Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th November 2004, 12:19 AM
Dewey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Carlisle, PA; USA
Age: 25
Posts: 59
Fdisk command not found? NTFS/FAT32 Not supported?

I'm trying to mount my windows partitions under linux, and it's not going too well
I have a primary NTFS win2k partition, with an extended partition/logical drive D:, then my FC3 install.

I want to atleast mount my D drive (FAT32) which I assume is /dev/hda2. I wanted to use fdisk or cfdisk to double check my partition table, but This is all I get.
Code:
[root@localhost dewey]# fdisk
bash: fdisk: command not found
And I even tried to mount /dev/hda2 to /mnt/test hoping that it was my D: drive, and here's what I got.
Code:
[root@localhost dewey]# mount -t fat32 /dev/hda2 /mnt/test
mount: fs type fat32 not supported by kernel
I get a similar problem when trying to mount /dev/hda1.

If anyone could link me on information to get fdisk (or cfdisk) working, or even adding NTFS/FAT32 support, it would be well appreciated.

Thankyou.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th November 2004, 12:39 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
the correct command is (type as root): /sbin/fdisk -l
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th November 2004, 12:40 AM
mcg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 36
It is mount -t vfat!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th November 2004, 12:49 AM
Dewey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Carlisle, PA; USA
Age: 25
Posts: 59
Thanks

Thanks a bunch!

Just switched from gentoo, so I'm used to using fdisk as a command.

I had to mount /dev/hda5 instead of hda2, because hda5 was the actual logical partition. Worked like a charm.

Edit:
VFAT doesn't work for NTFS does it? Here's what I got.
Code:
[root@localhost dewey]# mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
       or too many mounted file systems
Is it even possible to mount an NTFS partition with read+write permissions anyway?

Last edited by Dewey; 20th November 2004 at 12:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th November 2004, 01:09 AM
mcg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewey
VFAT doesn't work for NTFS does it?
No, for NTFS partitions you have to write mount -t ntfs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th November 2004, 01:36 AM
Shadow Skill Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,317
You can have full read/write ntfs support if you use captive ntfs....but don't be surprised if your ntfs drives/partitions get nuked; full ntfs write support is still very much experimental in nature. Read support however is totally safe. linux-ntfs.sf.net should have rpm's for your fedora version just install those for your kernel and mount your ntfs drives as mcg indicated.
__________________
Ware wa mutekinari.
Wa ga kage waza ni kanau mono nashi.
Wa ga ichigeki wa mutekinari.



Please vote for this bug and help me make GAYT [Go As You Type ]a standard option in Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th November 2004, 01:56 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
Read the instructions: http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/index.html
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th November 2004, 02:45 AM
Dewey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Carlisle, PA; USA
Age: 25
Posts: 59
All works like a charm now, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th November 2004, 04:15 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dewey
All works like a charm now, thanks.
Post your fstab to compare notes....I always like to see how other people solve their problems.
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th January 2005, 06:17 PM
StoneBrooks Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland Oregon
Age: 38
Posts: 30
I read on another post that you can resolve path issues with su -
I think I'll start using that instead of plain su
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
command, fdisk, ntfs or fat32, supported

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FDISK command not found in SU mode robertfdawson Using Fedora 3 27th June 2008 01:11 PM
fdisk: command not found Wiki_Poster Using Fedora 6 30th November 2006 04:58 AM
How to use fdisk?? I get "command not found" message StephenT Using Fedora 5 23rd May 2006 08:00 PM
grub fdisk command not found pavankonka Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 8th February 2006 04:55 AM
Why is the terminal telling me the fdisk command isn't found? Bob D. Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 14th January 2005 12:46 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:29 (Wednesday, 20-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat