Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th April 2012, 02:40 PM
TheBigRed Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 291
linuxfirefox
problem with precompiled binaries in rpm package

Hi,

it tried to create a rpm package of tsMuxer, the rpm packaging it selve works,
but there is a problem with the binaries in the rpm package.

Code:
Name:           tsMuxer
Version:        1.10.6
Release:        1%{?dist}
Summary:        software utility to create TS and M2TS files

Group:          Utility
License:        GPL
URL:            http://www.smlabs.net/tsmuxer_en.html
Source0:        http://www.videohelp.com/download/tsMuxeR_1.10.6.tar.gz
BuildRoot:      %{_tmppath}/%{name}-%{version}-%{release}-root-%(%{__id_u} -n)


%description
software utility to create TS and M2TS files for IP broadcasting as well as for viewing
at hardware video players (i.e., Dune HD Ultra, Sony Playstation3 and others).
# necessary for 64bit platform
# yum install ld-linux.so.2 libfreetype.so.6

%prep
%setup -q -c -n %{name}-%{version}-%{release}

%build

%install
install -dm 755  %{buildroot}%{_bindir}
install -D -p -m 755 tsMuxeR %{buildroot}%{_bindir}
install -D -p -m 755 tsMuxerGUI %{buildroot}%{_bindir}


%files
%{_bindir}/tsMuxeR
%{_bindir}/tsMuxerGUI
file size of the binaries in the rpm package:
ll /usr/bin/tsMuxe*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 208 9. Apr 15:16 /usr/bin/tsMuxeR
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 208 9. Apr 15:16 /usr/bin/tsMuxerGUI

file size of the binaries in the tar.gz:
ll tsMuxe*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 1000 1000 516424 11. Mai 2009 tsMuxeR
-rwxr-xr-x 1 1000 1000 5070636 11. Mai 2009 tsMuxerGUI

any hints ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th April 2012, 03:42 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,189
linuxchrome
Re: problem with precompiled binaries in rpm package

The two files are statically linked 32 bit ELF files:
Code:
BASH:work/-> ll
total 10852
-rw-r--r--. 1 paul paul    5500 Mar 11  2009 licence.txt
-rw-r--r--. 1 paul paul   17924 May  9  2009 readme.rus.txt
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 paul paul  516424 May 11  2009 tsMuxeR
-rw-rw-r--. 1 paul paul 5489146 Apr  9 10:13 tsMuxeR_1.10.6.tar.gz
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 paul paul 5070636 May 11  2009 tsMuxerGUI
BASH:work/-> file tsMuxeR
tsMuxeR: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (GNU/Linux), statically linked, stripped
BASH:work/-> file tsMuxerGUI
tsMuxerGUI: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (GNU/Linux), statically linked, stripped
The packaging process automatically removes the "debug-info" from binaries (assuming they are dynamically linked) and not already "stripped", using "strip". This is what happens:
Code:
BASH:work/-> strip tsMuxeR
BASH:work/-> ll
total 10348
-rw-r--r--. 1 paul paul    5500 Mar 11  2009 licence.txt
-rw-r--r--. 1 paul paul   17924 May  9  2009 readme.rus.txt
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 paul paul     208 Apr  9 10:31 tsMuxeR
-rw-rw-r--. 1 paul paul 5489146 Apr  9 10:13 tsMuxeR_1.10.6.tar.gz
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 paul paul 5070636 May 11  2009 tsMuxerGUI
BASH:work/-> strip tsMuxerGUI
BASH:work/-> ll
total 5400
-rw-r--r--. 1 paul paul    5500 Mar 11  2009 licence.txt
-rw-r--r--. 1 paul paul   17924 May  9  2009 readme.rus.txt
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 paul paul     208 Apr  9 10:31 tsMuxeR
-rw-rw-r--. 1 paul paul 5489146 Apr  9 10:13 tsMuxeR_1.10.6.tar.gz
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 paul paul     208 Apr  9 10:32 tsMuxerGUI
There is probably a way, but I don't know it, to direct the packaging not to "strip" the binaries in the spec file.

Last edited by PabloTwo; 9th April 2012 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th April 2012, 03:59 PM
TheBigRed Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 291
linuxfirefox
Re: problem with precompiled binaries in rpm package

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloTwo View Post
The two files are statically linked 32 bit ELF files:

There is probably a way, but I don't know it, to direct the packaging not to "strip" the binaries in the spec file.
ok, strip was the hint.

i set the following flag to prevent strip of the binaries:
Code:
%global __strip /bin/false

Last edited by TheBigRed; 9th April 2012 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
binaries, package, precompiled, problem, rpm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with precompiled software, Insight II, Accelrys a_engels Using Fedora 8 12th March 2009 03:37 AM
Precompiled Kernel problem with Nvidia 7300 GT Graphic Card GeForce ajaykalla Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 26th February 2008 11:33 AM
what is a 'precompiled kernel interface' chy1013m1 Using Fedora 0 12th December 2005 05:55 AM
Precompiled Kernel problems BiOPSY Using Fedora 2 28th November 2004 01:37 AM
problem with static binaries, THINK, Tmonitor dpayne Using Fedora 2 8th October 2004 03:18 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:44 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Castro-Urdiales - Kannauj Travel Photos on Instagram - Khosta Photos on Instagram