Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Servers & Networking
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Servers & Networking Discuss any Fedora server problems and Networking issues such as dhcp, IP numbers, wlan, modems, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th April 2012, 12:22 PM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Hello,

I've spent much time looking for a solution for packet-loss and performance issues with my laptop's
ethernet NIC and yet haven't managed to resolve it.

My specs:

Fedora 16 x64 (fresh install with the latest kernel 3.3) on Lenovo ThinkPad E520 laptop
with Realtek RTL8111/8168B ethernet NIC.

The symptoms:

When using a browser, sometimes the response time is too long. Occasionally a page won't even load at all
and the browser times out. This will happen mostly after I open a bunch of tabs at the same time.

In such outage scenario, if I ping a random server in the terminal subsequently, the resulting output shows
a high packet loss - even when I ping my own router at 192.168.1.1. When I wait a while, the networking
comes back (so does ping). And this is repeating all the time during the day.

I'm aware of the notorious fix for the RTL8111 cards - installing the official driver r8168 from www.realtek.com.
Most people are reporting that the driver fixes the problem completely. However, on my machine, that's not the case.
It really brings an improvement but the annoying outages and slowdowns still occur, so I assume the r8168 is not
the ultimate fix for my NIC.

Except the packet loss, the system doesn't indicate any networking problem. Dmesg output shows nothing unusual
in relation to r8168 or r8169, ifconfig shows no dropped packets and the online connection speed tests are equivalent
to those in Windows 7.

In Windows 7, the networking works normally and does not hang, so I'm suspicious the source of the problem are
either buggy drivers (both Realtek's r8168 and the default r8169) or a misconfiguration of my system.

Any suggestions?

Thanks a lot,
Mike

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev b4)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev b4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev b4)
00:1c.7 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 8 (rev b4)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation HM65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
03:00.0 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd MMC/SD Host Controller (rev 07)
08:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Wireless-N 1000
Example of pinging the router:
Code:
PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_req=2 ttl=254 time=0.745 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_req=6 ttl=254 time=0.807 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_req=16 ttl=254 time=50.0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_req=17 ttl=254 time=12.0 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_req=18 ttl=254 time=0.830 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_req=26 ttl=254 time=0.749 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_req=30 ttl=254 time=0.823 ms
^C
--- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
30 packets transmitted, 7 received, 76% packet loss, time 29004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.745/9.447/50.085/17.042 ms

Last edited by grassmaster; 11th April 2012 at 01:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th April 2012, 05:39 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

The default r8169 driver seems to be working on my desktop system

Code:
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
Try a differnet network cable.

What kind of router/switch do you use? Try a different port.

Can you try with a different router/switch somewhere else?

Please post the output of ifconfig and cat /proc/interrupts

To get more error messages try to load the module with debug level 16.

Code:
parm=debug:Debug verbosity level (0=none, ..., 16=all)
parmtype=debug:int
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th April 2012, 09:37 PM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Ok, I tried what you said and wasn't successful. I switched the cables and ports on the router,
changed to the default r8169... the problems persisted.

Then I realized I've actually never tried out the wifi card in Linux on this machine for a longer
period of time. So I connected to my router via wifi and guess what - the symptoms were exactly
the same as via ethernet
- loading some pages forever, packet loss when pinging etc.

This simply means I can safely rule out the ethernet or the wireless card. Can't believe I didn't
try the wireless earlier...

My router is Zyxel P-661HW-D3. Tomorrow I'll be able to try a different router, so I'll post the observations as well.

Seems like it happens when a higher traffic is generated, e.g. loading more pages at once.
So, if anything else comes to your mind...

For completeness, I'm attaching the requested outputs:
ifconfig:
Code:
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:2316 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2316 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:191916 (187.4 KiB)  TX bytes:191916 (187.4 KiB)

p1p1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr F0:DE:F1:6A:76:5A  
          inet addr:192.168.1.35  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::f2de:f1ff:fe6a:765a/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:5050 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6671 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:2726672 (2.6 MiB)  TX bytes:830138 (810.6 KiB)
          Interrupt:44 Base address:0x6000
cat /proc/interrupts:
Code:
           CPU0       CPU1       CPU2       CPU3       
  0:        148          0          0          0   IO-APIC-edge      timer
  1:      12322          0          0          0   IO-APIC-edge      i8042
  8:          1          0          0          0   IO-APIC-edge      rtc0
  9:        129          0          0          0   IO-APIC-fasteoi   acpi
 12:     249992          0          0          0   IO-APIC-edge      i8042
 16:      21504          0      93366          0   IO-APIC-fasteoi   ehci_hcd:usb1
 18:          0          0          0          0   IO-APIC-fasteoi   mmc0
 23:       5179          0        259          0   IO-APIC-fasteoi   ehci_hcd:usb2
 40:      79520          0          0          0   PCI-MSI-edge      ahci
 41:    1007833          0          0          0   PCI-MSI-edge      i915
 42:     258811          0          0          0   PCI-MSI-edge      iwlwifi
 43:        129          0          0          0   PCI-MSI-edge      snd_hda_intel
 44:          1          0      10569          0   PCI-MSI-edge      p1p1
NMI:        405        283        447        227   Non-maskable interrupts
LOC:     724579     476101     761104     401514   Local timer interrupts
SPU:          0          0          0          0   Spurious interrupts
PMI:        405        283        447        227   Performance monitoring interrupts
IWI:          0          0          0          0   IRQ work interrupts
RTR:          2          1          0          0   APIC ICR read retries
RES:     761714     629082     388460     328524   Rescheduling interrupts
CAL:        433        648        730        723   Function call interrupts
TLB:     478509     446225     460548     393583   TLB shootdowns
TRM:          0          0          0          0   Thermal event interrupts
THR:          0          0          0          0   Threshold APIC interrupts
MCE:          0          0          0          0   Machine check exceptions
MCP:         19         18         18         18   Machine check polls
ERR:          0
MIS:          0

Last edited by grassmaster; 8th April 2012 at 10:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th April 2012, 12:12 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,709
linuxfirefox
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Quote:
Originally Posted by grassmaster View Post
Hello,

I've spent much time looking for a solution for packet-loss and performance issues with my laptop's
ethernet NIC and yet haven't managed to resolve it.
Hey Grassy - There is ZERO evidence of any packet-loss here and that term has a very specific meaning - so PLZ don't make things up - it just makes finding a solution harder.

Quote:
My specs:

Fedora 16 x64 (fresh install with the latest kernel 3.3) on Lenovo ThinkPad E520 laptop
with Realtek RTL8111/8168B ethernet NIC.

Realtek is sheisse - they overload PCI IDs they have quirky max MTU, their DMA engines have bugs, they simply aren't a good choice despite the fact they are a very common in consumer products.


WHILE the problem is occurring - run the 'free' command to see your memory usage.
What version of firefox are you using ?
Did you disable ipv6 in the firefox "about:config" url ? ...
a/ Put "about:config" in the URL field of firefox.
b/ type "ipv6" in the search field
c/ doubleclick the "network.dns.disableIPv6" field until it reads "true".
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Last edited by stevea; 9th April 2012 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th April 2012, 12:38 AM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

I'm sorry if I'm mixing terms, probably I should have specified that I meant packet-loss when running the ping program, nothing else.

I've heard that of these NICs but as I discovered in the previous post, the problem has obviously nothing to do with the NIC itself as it occurs with my WLAN too (unless both of these cards are faulty and that's quite improbable).

Actually I'm using Chrome here but I've tested it extensively in FF too (version 11) with ipv6 turned off in about:config as you suggest with no success.

I ran the free command during an outage but I can't see anything of a problem in the output, maybe you can point me in the right direction?

Kind regards
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th April 2012, 02:05 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,709
linuxfirefox
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

If ping doesn't see any response [not a packet loss] then we can question whether the icmp packet got out or if the response paket got back.

Post the output of 'free'. and also 'ip route' during trouble.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th April 2012, 09:22 AM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Ok, Steve. Here's free:
Code:
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:       3959356    1137356    2822000          0      30104     619816
-/+ buffers/cache:     487436    3471920
Swap:      6062076          0    6062076
and here's 'ip route':
Code:
default via 192.168.1.1 dev p1p1  proto static 
192.168.1.0/24 dev p1p1  proto kernel  scope link  src 192.168.1.35  metric 1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th April 2012, 01:00 PM
mdlowry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 36
linuxfirefox
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Another option to try would be to unplug your router, and plug the laptop directly into the ethernet port of the modem. This would rule out the router as the problem, if you have no problems while directly connected.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th April 2012, 01:20 PM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,709
linuxfirefox
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

You're right - no memory/swap problem.
The route looks fine - so long as that isn't dynamically changing due to a NetworkMananger hiccup.

Personally I'd run wireshark and watch the packets when you do pings. Ideally from another system ,but a local wireshark would still be useful. *MAYBE there is some extraordinary traffic or such. Maybe your sys is generating IPv6 traffic an jamming the router. NM is always suspect.

The fact that both interfaces show the problem suggests t's not hardware or drivers.
That leaves systemic issue either the local system or across the LAN a the router.

If you have another system to ping - does tat also stall ?
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th April 2012, 10:11 PM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

I'm back with some new info. Today I'm connected to a whole different router in a different LAN and the issues persist.

In the apartment I'm staying today, we have a router connected to the building's LAN. As mdlowry suggested, I plugged the cable connecting the router to that LAN directly into my port and all issues went away - pages were loading instantly with no hiccups. Then I also checked the nameserver setting and it said 10.20.102.1, so definitely another router within the building's LAN.

Being connected back to the apartment's router, I also tried wireshark, let it capture the traffic for a while and then looked at 'Expert Infos' seeing a number of warnings. Most of them were 'ACKed lost segment' and 'Out-Of-Order segment'. Sadly I'm not a networking guy so I have no idea what that means.

Another interesting thing to note: During an outage event, when I ran ping on the local router, there was no ICMP packet loss indicated, unlike when I was at home.

Quote:
*MAYBE there is some extraordinary traffic or such. Maybe your sys is generating IPv6 traffic an jamming the router. NM is always suspect.
That sounds promising and maybe I should focus on it.

Quote:
If you have another system to ping - does tat also stall ?
Yes, when I was at home, I tried to ping another computer in our house and that went smoothly, no losses.

To sum it up, It looks like the routers themselves are slowing me down for some reason, specifically loading pages.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10th April 2012, 12:53 AM
mdlowry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 36
linuxfirefox
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

It may be that your router is the problem. You could see if there is a new version of the firmware for it.

Sometimes these things just die. High temperatures would facilitate that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th April 2012, 08:24 AM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
windows_7chrome
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdlowry View Post
It may be that your router is the problem. You could see if there is a new version of the firmware for it.

Sometimes these things just die. High temperatures would facilitate that.
Honestly, I don't think so, as two different routers do the trouble. While in Windoze there're no such issues with them.

I discovered that when I connect in my university via cable (or wifi), the network in Fedora is working perfectly as well.

It seems that there's some configuration thing of my system instead.

Last edited by grassmaster; 11th April 2012 at 10:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th April 2012, 11:50 PM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,709
linuxfirefox
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Grassy - this is puzzling, *IF ** I read your note corredtly.

'ACKed lost segment' and 'Out-Of-Order segment' mean that your system sent out some tcp packets and didn't see the reply packet - at least not until resent (causing out of order). If there was IPv6 traffic you'd see it easily on wireshark.

You have slow response with a failure to see some return traffic. The ifconfigs above show 0 dropped packets (on your end) and 0 overruns. So either the far side is dropping packets or more likely you have bad connection (poor signal strength on wifi for example or a bad cable).

So the odd part is that - if I read your posts correctly - that you have poor connection with both wifi and wired connections to your home router - but poor connections only in wireless at the other apartment (wiredsd was fine ther). Is that right ?

Some drivers for realtek wifi a while back did have a problem with very poor signal strength/sensitivity - and it's possible that has recurred on your chip. But that doesn't explain poor connectivity on the wired connection.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th April 2012, 12:27 AM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
windows_7chrome
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

Well, I'll try to summarize my observations:

- Via home router: both wired and wireless are poor.

- Via other apartment's router: wired is poor (wireless not tested, because I don't have access yet). While, when excluding this router (thus connecting via the apartment's cable directly), wired is OK.

- In my university: both wired and wireless are OK.

In Windows, in all above situations both interfaces are OK.

Code:
'ACKed lost segment' and 'Out-Of-Order segment' mean that your system sent out some tcp packets and didn't see the reply packet - at least not until resent (causing out of order). If there was IPv6 traffic you'd see it easily on wireshark.
How can I check that IPv6 traffic in wireshark? Some of the rows in the report have IPv6 addresses in them but most have IPv4.
What if I disabled IPv6 in Fedora completely? Could it be the culprit?

Code:
Some drivers for realtek wifi a while back did have a problem with very poor signal strength/sensitivity - and it's possible that has recurred on your chip. But that doesn't explain poor connectivity on the wired connection.
I have Intel wireless chip (only ethernet is realtek)

Last edited by grassmaster; 12th April 2012 at 12:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14th April 2012, 10:59 PM
grassmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 10
linuxchrome
Re: Ethernet hangs up with Realtek RTL8111/8168B, r8168 doesn't help

I've taken some time to test the connections more
thoroughly. And I think I've finally isolated the culprit.

It has turned out that in the other apartment the network
responsiveness in Fedora is actually comparable to that
in Windows, so I no longer consider the apartment router
problematic in Linux.

At home, I've found out that when I turn the router's firewall
off AND change DNS in Fedora from 192.168.1.1 to google's
8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4, browsing is as fast as in Windows.

Conclusion: The problems I outlined in the beginning of this
thread appear only with my home router and are somehow
related to firewall and/or DNS settings.


Now, disabling the router's firewall doesn't look like a good idea,
so do you guys have any clue what's going on and how to fix it?

Thank you

Last edited by grassmaster; 14th April 2012 at 11:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ethernet, hangs, r8168, realtek, rtl8111, rtlb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIC Problem: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Exp savalan Hardware & Laptops 7 11th July 2011 03:56 PM
F13 slow NIC Realtek RTL8111/8168B saavik Hardware & Laptops 1 17th June 2010 03:00 AM
RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet not working bowens44 Hardware & Laptops 9 2nd October 2009 01:49 PM
FC6 and ipw3945 and rtl8111/8168B JamesB Servers & Networking 7 31st May 2007 07:15 AM
realtek RTL8111/8168B r1000 driver phybere Hardware & Laptops 0 1st May 2007 01:18 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:21 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat