Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th February 2012, 11:47 PM
mcojettech737 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 53
linuxfirefox
New F16 dvd iso corrupted ?

my original dvd became badly scratched so i tossed it out. I downloded the newer Fedora-16-86_64-dvd.iso image (3.5 gigs) roughly. I tried burning it with
isomaster
gnomebaker
brasero
acetone
k3b
on memorex 4.7 gig dvd-r 16x with all of them erroring out. k3b came the closest and 99 % done but hung on closing the disk, after 20 mins waiting i quit.

i downloded several more F16 realease from diff mirrors with the sam result. I was able to burn F14 & F15 dvd iso's.

i must have blown thru 10 disks... grrrrr

anyone having the same problem? my machine is fully updated.
any suggestions?

Last edited by mcojettech737; 6th February 2012 at 11:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th February 2012, 11:50 PM
sesso Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
linuxchrome
Re: New F16 dvd iso corrupted ?

try using dd onto a usb drive. I have the dvd install on USB.

dd if=iso-name.iso of=/dev/whatever-drive
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th February 2012, 01:07 AM
mcojettech737 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 53
linuxfirefox
Re: New F16 dvd iso corrupted ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sesso View Post
try using dd onto a usb drive. I have the dvd install on USB.

dd if=iso-name.iso of=/dev/whatever-drive
forgot to mention that i was on a F15 machine. i'm upgrading to F16 via Preupgrade & then will try to burn another DVD iso and update this post.

i picked up a 16 gig usb thum drive a few days ago.. haven't had time to learn to use it yet lol... i still like having my floppy for letters & stuff...lol i'm old school that way LOL

Last edited by mcojettech737; 7th February 2012 at 01:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th February 2012, 02:21 AM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfirefox
Re: New F16 dvd iso corrupted ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcojettech737

I tried burning it with
isomaster
gnomebaker
brasero
acetone
k3b
Then I guess it's safe to say that it's not the burning software.

Try changing something else. Anything else. To me, a glaring candidate to try changing is the brand (or at least the batch) of blank disks. There are good brands and not-so-good ones. And there is not always a correlation between a famous brand name and high optical quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcojettech737

I was able to burn F14 & F15 dvd iso's.
Today though? Probably not, so you also have to consider the burner. Those things can gradually (or suddenly) stop producing good burns. And their tolerance for reading or playing marginal disks can change, too (even when it just burned it). If nothing else works, then try to isolate that variable by transferring the ISO file to another computer (and burner) and burn it again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcojettech737

i downloded several more F16 realease from diff mirrors with the sam result.
You never mentioned it, but I guess you verified the integrity of the downloaded files (or somehow know they are good).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th February 2012, 08:15 AM
mcojettech737 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 53
linuxfirefox
Re: New F16 dvd iso corrupted ?

[QUOTE=stoat;1552915]Then I guess it's safe to say that it's not the burning software.

Try changing something else. Anything else. To me, a glaring candidate to try changing is the brand (or at least the batch) of blank disks. There are good brands and not-so-good ones. And there is not always a correlation between a famous brand name and high optical quality.

Today though? Probably not, so you also have to consider the burner. Those things can gradually (or suddenly) stop producing good burns. And their tolerance for reading or playing marginal disks can change, too (even when it just burned it). If nothing else works, then try to isolate that variable by transferring the ISO file to another computer (and burner) and burn it again.

You never mentioned it, but I guess you verified the integrity of the downloaded files (or somehow know they are good).[/QUOTE

preupgrade isnt working either on boot up to F16 it gets locked by alsa usb sound that is automatically installed
its automatically downloaded & installed by preupgrade. ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th February 2012, 03:12 AM
mcojettech737 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 53
linuxfirefox
Re: New F16 dvd iso corrupted ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoat View Post
Then I guess it's safe to say that it's not the burning software.

Try changing something else. Anything else. To me, a glaring candidate to try changing is the brand (or at least the batch) of blank disks. There are good brands and not-so-good ones. And there is not always a correlation between a famous brand name and high optical quality.

Today though? Probably not, so you also have to consider the burner. Those things can gradually (or suddenly) stop producing good burns. And their tolerance for reading or playing marginal disks can change, too (even when it just burned it). If nothing else works, then try to isolate that variable by transferring the ISO file to another computer (and burner) and burn it again.

You never mentioned it, but I guess you verified the integrity of the downloaded files (or somehow know they are good).
i had to uninstall all my burner apps with yum & reinstall them.. they all worked except K3b
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
corrupted, dvd, f16, iso

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupted usb zepher Using Fedora 0 9th November 2010 08:06 PM
Yum Corrupted?! jimmy20013 Using Fedora 3 4th November 2006 06:58 PM
yum corrupted??? need help. joel69 Using Fedora 2 11th October 2005 09:58 PM
Corrupted CD? Yuneek Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 13th April 2005 09:24 AM
corrupted ISO or corrupted CD? ogross74 Using Fedora 8 6th December 2004 04:56 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:58 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat