Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th May 2012, 08:00 PM
cyborg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brackley, England
Age: 23
Posts: 203
macoschrome
Configure squid proxy

No really a fedora question.

I have installed squid on an AWS instance that I want to use for an http proxy with a password.

First off, I'm just trying to add an ACL to allow any network address to use squid (by default, I think it only lets 192.168.0.0/24)

I've added

Code:
http_access allow all
acl all src 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
but when I try and load a page I get

PHP Code:
The following error was encountered while trying to retrieve the URLhttp://www.google.co.uk/

    
Access Denied.

Access control configuration prevents your request from being allowed at this timePlease contact your service provider if you feel this is incorrect
__________________
[joe@host]

Last edited by cyborg; 4th May 2012 at 08:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th May 2012, 11:33 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,078
linuxfirefox
Re: Configure squid proxy

You have supplied the correct password?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th May 2012, 11:35 AM
cyborg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brackley, England
Age: 23
Posts: 203
macoschrome
Re: Configure squid proxy

Unless there's a password by default, I haven't set one yet - that's stage 2.
__________________
[joe@host]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th May 2012, 11:48 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,078
linuxfirefox
Re: Configure squid proxy

You have restarted squid or at least told it to reload it's configuration file after you changed it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th May 2012, 12:22 PM
cyborg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brackley, England
Age: 23
Posts: 203
macoschrome
Re: Configure squid proxy

yep! service squid restart
__________________
[joe@host]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st October 2012, 09:18 AM
cinojose91 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1
windows_7firefox
Re: Configure squid proxy

Please post your squid.conf file so that i can have a look and tell you the reason.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st October 2012, 10:22 AM
cyborg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brackley, England
Age: 23
Posts: 203
linuxfirefox
Re: Configure squid proxy

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinojose91 View Post
Please post your squid.conf file so that i can have a look and tell you the reason.
Fixed it now, there was a Deny All somewhere in the conf that I needed to hash (a default line). All fixed now.
__________________
[joe@host]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configure, proxy, squid

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to configure evolution-mail clients through SQUID proxy ? gaganshah Servers & Networking 2 1st September 2011 03:08 PM
using a squid proxy sanjay_ankur Servers & Networking 8 31st July 2008 04:27 PM
Squid Proxy spearball Servers & Networking 2 15th October 2007 06:19 AM
Help with squid behind a proxy ersand Servers & Networking 0 6th September 2005 12:55 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:47 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Isulan Photos - Bonab Photos on Instagram - Naivasha Instagram Photos