Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 3rd August 2011, 10:07 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,898
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 15 won't open after updates

Check for a .xsession-errors file. Sometimes the problem will be shown there instead of the /var/log/Xorg log file.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 3rd August 2011, 10:27 PM
saqer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 178
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 won't open after updates

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpollard View Post
Check for a .xsession-errors file. Sometimes the problem will be shown there instead of the /var/log/Xorg log file.
I moved .xsession* files to different names and rebooted. The computer did hangup but no new .xsession file was created. Well, I digged into the issue and realized that during my failing yum update, my kdm got lost and was removed without the new kdm installed. I installed kdm and I am back at full throttle

Thank you guys for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 3rd August 2011, 11:17 PM
hbaird Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 211
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 won't open after updates

I tried
yum --enablerepo=updates-testing update microcode_ctl
and got
No Packages marked for Update
Any suggestions? I am able to boot on and older Kernel and have akmod which has worked for most of F 15.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 4th August 2011, 03:55 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 won't open after updates

the microcode_ctl package has been pushed int the regular updates repo, it is no longer in updates-testing. You should get it if you do a regular yum update unless you already updated it.

Unless you were specifically having a problem with the microcode upon boot, just updating that package probably won't fix you r problem. What issues are you having?

Last edited by DBelton; 4th August 2011 at 03:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 5th August 2011, 07:27 AM
prince93 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 11
windows_7chrome
Re: Fedora 15 won't open after updates

Quote:
Originally Posted by saqer View Post
I moved .xsession* files to different names and rebooted. The computer did hangup but no new .xsession file was created. Well, I digged into the issue and realized that during my failing yum update, my kdm got lost and was removed without the new kdm installed. I installed kdm and I am back at full throttle

Thank you guys for the help.
can you tell me in steps how to solve this problem, I had a similar problem

I accidentally installed the new kernel 3.1.1 fc17, and since then I had the same problem as yours, the white icon at the startup gets filled and the fedora icon appears and sits there.

I have intel graphics chipset, never installed special drivers or so

I can see in the text console that everything is going right.. no error messages (in red right?)

I can login as root too.. but I don't know what to do. I removed the latest kernel rc0 fc17 using rpm -q and rpm -e but the older kernels still have the same problem..

waiting for your help

edit: I didn't run through troubles while updating.. all went fine

Last edited by prince93; 5th August 2011 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 1st November 2011, 12:51 PM
DotrainExpress Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora 15 won't open after updates

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
the microcode_ctl package has been pushed int the regular updates repo, it is no longer in updates-testing. You should get it if you do a regular yum update unless you already updated it.

Unless you were specifically having a problem with the microcode upon boot, just updating that package probably won't fix you r problem. What issues are you having?
I'm actually having the same problem he was having. Fresh install of Fedora 15 and then a yum update. Worked fine until I installed php and enabled openssh. I rebooted and the screen went blank after the default splash screen (would only show a fraction of the Fedora logo and then went blank). I was able to press 'tab' and select an older kernel (2.6.38) and boot fine but not able to load 2.6.40 (just goes blank again). I've tried updating again but says there's nothing to update.

Sorry for the lack of details... linux rookie here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, open, updates

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fedora-release 13.1/updates-testing --> updates GoinEasy9 Fedora 13 Development Branch 6 10th May 2010 07:37 PM
Can't open all web pages and can't get updates with Wireless!!! RedhaT_BoY69 Using Fedora 3 21st February 2008 11:48 PM
Errors in ¨Resolving Dependencies for Updates¨ while trying to ¨Apply Updates¨ MACSimaKRECie Using Fedora 44 25th December 2007 01:36 PM
When will the updates on the fedora updates server? Flatron Using Fedora 5 20th April 2005 03:57 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:59 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...London United Kingdom Instagram Photos - In The Venue, SLC Instagram Photos - Sede Vacacional Fuerzas Armadas, Los Trupillos, Santa Marta - Vang Viang Instagram Photos