Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th December 2011, 06:26 PM
juanfgs Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Entre Rios, Argentina
Posts: 166
macosmidori
Change brightness from command line?

Hi, I installed Fedora 16 on my laptop and managed to make it work with my intel video card (using acpi_osi=Linux as kernel parameter) however now it boots with extremely low brightness and I have to change it by pressing the brightness function keys. It's a minor nuisance but I would like to change it from command line and add it to an init script that makes it automatically.
I've already tried "echo -n 100 > /proc/acpi/video/VGA/LCD/brightness" but there is no VGA folder in proc and it fails. any suggestion?
__________________
I'm back... again...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th December 2011, 10:22 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,720
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Change brightness from command line?

If you have the xorg-x11-server-utils package installed then you could do something like this:
Code:
xgamma -gamma 1.4
You can play around with different numbers to get the brightness you want: a number less than one makes it darker, a number greater than 1 makes it brighter.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brightness, change, command, line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to adjust LCD brightness (backlight) from command line? premudriy Using Fedora 9 11th July 2010 12:52 AM
Cannot change services with 'setup' command line in F10 (64-bit). pilotferdi Using Fedora 2 9th July 2009 01:03 AM
Change CPU frequency from command line joe.pelayo Using Fedora 12 13th March 2009 10:16 AM
Command line to change screen resolution overule Using Fedora 5 12th December 2007 05:20 AM
how to change resolution from command line jtovet Using Fedora 6 27th March 2007 12:45 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:19 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Tharu Shah Instagram Photos - Mariano Comense Instagram Photos - Porrino Instagram Photos