Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th March 2012, 05:34 PM
kidboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 48
linuxfirefox
Question ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

Hi, i install a ATI 12-2 in my Fedora 16 x86_64, and i want to a extend of my desktop, how can i configure this in Fedora aticonfig ? Every time i put the VGA cable the ati expand the desktop, i dont want this, i want one extend screen on VGA.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th March 2012, 06:08 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 892
linuxopera
Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

AMD's Catalyst driver is compatible with the xrandr command, you can use this command.

You can use "xrandr --help" and any search engine for help. Recently I didn't use this command recently, so I forgot the correct syntax.

But isn't it possible to use the AMD control center for this, it would be probably a bit easier than xrandr?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th March 2012, 06:13 PM
kidboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 48
linuxfirefox
Question Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

I can see in my Catalyst Control Center i cant see the Display Manager option, why ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th March 2012, 06:31 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 892
linuxopera
Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

open the Catalyst Control Center as root. The settings you want to change should be below display manager -> several displays (maybe it's called a little bit different, for me it displays everything in German language).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th March 2012, 06:47 PM
kidboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 48
linuxfirefox
Question Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

I understand but in Catalys Controle the option Display Manager dont exist
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th March 2012, 07:44 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 892
linuxopera
Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

doesn't it look similar to this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th March 2012, 07:50 PM
kidboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 48
linuxfirefox
Question Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

No. i think is a problem in detect monitor
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th March 2012, 08:11 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 892
linuxopera
Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

hm maybe. Did you start the Catalyst Control Center as Admin otherwise it will be grey. If it doesn't work you can try if xrandr detects the monitors correctly. Just enter xrandr in terminal and you will see a output.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th March 2012, 09:31 PM
kidboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 48
windows_7firefox
Question Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

Ok, first time i run xrand -q i recive a error, but i configure the xrand with this two command and restart and its now running:

# aticonfig --set-pcs-str="DDX,EnableRandR12,FALSE"
# aticonfig --set-pcs-str="DDX,EnableRandR13,FALSE"

Now when i run xrandr its detect the monitors, but in catalyst controle de monitor dont show me anything
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th March 2012, 10:03 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 892
linuxopera
Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

maybe you will see any error message if you run amdcccle from terminal:
Code:
su
amdcccle
if it doesn't change anything, you can try to configure it with the xrandr command.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 8th March 2012, 10:26 PM
kidboy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 48
linuxfirefox
Question Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

I see only this: QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::SetTitleText(const QString &) to CItemPickerDlg::SetTitleText(const QString &)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th March 2012, 05:59 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 892
linuxopera
Re: ATI Fedora 16 Dual Screen

you can try this: http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...543#post253543.
Maybe it helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ati, dual, fedora, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual screen Fedora 16 on intel D525MW renarios Using Fedora 7 22nd September 2012 11:04 AM
Fedora 10: ATI Dual screen keatonvictor Hardware & Laptops 0 11th February 2009 01:27 PM
Fedora 10 - Dual Screen - Lock Screen Issue robospike Using Fedora 0 30th December 2008 03:29 PM
Fedora 9 KDE task panel on dual screen. dchicks Using Fedora 0 29th May 2008 08:01 PM
dual screen configuration fedora 3 agota Using Fedora 3 17th January 2005 08:05 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:39 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat