Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 27th February 2012, 03:31 PM
ablen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 51
windows_7ie
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

Yes - how can I permanently turn off the nfs-lock.service? Thanks for your reply.

Last edited by ablen; 27th February 2012 at 07:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 6th March 2012, 04:28 PM
ablen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 51
windows_7ie
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

Still looking for the method for turning off nfs-lock.service permanently on FC16. Help?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 6th March 2012, 05:56 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,865
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

you can try "system-ctl disable nfs-lock.service"
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19th March 2012, 08:30 PM
ablen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 51
windows_7ie
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

jpollard, yes, that worked. Thank you!

At this point my NFS installation "somewhat" works. I configured NIS as well. When I log in with NIS onto one of my client nodes, it works and the user's home directory is indeed shared out through the magic of NFS. When I try to log onto the other node, I get an error of this kind:

SSH Secure Shell 3.2.9 (Build 282)
Copyright (c) 2000-2003 SSH Communications Security Corp - http://www.ssh.com/

This copy of SSH Secure Shell is a non-commercial version.
This version does not include PKI and PKCS #11 functionality.


Could not chdir to home directory /home/gyro: No such file or directory
-bash-4.2$


Not quite sure yet what's wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23rd March 2012, 07:04 PM
ablen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 51
windows_7ie
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

Okay, I found the following documents which I am hopeful will provide guidance for this task. Unlike other tutorials I have seen these refer specifically to FC16.

http://www.server-world.info/en/note?os=Fedora_16&p=nfs
http://www.server-world.info/en/note?os=Fedora_16&p=nis
http://www.server-world.info/en/note...a_16&p=nis&f=2

I am starting over with my test systems and will try again to get this working.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 23rd June 2012, 03:51 AM
nobodie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tampa FL, USA
Age: 59
Posts: 79
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

I have been following this thread because I am having some problems with nfs4 on my f17-f17-f16 home network. The problem is.... it don't work.
I have set up nfs, 3 & 4, a few times in the past in similar situations, and sometimes it has been grouchy, but never undoable. This time I am getting no traction at all. So. here is what I have done

ping: all the machines can ping each other successfully
rpcinfo: I have all the machines set up as clients and servers. They can all read their own and others rpcinfo.

here is the syscontrol:
$systemctl -a | grep nfs
proc-fs-nfsd.mount loaded active mounted RPC Pipe File System
nfs-idmap.service loaded active running NFSv4 ID-name mapping daemon
nfs-lock.service loaded active running NFS file locking service.
nfs-mountd.service loaded active running NFS Mount Daemon
nfs-rquotad.service loaded active running NFS Remote Quota Server
nfs-server.service loaded active exited NFS Server

this is directly following $syscontrol enable nfs-server.service and $syscontrol start nfs-server.service

I setup the services using the nfs-acl gui and it gave me a very busy /etc/exports file. here it is for this machine, the others are smaller because they just have a single /home/name file to share

cat /etc/exports
/media/storage/Books 192.168.1.103(rw,insecure,sync,no_subtree_check,in secure_locks,nohide,mp,fsid=0) 192.168.1.3(rw,insecure,sync,no_subtree_check,inse cure_locks,nohide,mp,fsid=0)
/media/storage/movies
192.168.1.103(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,fsid=0) 192.168.1.3(rw,sync,no_subtree_check,fsid=0)
/media/storage/music 192.168.1.103(rw,insecure,sync,no_subtree_check,in secure_locks,fsid=0,all_squash) 192.168.1.3(rw,insecure,sync,no_subtree_check,inse cure_locks,fsid=0,all_squash)
/media/storage/name 192.168.1.103(rw,insecure,sync,no_subtree_check,in secure_locks,fsid=0) 192.168.1.3(rw,insecure,sync,no_subtree_check,inse cure_locks,fsid=0)

finally i have disabled all the firewalls through their gui as well so that they can't be blocking the port, since that is what it seemed to me must be the problem. But that made no difference either. (not too much of a risk with the router firewalling the network to begin with.)

One final note. The network runs from the router to one of the machines (#3 we could call it) and also runs to an old home router i am using for a hub to feed the other two (#1&#2). That shouldn't be making a fuss i wouldn't think. I began by trying to link #1 and #2 together, and that was not going at all. I brought #3 on line yesterday and tried to connect with either of the other two in either direction and there is no joy.

