Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th June 2011, 03:47 PM
Tetsuro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
linuxfirefox
Audio: 'dirty'.

Hello,

I have a problem with the audio output in Fedora 15. It seems 'dirty' to me, like with a lot of distorsion.
I use for the output a nice USB DAC that seems to run very good with Ubuntu and Windows, strangely with Fedora isn't the same. I say strangely because the sound pipeline must be very similar to that of Ubuntu, no? Kernel, ALSA, Pulseaudio and so on.

Does anyone experience this? How could I improve mine audio output? I understand that not everyone is an audiophile here but hope to share some knowledge on Fedora's audio problems.

P.S.: Tried with Flash videos and Audacious audio player.

---------- Post added at 04:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:40 PM ----------

UPDATE: Lowering audio output (like to 50%) greatly improve audio quality! Why is permitted to the system to go over and distort???

Can anyone post this bug to Fedora's developers?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th June 2011, 03:48 PM
satanselbow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Upminster, Essex, UK
Posts: 169
linuxfirefox
Wink Re: Audio: 'dirty'.

Have a look at the mixer settings as I found them at a very high level on initial install - once pulled down a notch or 2 everything was distortion free

------ Edit ---

Looks like you did that already

I don't think it is really a bug and there can be a large difference in amplitude between devices They probably worked on some kind of average and you got the loud end of the stick

Last edited by satanselbow; 4th June 2011 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th June 2011, 03:59 PM
Tetsuro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
linuxfirefox
Re: Audio: 'dirty'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by satanselbow View Post
Have a look at the mixer settings as I found them at a very high level on initial install - once pulled down a notch or 2 everything was distortion free

------ Edit ---

Looks like you did that already

I don't think it is really a bug and there can be a large difference in amplitude between devices They probably worked on some kind of average and you got the loud end of the stick
I found other people suffering with this problem, look: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...d.php?t=177479

I think it's a proper bug in fact other distributions, and Windows too, don't suffer from distorsion at high volume levels. If there is a way to improve it out of the box let's do it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th June 2011, 04:14 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,869
linuxfirefox
Re: Audio: 'dirty'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetsuro View Post
I found other people suffering with this problem, look: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...d.php?t=177479

I think it's a proper bug in fact other distributions, and Windows too, don't suffer from distorsion at high volume levels. If there is a way to improve it out of the box let's do it.
Then you need to get yourself a Bugzilla account and report what you feel is a bug. Bugzilla is also a great resource for those with Fedora issues.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th June 2011, 04:32 PM
Tetsuro Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
linuxfirefox
Thumbs up Re: Audio: 'dirty'.

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
Then you need to get yourself a Bugzilla account and report what you feel is a bug. Bugzilla is also a great resource for those with Fedora issues.
Done: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=710755

Thanks for the link.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th June 2011, 04:41 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,869
linuxfirefox
Re: Audio: 'dirty'.

Good job. Keep checking that link to see if there are any changes.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, dirty

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dirty PCs Wayne Wibble 32 17th November 2009 04:52 AM
HDD win xp flagged dirty LT72884 Wibble 6 2nd January 2009 08:57 PM
Fedora 9 - Dirty GTK on KDE sudhirb Using Fedora 2 4th July 2008 01:58 AM
More MS dirty tricks? Wayne Linux Chat 7 3rd November 2007 03:12 AM
Getting dirty with ports meslick Security and Privacy 5 19th December 2005 06:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:29 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Volcan Cotopaxi - Parc Du Peyrou Montpellier Travel Photos on Instagram - Mary's Kountry Kitchen Instagram Photos - Kokkinokastro Alonisos