Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 31st May 2011, 03:39 AM
pjhacnau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Morisset, NSW, Australia
Posts: 10
linuxfirefox
F14 GNOME 3 preview worked, F15 GNOME goes to fallback

Title says it all really.

With Fedora 14 I was able to run GNOME 3 preview. When I upgraded to F15, I now get a message saying GNOME 3 won't start and I get dropped into fallback mode.

The machine is fairly old:
  • Athlon XP 2500+
  • 2GB Mem
  • Radeon 9250 (driver R200 (RV280 5960) TCL DRI2)

I'm assuming some GFX driver change between F14 and F15 is the culprit. Help appreciated.

PJH
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th June 2011, 04:08 AM
pjhacnau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Morisset, NSW, Australia
Posts: 10
linuxfirefox
Re: F14 GNOME 3 preview worked, F15 GNOME goes to fallback

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjhacnau View Post
Title says it all really.

With Fedora 14 I was able to run GNOME 3 preview. When I upgraded to F15, I now get a message saying GNOME 3 won't start and I get dropped into fallback mode.

The machine is fairly old:
  • Athlon XP 2500+
  • 2GB Mem
  • Radeon 9250 (driver R200 (RV280 5960) TCL DRI2)

I'm assuming some GFX driver change between F14 and F15 is the culprit. Help appreciated.

PJH
Well, after some further digging on the forums I found this thread:

So using knowledge gleaned from there,
Code:
glxinfo | grep render
gives
Code:
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R200 (RV280 5960)  TCL DRI2
and running
Code:
gnome-shell --replace
manually has things running fine.

So why won't that happen at login? Suggestions?

---------- Post added at 12:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:15 AM ----------

Well I got my answer by running GNOME shell . . . corrupted fonts on mouse-over, corrupted icons in the activity screen, and finally crashing.

So I'm guessing my card, too, is marked as "doesn't work".

Oh well, fallback for the time being.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f14, f15, fallback, gnome, preview, worked

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 15/gnome 3 failed to load session gnome-fallback janw1 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 17 17th March 2012 10:48 PM
Fedora 15 + AMD 6950 graphics = Gnome 3 Fallback mode plus loud fan Jeff72 Hardware & Laptops 2 10th July 2011 04:52 AM
How to switch to gnome-fallback mode on Fedora 15 beta? megaloman F15 Development 8 5th May 2011 04:40 PM
x86_64 livecd: no login screen, gnome-shell, or gnome-fallback at boot maugre F15 Development 1 28th April 2011 08:21 PM
GNOME Shell - Preview of GNOME 3 - Accelerated 3D graphics is not available flokip Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 14 29th October 2009 07:21 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:35 (Thursday, 18-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram