Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th February 2012, 01:30 AM
PheonixFire Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
vmware fedora 16

I'm trying to get vmware player 4.0.2 to run on fedora 16.

I've tracked the problem back to the vmware service but I can't get it to start
Here's the logs related to it:

Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix vmware[2223]: Starting VMware services:
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix vmware[2223]: Virtual machine monitor[FAILED]
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix vmware[2223]: Virtual machine communication interface[FAILED]
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix vmware[2223]: VM communication interface socket family[FAILED]
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix vmware[2223]: Blocking file system[ OK ]
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix vmware[2223]: Virtual ethernet[FAILED]
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix vmware[2223]: VMware Authentication Daemon[ OK ]
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix systemd[1]: vmware.service: control process exited, code=exited status=1
Feb 16 12:23:59 Pheonix systemd[1]: Unit vmware.service entered failed state.

any help would be appreciated
PheonixFire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th February 2012, 07:35 PM
drewkenjo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 30
linuxopera
Re: vmware fedora 16

You need to configure vmware modules for your kernel. It is possible that you didn't install them. When you run vmplayer it will ask you to install modules. But "usually" new vmplayer and new kernels are not "compatible" and may require some patches.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th February 2012, 01:10 PM
PheonixFire Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
macossafari
Re: vmware fedora 16

How do you do that, it isn't something I've had to do before

Thanks for the help
PheonixFire
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th February 2012, 01:30 PM
drewkenjo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 30
linuxopera
Re: vmware fedora 16

You can run vmplayer and it will automatically ask you to enter root password to configure modules.
If it will go successfully vmplayer will restart services.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th February 2012, 03:28 AM
PheonixFire Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: vmware fedora 16

I don't think I explained very well.

I can start vmware player, it just won't run virtual machines which I think is because
the vmware service isn't running

Thanks for the help
PheonixFire
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th February 2012, 03:42 AM
drewkenjo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 30
linuxopera
Re: vmware fedora 16

The reason why your service can't start is that vmware module for your kernel isn't configured. You can configure it running following command as root:
Code:
vmware-modconfig --console --install-all
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th February 2012, 07:35 AM
PheonixFire Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: vmware fedora 16

Running the commands gets the following result:
gcc and kernel headers must be installed

gcc and kernel-headers are installed though, any suggestions

Thanks for the help
PheonixFire
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th February 2012, 07:40 AM
drewkenjo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 30
linuxopera
Re: vmware fedora 16

Check if you have kernel-headers and kernel-devel installed. Check if your running kernel and kernel headers are of the same version.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th February 2012, 10:15 AM
PheonixFire Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
linuxfirefox
Re: vmware fedora 16

installing the kernel-devel allow the above command to work, but it gave the following as part of the results

/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/filter.c:60:16: error: ‘THIS_MODULE’ undeclared here (not in a function)
/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/userif.c: In function ‘VNetCsumCopyDatagram’:
/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/userif.c:520:3: error: incompatible type for argument 1 of ‘kmap’
include/linux/highmem.h:48:21: note: expected ‘struct page *’ but argument is of type ‘const struct <anonymous>’
/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/userif.c:523:3: error: incompatible type for argument 1 of ‘kunmap’
include/linux/highmem.h:54:20: note: expected ‘struct page *’ but argument is of type ‘const struct <anonymous>’
make[2]: *** [/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/filter.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: *** [/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/userif.o] Error 1
/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/netif.c: In function ‘VNetNetIfSetup’:
/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/netif.c:134:7: error: unknown field ‘ndo_set_multicast_list’ specified in initializer
/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/netif.c:134:7: warning: initialization from incompatible pointer type [enabled by default]
/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/netif.c:134:7: warning: (near initialization for ‘vnetNetifOps.ndo_validate_addr’) [enabled by default]
make[2]: *** [/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only/netif.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/3.2.6-3.fc16.x86_64'
make: *** [vmnet.ko] Error 2
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmnet-only'
Unable to install vmnet

thanks for the help, I usually avoid messing with the kernel
PheonixFire
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th February 2012, 03:53 PM
drewkenjo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 30
linuxopera
Re: vmware fedora 16

And this is exactly the problem I mentioned before. About the compatibility of new kernel and vmware modules. Usually there are some patches in internet. But I don't believe that it is easy to find them if you have the newest kernel. You can try VirtualBox. For fedora I gave up VMware and switched to VirtualBox.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th February 2012, 05:04 PM
xouskarle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: vmware fedora 16

The patch can be found here.
__________________
Achtung!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st February 2012, 09:26 AM
ErikLehnsherr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: vmware fedora 16

Did you ever tried the Open Source Oracle VM Virtual Box? (assuming you not bought vmware license, sorry for that if you did).
Works like a charm here and don't need all these workarounds. And don't touch the kernel also.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st February 2012, 12:37 PM
xouskarle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: vmware fedora 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikLehnsherr View Post
Did you ever tried the Open Source Oracle VM Virtual Box? (assuming you not bought vmware license, sorry for that if you did).
Works like a charm here and don't need all these workarounds. And don't touch the kernel also.
Using vmware player does not require the purchase of any license.
The patch doesn't touch the kernel, it patches vmware modules.
__________________
Achtung!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21st February 2012, 12:38 PM
PheonixFire Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
macossafari
Re: vmware fedora 16

I tried your Virtual Box suggestion, and it works pretty well so far

I was only using VMware player since it was what was being used
where I'm studying

Thanks for the help
PheonixFire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, fedora 16, vmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Fedora 14 on VMware – How to Install VMware Tools on Fedora 14 yueling Using Fedora 6 29th August 2011 09:58 AM
VMWare workstation 6: vmware-config.pl problem... kernel 2.6.25.3-18.fc9.i686 sinatosk Using Fedora 5 18th May 2008 11:42 PM
Install VMware VMware-server-1.0.1-29996.i386.rpm sheffrem Servers & Networking 6 12th April 2007 01:13 AM
FC3 Test1 on VMware Workstation 4.5.2, cannot install the vmware tools aiirii Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 25th August 2004 01:11 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:49 (Monday, 20-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Mafinga - Faqus Instagram Photos - Debre Birhan Photos on Instagram