well.

As far as changing the size of the top panel - I don't know if that is readily doable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th May 2012, 04:12 AM
fpmurphy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: /dev/ph
Posts: 314
windows_7firefox
Re: Can I add bottom panel and change the top panels size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgage View Post
As far as changing the size of the top panel - I don't know if that is readily doable.
Sure you can. Just change it in the theme css file.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th May 2012, 04:21 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Can I add bottom panel and change the top panels size?

Agreed.

That being said, for a complete Noob at editing css ... that might be easier said than done.

Evening, Finn! <....>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th May 2012, 06:09 AM
00005 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: Can I add bottom panel and change the top panels size?

Ok, thank you!

Where is the theme CSS file located?
What line should I look for?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th May 2012, 11:05 AM
sgage Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: Can I add bottom panel and change the top panels size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fpmurphy View Post
Sure you can. Just change it in the theme css file.
I don't call that "readily" doable, but it's certainly doable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th May 2012, 11:38 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Can I add bottom panel and change the top panels size?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00005
Ok, thank you!

Where is the theme CSS file located?
What line should I look for?
The answer to that questions depends a lot on how far along you are in the process of customizing your Gnome 3/Gnome shell interface.

The file could be located in several places, depending on those factors.

The following answer presumes that you have installed user themes, and the advanced tweak tools to access them. Once (and if) that is the case, look in your home directory for a folder titled ".themes" (it will necessarily be a hidden folder. Use nautilus's menu tools to make it visible.)

Once you've found that, drill down to: .themes/(the theme you wish to change)/gnome-shell/gnome-shell.css.

Find the following lines:

Code:


/* Panel */

#panel {
    color: #ffffff;
 /*   background-gradient-direction: vertical; 
    background-gradient-start: rgba(255,255,255,0.0);
    background-gradient-end: rgba(67,67,67,0.0);  
 */
     background-image: url(focused-titlebar-4.png);


    border: 0px solid rgba(255,255,255,0.7);
    border-bottom-width: 2px;
    border-radius: 0px 0px 8px 8px;
    box-shadow: inset 0px 0px 4px rgba(0,0,0,0.6);
    height: 1.86em;
    padding-right: 11px;
}

#panelLeft, #panelCenter {
    spacing: 4px;
}

#panelLeft {
    spacing: 4px;
}

#panelRight {
    spacing: 4px;  
}

#appMenu {
    spacing: 4px;
}

.panel-button #appMenuIcon {
    app-icon-bottom-clip: 1px;
}

.panel-button:active #appMenuIcon,
.panel-button:checked #appMenuIcon,
.panel-button:focus #appMenuIcon {
    app-icon-bottom-clip: 2px;
}

.panel-menu {
    -boxpointer-gap: 4px
}

#panelUserMenu {
    spacing: 4px;
}
Note please that some of the lines I have here, you will not. I have already tweaked this theme file.

Change the value indicated in red. Also please note that although tempting, this should not be given an absolute value. In order to function properly, the ratio/em method will work best.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
add, change, panel, panels, size

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[ASK] how to change gnome panel from the top, to the bottom wongkecenk Using Fedora 3 28th March 2012 03:03 PM
Bottom Panel mrlumpy Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream 12 31st January 2012 04:53 PM
Both Top and Bottom Panels are not showing haroon.rasheed Using Fedora 0 1st April 2008 06:45 AM
Taskbar/panels. Top of screen or bottom? pennylane Fedora Focus 23 4th August 2005 12:29 PM
KDE 3.2 - How to change icons size K-Panel ? linuxmad Using Fedora 3 16th March 2004 11:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:02 (Tuesday, 23-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Guiyang Olympic Sports Center Travel Photos - Lonavala Instagram Photos - Brandford Recreation Center Travel Photos on Instagram - CHEVAL - PICC Forum 3 Instagram Photos