Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th December 2011, 04:59 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
windows_7opera
Want to replace F15 with F16, clean install, and not replace exisitng grub2

Title says it all. I want to replace Fedora 15 with Fedora 16, do a clean install, and not overwrite the existing Arch Linux GRUB2 bootloader (BIOS boot from MBR). What I want to do is after installing Fedora 16 is add Fedora 16 to /boot/grub/grub.cfg in Arch Linux. I know how to add OS's to /boot/grub/grub.cfg. I don't know how to prevent grub from being installed (to the MBR) by Fedora. I currently have 4 OS's installed on this hard drive; Fedora 15 Gnome, Mageia 1 KDE, Arch Linux Xfce, and Windows 7.

Is there a moderately simple way to do this?
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th December 2011, 07:59 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,869
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: Want to replace F15 with F16, clean install, and not replace exisitng grub2

As you step through the Fedora installer there is an opportunity to tell it where to put the boot loader. You can tell it to install to the root partition of the new install instead of the MBR.

http://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/...ootloader.html

Look at figure 8.46. In the top left corner, install bootloader on /dev/sda. Then it says change device. Here you can select a different target for the boot loader. I've been using that option for a while now. It works perfectly for my needs, which are the same as yours, don't overwrite my boot loader!
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th December 2011, 11:49 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
windows_7opera
Re: Want to replace F15 with F16, clean install, and not replace exisitng grub2

Thanks a bunch! Just downloaded and burned the F16 DVD. Will install soon.
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th December 2011, 12:02 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,423
linuxfirefox
Re: Want to replace F15 with F16, clean install, and not replace exisitng grub2

The Fedora 16 Installation Guide is even more explicit:
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/...ootloader.html

"Where would you like to install the
boot loader for your system?"

Select "First sector of boot partition" instead of "Master Boot Record."

This also works if your Fedora 16 install doesn't have a /boot partition.

And to avoid their caution in the "GRUB as a Secondary Boot Loader" box that
Quote:
If you install GRUB as a secondary boot loader, you must reconfigure your primary boot loader whenever you install and boot from a new kernel.
I boot Fedora 16 from legacy grub on the mbr with this in my Arch menu.lst:
Code:
title fedora 16
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
This has already survived several F16 kernel updates without needing any reconfiguration.
Not sure how to do that in grub2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th December 2011, 05:34 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
linuxopera
Re: Want to replace F15 with F16, clean install, and not replace exisitng grub2

Thanks guys! Got Fedora 16 installed without a hitch. No problems with GRUB.
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clean, exisitng, f15, f16, grub2, install, replace

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SYSLINUX to replace GRUB2 HalosGhost Using Fedora 9 6th October 2013 04:34 AM
Need to Replace /upgrade/install.img webwzrd Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 29th November 2009 01:37 PM
If i replace my motherboard will i have re install fedora? tootal2 Hardware & Laptops 2 27th December 2008 10:03 PM
Fedora install to replace Ubuntu. sanredrose Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 28th October 2008 11:05 PM
How do I replace a newer install with older one? newbie_fin Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 21st March 2006 09:16 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:44 (Tuesday, 23-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Aska Restaurante Photos - Pasar Wakaf Bharu - Maroccana Travel Photos on Instagram - Nusaybin Beyazsu Instagram Photos