Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th August 2011, 09:16 PM
vocongdanh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Fedora 15: Black screen without nomodet

I found a bug, it's due to light the screen, if I start not choose nomodet the screen is very dark, I use the setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B=00 the screen back to normal, but when I restarted, which continued to setpci. How to fix this, thanks!

------------------------------------------------------------------
My laptop infomation:

Acer 4937
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T6600
RAM: 2GB
Graphic: Mobile Intel 4 Seri 796MB

I have installed Fedora 15 from USB. If i start without nomodeset then screen startup is black! Please help me, thanks !

Last edited by vocongdanh; 14th August 2011 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th August 2011, 09:44 PM
steelaworkn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 47
Posts: 1,137
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15: Black screen without nomodet

Not sure. Are you using Nouveau for your video driver?
__________________
My setup:

Intel DP35DP MB; Nvidia 440 2 gig Video Card; 8 gigs of ram; Intel Core Duo 2.20 gig; Hp Officejet Pro L7580; LVM F20 64bit using 3 320g HDs and dual monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th August 2011, 02:13 AM
vocongdanh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora 15: Black screen without nomodet

no, i do not have this
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th August 2011, 07:34 AM
steelaworkn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 47
Posts: 1,137
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15: Black screen without nomodet

Before installing Nvidia drivers or anything special, make sure to do #yum -y update. This makes sure you have all the right stuff on board and up to date
__________________
My setup:

Intel DP35DP MB; Nvidia 440 2 gig Video Card; 8 gigs of ram; Intel Core Duo 2.20 gig; Hp Officejet Pro L7580; LVM F20 64bit using 3 320g HDs and dual monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th August 2011, 01:22 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,477
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 15: Black screen without nomodet

If you use nomodeset, it does boot up, correct? (I ask because I've had issues where something else was going wrong, and I couldn't see it because during the time it was changing to the framebuffer the screen went black and the problem happened then.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
black, fedora, nomodet, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VNC - Black Screen! Fedora 14 - how to? wajda Using Fedora 1 22nd January 2011 02:15 PM
Black screen after new Fedora 12 comes up George SIcherma Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 17th September 2010 08:53 PM
Fedora 9 black screen? Rave Gloves Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 21 25th November 2008 06:58 AM
fedora 8 black screen synap6 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 15th April 2008 06:23 PM
Fedora 6 Help!!!Black screen! cobold Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 10th December 2006 11:51 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:04 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat