Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th October 2011, 06:23 PM
coldcaption Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
macoschrome
Live Fedora drops to debug shell; "conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs efi vga"

Hi!
So I'm getting a little crazed over how difficult it has been to get a working Linux distro on my ThinkPad X120e. With Mint, I got as far as having it installed (after the installer would consistently crash on GRUB, leaving me to install it myself with different live media), only to run into problems booting it (sometimes it didn't) as well as random, unpredictable freezes. Debian won't boot at all, and I tried Fedora first, but stopped when I had this problem. Now that I can't seem to find anything else, I'm going to try getting help beyond a Google search.

tl;dr; It gets past the GRUB screen just fine, passes the ISO integrity test, but crashes to a debug shell after the progress bar with "conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs efi vga." What can I do about this? I can't find anyone else who's had this problem; it seems that plenty of people have Fedora running on this machine just fine. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th October 2011, 06:32 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,300
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Live Fedora drops to debug shell; "conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs efi vga

Are you having an ATI Radeon grafic card by chance on your ThinkPad?
You might try hitting tab on boot screen, and then type "enforce=0" in the terminal like thing, then hit enter.

If that doesnt help, you got....
Several options:
1) Try "Unetbootin" (works well on/for several plattforms), burn the iso to an USB, and choose "Text Install" if available, or "Install" directly otherwise.
2) Search for grafic errors during boot / grub
3) toggle onboard VGA, just to test IF it matters (if not, return to previous value)

HtH
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th October 2011, 07:05 PM
coldcaption Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
macoschrome
Re: Live Fedora drops to debug shell; "conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs efi vga

Yes, my machine does have ATI graphics. On which screen would I press tab? 'Enforce' doesn't seem to be a command in grub or in the debug shell. I did use unetbootin to make the drive, as well. How do I search for graphic errors; am I looking for a message or things simply being displayed wrong? Grub renders with the pixels 1:1 rather than a scaled low-res, if that's of significance. Additionally, I looked through the BIOS settings and didn't see anything for onboard VGA. Is this the right place to look?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th February 2012, 06:46 PM
xaoslaad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
linuxfirefox
Re: Live Fedora drops to debug shell; "conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs efi vga

Boot with EFI disabled if you can.

If you'd rather use EFI try modprobe.blacklist=radeon or radeon.modeset=0

If either of those work you're probably going to have to use fbdev for X though.

There are some bugs already in bugzilla about this, mostly regarding Mac's where I have seen this in the past.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
debug, drops, fedora, live, shell

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] preupgrade drops to debug shell RavanH Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 11th October 2011 05:07 PM
Fedora 15 boot fails -- Drops into debug shell edward_c Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 8th September 2011 12:55 PM
How to disable "automatic login" feature in Fedora 9 Live USB installation hvdhvd Security and Privacy 2 28th January 2009 06:51 PM
Can I boot "Fedora Live" from its ISO located on hard drive serge Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 19 17th June 2008 04:48 AM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 04:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:13 (Saturday, 30-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat