Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 14th February 2012, 12:02 AM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

OK, no problem, & I wasn't picking on you. (or anyone else) I know you all are trying to help & it's much appreciated.
Just trying to keep from beating a dead horse. (now to figure out why my readouts changed.)
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14th February 2012, 10:36 PM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Any more ideas - anyone?
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15th February 2012, 12:01 AM
Dutchy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,067
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Probably just a kernel update like you said and if so probably way too much digging to do to get to the bottom of it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15th February 2012, 12:19 AM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

On that hunch I booted into the 3.1.9 kernel & I got my old readout back - booted into both the 3.2.x kernels & get the lesser one, so it IS the kernel. The question now is, what can I do about it? (short of filing a bug report)
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 25th February 2012, 02:12 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,805
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Hope this is relevant. I've been pulling my hair out over sensors issues. Lack of information for my board / CPU. I stumbled across a post that I belive was from the Ubuntu Forum. The poster suggested adding acpi_enforce_resources=lax to /etc/default/grub. I thought it worth a try so I added it to mine.
Code:
GRUB_TIMEOUT=30
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR="Fedora"
GRUB_DEFAULT=saved
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="rd.md=0 rd.lvm=0 rd.dm=0  KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8 acpi_enforce_resources=lax"
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY="true"
GRUB_FONT=/boot/grub2/DejaVuSansMono.pf2
GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768
GRUB_GFXPAYLOAD_LINUX=keep
GRUB_BACKGROUND=/usr/share/backgrounds/verne/default/wide/verne.png
As you can see I just added it to the end of the line. Rebooted and now I have a ton more information than I've had in the past.
Code:
[root@phenom16 glenn>$ sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +40.0C  (crit = +95.0C)

it8718-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.12 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in1:          +1.22 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in2:          +3.31 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
+5V:          +2.96 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in4:          +3.02 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in5:          +1.84 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
in6:          +1.22 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
5VSB:         +2.91 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +4.08 V)
Vbat:         +3.22 V  
fan1:        1155 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan2:           0 RPM  (min =   32 RPM)  ALARM
fan3:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
temp1:        +46.0C  (low  = +127.0C, high = +97.0C)  sensor = thermal diode
temp2:       +127.0C  (low  = +127.0C, high = +97.0C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
temp3:       +127.0C  (low  = +127.0C, high = +97.0C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
cpu0_vid:    +0.375 V
intrusion0:  OK
Before the change all I had was the acpitz-virtual-0 section. Nothing else.

I'm sure you need to run grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg before you reboot.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 25th February 2012, 06:04 PM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,097
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly Willy View Post
On that hunch I booted into the 3.1.9 kernel & I got my old readout back - booted into both the 3.2.x kernels & get the lesser one, so it IS the kernel. The question now is, what can I do about it? (short of filing a bug report)
Did you re-try with the just released 3.2.7 kernel ? (Built on Feb 20). My guess is we'll see a updated package soon for lm_sensors that will catch up to something that changed in the 3.2 kernel
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 25th February 2012, 06:18 PM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

MARKO
The 3.2.7 gave the same as 3.2.6

GLENNZO
I tried your suggestion & it DID give me more sensors output,
BUT it also added a bunch of useless (to me) "kernels" in the boot list.
(where you choose which to boot - if this makes sense)
How do I edit those out?


BTW: here is what I get now, so which is my CPU temp? I'm not sure... (I think it is in red)
(from the blue down is new stuff - blue is what I though was CPU on old readout)
--- it would be nice to know what ALL of them are, actually... ---

Code:
nouveau-pci-0500
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:       +123.8F  (high = +212.0F, crit = +221.0F)

k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:       +110.1F  (high = +158.0F)

f71889ed-isa-0600
Adapter: ISA adapter
+3.3V:        +3.26 V  
in1:          +1.41 V  (max =  +2.04 V)
in2:          +1.10 V  
in3:          +0.96 V  
in4:          +0.69 V  
in5:          +1.29 V  
in6:          +1.57 V  
3VSB:         +3.26 V  
Vbat:         +3.22 V  
fan1:        3432 RPM
fan2:         692 RPM
fan3:         669 RPM
temp1:        +98.6F  (high = +491.0F, hyst = +483.8F)  ALARM (CRIT)
                       (crit = +491.0F, hyst = +483.8F)  sensor = transistor
temp2:          FAULT  (high = +491.0F, hyst = +483.8F)
                       (crit = +491.0F, hyst = +483.8F)  sensor = transistor
temp3:        +84.2F  (high = +491.0F, hyst = +487.4F)  ALARM (CRIT)
                       (crit = +491.0F, hyst = +487.4F)  sensor = transistor
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

Last edited by Chilly Willy; 25th February 2012 at 08:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26th February 2012, 09:38 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,805
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Don't know why that change would add more kernels to the boot menu. I usually create a temp folder under boot and move all but the newest kernel stuff into that folder. Then I rerun grub2-mkconfig. Of course, that's after I've booted into the new kernel a few times to make sure it's working.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 26th February 2012, 10:11 AM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
windows_7firefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Well I'm totally hosed right now - see my post on it.... (& BTW: its no bad reflection on YOU, so PLEASE don't take it as such)

Also, to fill you in on the problem in this thread, I added that stuff to the end of the line & then ran that command & then rebooted.
I though this was what I was supposed to do, did I do it WRONG? - It way past bedtime, so after a good nights sleep, I'll try to post what that boot list looks like.

Thanks for your help...
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

Last edited by Chilly Willy; 26th February 2012 at 10:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 27th February 2012, 08:56 AM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
windows_7firefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

The boot list is as follows: (sorry my camera batteries are dead or I'd post a picture)

kernel 3.2.7
kernel 3.2.7 (recovery mode)
kernel 3.2.6
kernel 3.2.6 (recovery mode)
kernel 3.2.5
kernel 3.2.5 (recovery mode)
Win 7
fedora 14 (on /dev/mapper/ vg_bigtux-lv_root) - this is listed 3 times, same kernel

So it seems that that grub command hooked the F14 & F16 together.

---------- Post added 27th February 2012 at 02:56 AM ---------- Previous post was 26th February 2012 at 07:32 PM ----------

After I get my F16 back up & running, I MAY opt to try this again, but I'd like to know if I did anything wrong first, or at least try to pin down what happened with that list before hand. If all looks OK then I may. It DID give me the readout that I DO want.
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 27th February 2012, 09:34 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,412
linuxfirefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly Willy View Post
After I get my F16 back up & running, I MAY opt to try this again, but I'd like to know if I did anything wrong first, or at least try to pin down what happened with that list before hand. If all looks OK then I may. It DID give me the readout that I DO want.
http://www.lm-sensors.org/wiki/FAQ/C...inkernel2.6.31

Quote:
Banging IO-ports of a chip from 2 different drivers, the Linux hwmon driver and the ACPI
code is a really bad idea and can cause all sort of issues (including things like changing CPU / RAM
voltage or clock speed). So the old behaviour was a really bad idea.
So acpi_enforce_resources=lax might or might not fry your cpu or ram modules. The question you have to ask yourself is...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gmijl...eature=related
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 28th February 2012, 05:55 AM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
windows_7firefox
Re: Sensors - "Is this all I get?"

Well, now, isn't THAT interesting! - I have to wonder if this is all interrelated somehow to my corrupted system.

Anyway, given this, I DON'T think I will be retrying it... The whole point of the readout is to KEEP FROM burning up the CPU, not add to it. For ME anyway!

---------- Post added at 11:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:21 PM ----------

Please, I need to know what readout this represents, I thought it was the CPU but I need to know for sure!

Code:
 k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:        +87.8F  (high = +158.0F)
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
is this all i get, sensors

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unpredictable "delete" "move to trash" or "cut" file menu option dorianrenato Using Fedora 1 21st November 2011 04:09 AM
Dell xps-1530 lm-sensors problem "sensor-detect = not found" Omni-Tom Hardware & Laptops 17 11th January 2009 01:43 PM
"ls" and "cd" treat ".." differently inside symlinked directories bnorman Using Fedora 0 19th June 2008 05:49 PM
lm_sensors "No sensors found!" |znogooD Using Fedora 9 29th April 2006 12:37 AM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 05:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:51 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin Copyright 2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Marion Photos on Instagram - Fairfield Heights Instagram Photos - Jaguaquara Travel Photos on Instagram