Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th March 2012, 12:21 PM
tpcm1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: balga
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
Stupid mistake

Hi all

been using this site for years so long time user first time post er

I was in fedora 16 trying to install edubuntu on to a usb key to set it up for my daughter. silly my copyed the files to my main hd (sda) now i have lost my fedora grub details. I know there is a way to reinstall my grub so it can use fedora (sdb1).

but for the life if my I cant figure out the correct string to type in. I had windows on the sda partition but grub2 was my loader. now I dont care about loosing windows but i do care about loosing my fedora. is there away to get back my original grub 2?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th March 2012, 12:41 PM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,935
linuxfirefox
Re: Stupid mistake

Boot the install dvd in rescue mode, follow the instrctions to "cd /sysimage/mnt; chroot ." or similar, then
grub2-install /dev/sda # or other drive
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th March 2012, 02:38 PM
tpcm1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: balga
Posts: 5
linuxchrome
Re: Stupid mistake

Um there is no rescue mode on the install live cd.

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:06 PM ----------

I boot in to fedora (from a live DVD) and go to a terminal it doesnt understand cd /sysimage/mnt chroot

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:38 PM ----------

I boot in to fedora (from a live DVD) and go to a terminal it doesnt understand cd /sysimage/mnt chroot
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th March 2012, 03:09 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,860
linuxfirefox
Re: Stupid mistake

Quote:
Originally Posted by tpcm1 View Post
[/COLOR]I boot in to fedora (from a live DVD) and go to a terminal it doesnt understand cd /sysimage/mnt chroot
I believe, it should be /mnt/sysimage.

See this link on rescue mode from Fedora Documentation page

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th March 2012, 07:11 PM
Salamandra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
linuxfirefox
Re: Stupid mistake

I have solved my grub problems by downloading the netinstall cd and using it to upgrade the existing installation. It rewrites grub and makes an update.
__________________
Linux User #365705
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th March 2012, 09:31 AM
marriedto51 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England, UK
Posts: 913
linuxfirefox
Re: Stupid mistake

Good to see you've got it solved.

Just for information: stevea's advice related to the installation DVD; you are right that there is no resuce mode with the live CD.

But you can get something very similar using the live CD: boot the CD and wait for the boot menu; press TAB and add a letter 's' to the end of the kernel line, then press Return. This should drop you to a shell which is running as part of the live OS. From there, you can manually mount your hard disk partitions, and use grub2-install to recover the grub2 entry in the MBR. (You will need to use the "--boot-directory=DIR" option to grub2-install to point to the mounted boot directory on your hard disk, rather than the boot directory of the running live OS.)

(Sadly, I've had to do this many more times than I should like -- PEBCAK in each case!)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th March 2012, 10:18 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,935
linuxfirefox
Re: Stupid mistake

That's why I said
Quote:
the install dvd

FWIW You can do similar from a live CD.

As root mount the "/" root file and the /boot (if separate) under that. Example mount at "/tmp/mp"

Copy all the /dev entries to the root fs
cp -pr /dev/* /tmp/mp/dev

cd /tmp/mp
chroot .
grub2-install /dev/XXXX - the root fs
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th March 2012, 10:06 AM
discover Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 1
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Stupid mistake

How to tell parent about my stupid mistake with minimum hurting them?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mistake, stupid

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Livna mistake FC6 Insomniac20k Using Fedora 2 24th October 2006 07:24 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:00 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Chalon-sur-Saone Travel Photos on Instagram - Lyndhurst Instagram Photos - Revelganj