Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd March 2012, 09:24 PM
ridiculadank Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
yum is not working

Hi all,

It must have been after the most recent update, b ut my command line yum does not work anymore. When I type in sudo yum [do something], nothing happens, like no output, nothing, it just ends in the next bash command line. However, the apper gui is still able to install packages, and update, so I'm not sure what is going on. Help would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2012, 11:26 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,698
linuxfirefox
Re: yum is not working

When you type sudo yum what ?? Please elaborate.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th March 2012, 01:22 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: yum is not working

When I type yum [do something] I get an error

Code:
[root@tower20 dev]# yum [do something]
Loaded plugins: etckeeper, langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit, remove-with-
              : leaves, show-leaves
No such command: [do. Please use /bin/yum --help
Edit:

Actually, you may be having issues with sudo. Can you run yum if you use su - instead of sudo?

Code:
su -
(root password)

yum update
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th March 2012, 10:50 AM
ridiculadank Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: yum is not working

lol you get more out of sudo yum [do something] than I do. I get no response from yum even when I type "sudo yum [do something]".

When I su - into root, then type yum [do something] like yum update, yum makecache, yum search eclipse, yum install eclipse, etc, I still get absolutely no response or output.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
working, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fingerprint reader mysteriously stopped working (hardware detected, but not working) THEcreationist Hardware & Laptops 0 16th November 2010 01:58 PM
F8: Mic not working, sound not working, pulseaudio IS working... garbagio7 Hardware & Laptops 0 5th April 2008 10:06 PM
after working fine for a year, server stops working & displays weird symptoms. nkoplm Servers & Networking 3 5th May 2007 10:42 PM
Fedora 5 - amsn not working, flash not working, java not working =*> try this snecci Using Fedora 6 27th April 2006 11:38 AM
Fedora 5 - amsn not working, flash not working, java not working =*> try this snecci Using Fedora 0 5th April 2006 06:50 AM


Current GMT-time: 01:55 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat