Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th August 2011, 08:39 PM
thecovester1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
windows_7chrome
Unable to create partitions- it says I have no free space

Two nights ago I installed the KDE Spin of F15 and it all went smoothly. Then, I decided to try and use Windows' bootloader (it was a dual-boot) instead of GRUB. So I booted into Windows, spun up EasyBCD, added the correct entry for Fedora, and overwrote the MBR. I rebooted and tried to boot into Fedora, only to realize that the Windows Boot Manager had a failsafe that sensed when it didn't boot into Windows, and it stopped me from booting into Fedora.

At first, I booted into my live USB and tried to get GRUB back. After a couple Konsoles full of GRUB telling me that it couldn't mount the drive and install itself, I decided I was probably doing something wrong and it would be much easier to just reinstall Fedora.

I deleted the Fedora partitions I had made earlier from Windows (because it was already running). Then I booted into my live USB and tried to install Fedora. I clicked "OK" to make a partition (that would mount at /boot) that was 500 mb. It told me there wasn't enough space, but sitting right next to one of the already installed partitions was more than 190000 mb of space. So I tried to redo the partition with 250 mb, then I tried to make the swap partition and the main one (that would mount at /). I kept getting the error. I decided maybe it was a problem with the USB, so I rebooted into Windows and reinstalled the ISO onto the USB (with unetbootin) and repeated the process, only to get the same error.

Does anyone have any idea as to what's happening and how to fix it?

P.S- I tried to use the option to "Use Free Space" as well as doing it manually and got the same error. Also, I saw another thread where a person with my same type of compute (a Lenovo Y560) had a similar problem. It might be possible there's a hidden partition for Lenovo's purposes? Anyways, the other user's solution was to move the an extended partition somewhere. I'll be posting an fdisk soon, in case I have the same problem as the other user. The other user used GParted, but it looks like I can use Easeus too, which I already have installed.

P.P.S- Here's the fdisk in case it will help:
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders, total 1250263728 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc3ffc3ff

  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048      411647      204800    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2          411648   763366958   381477655+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3      1219319808  1250263727    15471960   12  Compaq diagnostics
/dev/sda4      1155157953  1219319807    32080927+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda5      1155158016  1219319807    32080896    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdb: 4012 MB, 4012900352 bytes
120 heads, 55 sectors/track, 1187 cylinders, total 7837696 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *          32     7837695     3918832    6  FAT16

Disk /dev/mapper/live-rw: 3221 MB, 3221225472 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 391 cylinders, total 6291456 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/mapper/live-rw doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/mapper/live-osimg-min: 3221 MB, 3221225472 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 391 cylinders, total 6291456 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/mapper/live-osimg-min doesn't contain a valid partition table

Last edited by thecovester1; 7th August 2011 at 08:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th August 2011, 10:34 PM
michaaa62 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 113
linuxopera
Re: Unable to create partitions- it says I have no free space

Quote:
Disk /dev/sda: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders, total 1250263728 sector
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc3ffc3ff

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 2048 411647 204800 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2 411648 763366958 381477655+ 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3 1219319808 1250263727 15471960 12 Compaq diagnostics
/dev/sda4 1155157953 1219319807 32080927+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda5 1155158016 1219319807 32080896 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
Your partition table is borked...
You have all four primary partitions and still some free space which is not allocatable (Note the gap between the end of /dev/sda2 and the start of /dev/sda4
Did you set this table from windows or from linux? Is the stuff in /dev/sda5 important for you? Do you have some space available to back this up?
Basically you have to resize /dev/sda4 to fill the free space with gparted. If the free space becomes part of /dev/sda4, it also will get usable for new partitions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th August 2011, 10:34 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,226
linuxopera
Re: Unable to create partitions- it says I have no free space

I ran into this or a similar error. Turned out that I had too many primary partitions (you can only have 4). I had to delete all the non-Windows partitions, then create an extended partition, then create logical drives in that extended partition. IIRC, I did this from Windows 7 disk management (or it might have been by using diskpart from a booted rescue CD), but I did not assign the partitions a drive letter, and I did not format the partitions from Windows.
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th August 2011, 10:42 PM
thecovester1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
windows_7chrome
Re: Unable to create partitions- it says I have no free space

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaaa62 View Post
Your partition table is borked...
You have all four primary partitions and still some free space which is not allocatable (Note the gap between the end of /dev/sda2 and the start of /dev/sda4
Did you set this table from windows or from linux? Is the stuff in /dev/sda5 important for you? Do you have some space available to back this up?
Basically you have to resize /dev/sda4 to fill the free space with gparted. If the free space becomes part of /dev/sda4, it also will get usable for new partitions.
I didn't set the table up at all. My table was just like that when I got my comp, except for the free space (I shrunk the Windows partition). Yes, the stuff in /dev/sda5 is important to me.

Anyways, thanks for the answer. I already did just that in gparted, like the other user did in the other thread and I'm about to go see if the install worked.

---------- Post added at 04:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:41 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Batson View Post
I ran into this or a similar error. Turned out that I had too many primary partitions (you can only have 4). I had to delete all the non-Windows partitions, then create an extended partition, then create logical drives in that extended partition. IIRC, I did this from Windows 7 disk management (or it might have been by using diskpart from a booted rescue CD), but I did not assign the partitions a drive letter, and I did not format the partitions from Windows.
Ouch. Good thing for me, then; I only had Windows partitions and I already had an extended partition set up, so I just had to put the free space in it. Hope it works!

EDIT: It works! Thanks a lot, michaaa and David!

Last edited by thecovester1; 8th August 2011 at 05:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th August 2011, 05:30 AM
Luke M Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 51
linuxfirefox
Re: Unable to create partitions- it says I have no free space

For future reference...

http://www.rodsbooks.com/fixparts

This program can convert primary partitions into logical, solving the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
create, free, partitions, space, unable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could not allocate requested partitions: not enough free space on disks dell1545 win7 linuxswan Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 11th April 2010 12:27 PM
Help removing free space to create Raw free space nightmare55 Using Fedora 3 14th February 2007 06:03 AM
No free space after deleting files on ext3 Partitions elgreco Using Fedora 0 18th June 2006 10:39 AM
"Keep Partitions and Use free space" + "Auto parition" = wipe anything? oldman_420 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 6th May 2005 04:32 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:34 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat