Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th April 2011, 08:59 PM
erasmix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Age: 49
Posts: 71
linuxchrome
Hardware Migration and RAID

Hello there,

I have an old server I build 7 years ago. I have a RAID5 with 5x2TB HD's and I'm planning a major hardware overhaul. My server currently runs on a Pentium 4 3.2 Ghz (pre multicore technology) on a SuperMicro mobo. I'm planning to switch to an AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition Thuban 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz Turbo 6.

So here's the question. Can I just plug my drives to the new board and restart the RAID like nothing happened? I don't have space to backup all my data if I have to recreate the RAID from scratch.

Thanks,
Erasmo.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st April 2011, 12:59 PM
vsaua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Age: 31
Posts: 55
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Hardware Migration and RAID

Hi,

Is your raid software? If so there shouldn't be any problems - just install the HDD's in the same device/channels order into new motherboard.

If you use standalone hardware RAID controller - just move it to the new MB.

But if you use internal RAID in motherboard - It's a more complex to transfer, because every raid controller keeps data on HDD in it's own (guess proprietary) format. But if the internal controller is actually a fake-raid that works through kernel module - as I know there is a change to migrate ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st April 2011, 02:47 PM
scott32746 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Mary, Florida
Age: 50
Posts: 1,088
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Hardware Migration and RAID

Hello,

I would think a big hardware change is going to give you problems with the OS.

Not sure what version of Fedora you are running but older version may not be compatible with today's hardware.

Being a 7 year old hardware you maybe be running PATA drives and the new mobo is going to have SATA connections.

Curious of your out come, please let us know
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st April 2011, 03:47 PM
erasmix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Age: 49
Posts: 71
macossafari
Re: Hardware Migration and RAID

Thank you vsaua!

Yes the RAID is made thru mdadm. My concern is any incompatibility between intel and amd integers, specially if I install fedora 64 bits on the new server (my RAID was created on Fedora 12, 32 bits).

One more thing. You mentioned I have to get the devices in the same order but in the past I've accidentally flipped the order of at least two devices and mdadm assembled it OK. My guess is that what's important to mdadm is the device uuid, not the device path. Any comments?

Thanks again,

Erasmo.

---------- Post added at 07:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 AM ----------

I forgot to mention all my drives are SATA (I was a pioneer back then ). I have a SuperMicro PCI-X SATA2 controller with 8 ports, plus 2 SATA connectors on my board with WD Raptors (74Gig 1st generation) on RAID 1 for the OS. The only IDE device I have is the CD-ROM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd April 2011, 12:43 PM
vsaua Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Age: 31
Posts: 55
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Hardware Migration and RAID

Quote:
Originally Posted by erasmix View Post

Yes the RAID is made thru mdadm. My concern is any incompatibility between intel and amd integers, specially if I install fedora 64 bits on the new server (my RAID was created on Fedora 12, 32 bits).
I think everything will be ok. As I know changing from 32 to 64 Bits doesn't affect the file system. Read this thread for Ubuntu:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1719285

Quote:
Originally Posted by erasmix View Post

One more thing. You mentioned I have to get the devices in the same order but in the past I've accidentally flipped the order of at least two devices and mdadm assembled it OK. My guess is that what's important to mdadm is the device uuid, not the device path. Any comments?
You are right UUID is needed - I thought that your RAID contain OS and you are booting from it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hardware, migration, raid

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mounting degraded RAID 5 from hardware raid into softare raid staffmm Servers & Networking 1 22nd October 2009 10:46 PM
RAID migration FC4_x64->i386->FC5_x86 gsparky Using Fedora 0 12th September 2006 01:29 AM
True Hardware RAID Controller For 8 Drive SATA RAID 5 Setup DMacMan Hardware & