Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 10th November 2011, 05:55 AM
xpzion7 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rosarito
Posts: 70
linuxfirefox
Thumbs up Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

I got the same problem in F16.

---------- Post added at 09:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:07 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by akvasu View Post
Hi

Yes - I connected to wired network, install wicd, wicd-gtk and then uninstall NetworkManager.

Thanks
Anup
Thats work for me. thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10th November 2011, 06:47 AM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

Quote:
Originally Posted by KirkD View Post
lspci gives me Intel PRO/Wireless 4965 AG or AGN [Kedron] Network Connection (rev 61)

resolv.conf contains:

domain skybeam.com
search skybeam.com
nameserver 192.168.0.1

Everything seems ok there.
OK, if you say so, but I don't really trust routers as name servers. Why don't you try changing it to

nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10th November 2011, 07:08 PM
KirkD Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 386
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

I tried changing the broadcast channel from 7 to 4 and noticed that it was originally set up to do an automatic channel scan. Changing to channel 4 resulted in all my computers/phones being unable to connect at all. I didn't have time to work with it this morning, so I'll try again later this evening when I get back.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10th November 2011, 08:38 PM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,368
linuxopera
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

Hello KirkD

I really would try what 'RHamel' suggested as well.

It does seem a bit "circular" to have to use name resolution to access your name resolution servers.

Personally, I use OpenDNS a lot which are:

Quote:
208.67.222.222

208.67.220.220
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10th November 2011, 08:49 PM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

The ones I gave are Google Public DNS servers.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10th November 2011, 08:50 PM
KirkD Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 386
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

RHamel and bbfuller,

Thank you for the responses. I have to claim ignorance here, though, as we're outside my domain of knowledge. I'm willing to give your ideas a try, but I would like to understand what it is that I'm doing, too. 8^) Could you provide a little more detail on what it is that I'm changing and why? Thanks for you patience!

-kirk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10th November 2011, 09:07 PM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

Sure. If you click on the link I gave you in the previous post, it provides some information. You can also consult the book of knowledge.

It's safe to say that not all DNS servers are created equal. Some are *****, especially the ones in cheap routers.

Last edited by RHamel; 10th November 2011 at 09:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10th November 2011, 10:57 PM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,368
linuxopera
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

Hello KirkD

Frankly, I think we are grasping at straws. But what we are suggesting is that the process whereby your computer asks the internet how to translate the address you type in, into an ip address that the internet will use is flawed.

It's a desperation thought because your other devices work well, but as your machine has your router as the name resolver we might just try bypassing that by putting some ip addresses for name resolution into your machines network connection parameters.

It's also a mystery why your nothing will connect to your router when you change the wireless channel. I did come across a situation once where when I changed the wireless channel, I had to change the SSID of the access point as well. Some device wouldn't believe that the SSID it was used to connecting to could be broadcasting on another channel.

It would be really interesting if you could borrow a different router device and try that, but I don't suppose that's possible?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10th November 2011, 11:32 PM
KirkD Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 386
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

Thanks again! I'll give some of this a try tonight. Here's my list of things to try:

Revert back to channel 7 and see if devices connect.
Change channel along with SSID.
Recreate the entire network from scratch and remove auto-channel scanning in favor of a specific channel.
I do have another router. Older, but may still be a BGN router to try. I may not get to it today, but if the above doesn't work, that'll be a weekend project.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10th November 2011, 11:46 PM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,368
linuxopera
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

Hello KirkD

You could add to that list:

In NetworkManager specify some different DNS servers.

That'll certainly keep you out of mischief this weekend. I'll be interested to read the progress reports.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11th November 2011, 12:05 AM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

Quote:
Originally Posted by KirkD View Post
Thanks again! I'll give some of this a try tonight. Here's my list of things to try:

Revert back to channel 7 and see if devices connect.
Change channel along with SSID.
Recreate the entire network from scratch and remove auto-channel scanning in favor of a specific channel.
I do have another router. Older, but may still be a BGN router to try. I may not get to it today, but if the above doesn't work, that'll be a weekend project.
I have a question about this too. In the US you should be using channels 1, 6, or 11. In Europe you should use 1, 5, 9, 13. This isn't a rule but a guideline. By using channel 7, your signal is overlapping into the nearest 2 channels of that convention. Have you scanned your neighbourhood to see what else is using WIFI?

Last edited by RHamel; 11th November 2011 at 12:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12th November 2011, 11:39 PM
KirkD Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 386
linuxfirefox
Re: Wireless woes continue - F15

akvasu and xpzion and everyone else that has been kind enough to offer assistance - Network Manger is removed, wicd is installed, and for the past 15 minutes, everything has worked perfectly. I'll give it another day or so and update here just so there's a follow up on the results. So far it looks like the problem has been Network Manager all along. Are you listening Network Manager people?

-Kirk

Starting day 2 with wicd and all is well. It worked perfectly through 11:00 pm yesterday and still going.

Thanks again for all the assistance.

Last edited by KirkD; 13th November 2011 at 02:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
continue, f15, wireless, woes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Woes wokay123 Hardware & Laptops 2 6th November 2010 06:32 PM
Fed. 8 wireless woes TDAY Servers & Networking 9 28th March 2008 07:36 PM
Wireless woes MUFASABINLADEN Hardware & Laptops 2 22nd February 2008 03:17 PM
NVIDIA Lock Ups Continue, and continue, and continue.... PhillyFloyd Wibble 23 14th January 2008 02:01 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:31 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Amargosa - La Piedad Cavadas - Thanh Pho Ha Long Travel Photos