Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th November 2011, 09:00 AM
GODhack Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 209
linuxfirefox
F16 upgrade: No space in boot (2 different errors)

I tried to upgrade to F16 and preupgrade failed with no space on boot so I wiped out old kernels and memtest and preupgrade completed ok then.
Then I rebooted and tired upgrade and upgrade itself now demands one mb more.
That should not happen, but main question is where I can get one more mb now?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th November 2011, 11:16 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 upgrade: No space in boot (2 different errors)

If you can boot the old setup try this, it should reduce the initramfs image by at least 4Mb.

Code:
su
dracut -f -H -v /boot/initramfs-$(uname -r).img $(uname -r)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th November 2011, 03:26 PM
GODhack Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 209
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 upgrade: No space in boot (2 different errors)

Thx, I got 9 Mb more.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, errors, f16, space, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kernel upgrade won't install, claims not enough space on /boot IHeart SymLinks Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 14 24th October 2011 09:33 PM
Insufficient space on /boot to upgrade F13-F14 obiwanyj Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 28th April 2011 01:13 AM
Kernel upgrade complains about not enough space in /boot -- but there's plenty? mas1974 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 23rd May 2010 12:31 AM
Fedora 10 to 12 Upgrade Fails With Low disk space detected in /boot johnj Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 7th March 2010 08:11 AM
How much space does preupgrade require in /boot/upgrade? jimwrightbe Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 20th September 2009 12:06 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:28 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Dorval Instagram Photos - Wauwatosa Instagram Photos - Mangotsfield Photos