Suggestions? Data or config requests?
Thanks
__________________
as in the past, the future is in eggs.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 23rd June 2012, 03:49 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,865
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

I would suggest doing an nmap scan of the network to see if all hosts you expect to be available are actually there.

Usually when two routers are connected together then the hosts attached are on separate networks. Second, 192.168.x.x is in the list of non-routable IP numbers, so the default configuration on a router would drop them. This doesn't apply if the router is configured to be a bridge - in which case the router doesn't have an IP number of its own (making it invisible except for a configuration control IP number).
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 25th June 2012, 06:52 PM
ablen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 51
windows_7ie
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

Hello all,

I'd like to contribute the method that ultimately worked for me re: configuring NFS (and also NIS) under FC16. I can't claim that it is the best way - but hopefully it will solve some problems for an admin who is having difficulty.

I. NFS Setup and Configuration
[complete these steps on server and on nodes]

In part, I used these guides for reference:
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Admini...uide_Draft/NFS
http://www.server-world.info/en/note?os=Fedora_16&p=nfs

Initial Load of NFS
yum install -y nfs-utils system-config-nfs

Set Up Domain Name
In /etc/idmapd.conf edit the line which requires the domain name:

Domain = localdomain


II. NFS Setup and Configuration
[server steps]

Export Home Directories
Open the file for editing:
vi /etc/exports

Then place the following text in /etc/exports (The * allows for mymachinesrv, mymachine1, mymachine2, etc):

/home mymachine*(rw,sync)

Run These Commands:
systemctl start rpcbind.service
systemctl start nfs-server.service
systemctl start nfs-lock.service
systemctl start nfs-idmap.service
systemctl enable rpcbind.service
systemctl enable nfs-server.service
systemctl enable nfs-lock.service
systemctl enable nfs-idmap.service

Mount the Filesystem
Issue the following commands:
mkdir /NFS4exports
mkdir /NFS4exports/home

Append the following to /etc/fstab:
# BIND Mounting The Filesystem
/home /NFS4exports/home none bind 0 0
(Use tabs in the above line, except for a space between the zeros.)

Then issue the following:
mount -a -t none

Append these lines to /etc/exports:
/NFS4exports mymachine*(rw,insecure,sync,wdelay,no_subtree_chec k,no_root_squash,fsid=0)
/NFS4exports/home mymachine*(rw,insecure,sync,wdelay,no_subtree_chec k,nohide,no_root_squash)

Reboot might be necessary.

III. NFS Setup and Configuration
[node steps – wait until NFS server configuration is complete]

Comment out this line in /etc/fstab like so:
# UUID=77186543-da7b-47d3-8b96-969a19f1ffa9 /home ext4 defaults 1 2

systemctl start rpcbind.service
systemctl start nfs-lock.service
systemctl start nfs-idmap.service
systemctl start netfs.service
systemctl enable rpcbind.service
systemctl enable nfs-lock.service
systemctl enable nfs-idmap.service
systemctl enable netfs.service

Issue these commands as a test to ensure that mounting is working:
mount -t nfs mymachinesrv:/home /home

df –h
this command’s output should include something similar to the following:

mymachinesrv:/home/ 93G 1.6G 87G 2% /home

Add this line to the end of the /etc/fstab file to automount when the node boots:
mymachinesrv:/home /home nfs defaults 0 0
(Use tabs in the above line, except for a space between the zeros.)

NFS testing (server must be booted up):
rpcinfo –p mymachinesrv
showmount –e mymachinesrv

Test: Go to the /home directory and see if your nonuser directory (ie testuser) is present. If it is, NFS configuration is successful. You cannot cd into this directory, even from root. Only the user (ie testuser) can enter this directory. This can be more fully tested only after NIS is installed.

IF YOU ARE NOT GOING TO BE USING NIS YOU CAN STOP HERE

IV. NIS Setup and Configuration
[server-only steps]

Issue this command to load the packages you need for the NIS server:

yum –y install ypserv rpcbind

type at the prompt:
domainname nismymachinesrv
ypdomainname nismymachinesrv
systemctl enable ypserv.service
systemctl start ypserv.service
rpcinfo -u mymachinesrv ypserv

should now show:
program 100004 version 1 ready and waiting
program 100004 version 2 ready and waiting

want to add more NIS servers? – run the following command even if you aren’t going to add any more:
/usr/lib64/yp/ypinit –m

Enter these commands at the terminal (ensure these services are started and will start at boot time):
yum install ypbind
systemctl enable ypbind.service
systemctl start ypbind.service
systemctl enable yppasswdd.service
systemctl start yppasswdd.service
systemctl enable ypxfrd.service
systemctl start ypxfrd.service

TEST: You can check that these services are running with this command:
systemctl --no-pager list-units --all | grep .service

Cron Setup (so nis table is made every 5 min)
crontab –e

enter the following to run it every five minutes:
*/5 * * * * cd /var/yp/; make

Also you must run the following to enable crontab:

systemctl start crond.service
systemctl enable crond.service

NOTES on CRONTAB:
http://www.adminschoice.com/crontab-quick-reference


V. NIS Setup and Configuration
[node-only steps]

verify:
rpcinfo –u mymachinesrv ypbind

should now show:
program 100004 version 1 ready and waiting
program 100004 version 2 ready and waiting

Load portmap and ypbind:
yum install portmap
yum install ypbind

Set ypbind to begin and automatically load on boot:
systemctl enable ypbind.service
systemctl start ypbind.service

TEST: You can check that these services are running with this command:
systemctl --no-pager list-units --all | grep .service

Last edited by ablen; 25th June 2012 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 25th June 2012, 07:58 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,865
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

NIS shouldn't need to be rebuilt every 5 minutes - only when you change things in the passwd file.

Remotely changing passwords (yppasswd last time I looked) should cause the NIS server to rebuild them.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 25th June 2012, 08:17 PM
ablen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 51
windows_7ie
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpollard View Post
NIS shouldn't need to be rebuilt every 5 minutes - only when you change things in the passwd file.

Remotely changing passwords (yppasswd last time I looked) should cause the NIS server to rebuild them.
Oh, that's interesting. I wasn't aware of that. But yes, the constant rebuild is there as a feature to ensure that the NIS table is always up to date. Looks like that is not necessary. Maybe NIS needs to be rebuilt by hand if the GUI is used... ?

Thanks for the clarification.
ablen

Last edited by ablen; 25th June 2012 at 08:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 27th June 2012, 10:51 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,078
linuxfirefox
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

Quote:
nfs-server.service loaded active exited NFS Server
The nfs server isn't running ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 8th July 2012, 08:11 PM
nobodie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tampa FL, USA
Age: 59
Posts: 79
linuxchrome
Re: FC16 and NFS 4 Setup

sorry for not staying with this problem, just too busy with stuff.

You are right, it is not active:

# systemctl status nfs-server.service
nfs-server.service - NFS Server
Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/nfs-server.service; enabled)
Active: active (exited) since Sun, 08 Jul 2012 14:11:15 -0400; 41min ago
Main PID: 3663 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/nfs-server.service

Jul 08 14:11:15 fedhomeSSD exportfs[3660]: exportfs...
Jul 08 14:11:15 fedhomeSSD exportfs[3660]: exportfs...
Jul 08 14:11:15 fedhomeSSD exportfs[3660]: exportfs...
Jul 08 14:11:15 fedhomeSSD exportfs[3660]: exportfs...
Jul 08 14:11:15 fedhomeSSD exportfs[3660]: exportfs...

What could be the problem here? Doea it relate to this:

#systemctl enable nfs-server.service
ln -s '/usr/lib/systemd/system/nfs-server.service' '/etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/nfs-server.service'

and if so how do I solve the problem?

Thanks
__________________
as in the past, the future is in eggs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc16, nfs, setup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFS and FC16 and systemd lensman3 Servers & Networking 4 15th March 2012 01:58 AM
Fc16 - Rhythmbox SteveT Using Fedora 0 20th January 2012 10:27 AM
Evolution (fc16) lightman47 Using Fedora 0 12th January 2012 07:11 PM
FC16 will not boot dw5533 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 12th January 2012 03:40 PM
[SOLVED] postgresql-setup upgrade problem in fc16 saeru Using Fedora 3 1st December 2011 02:33 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:33 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Awgu - Rajgarh Instagram Photos - Coquimbo Travel Photos on Instagram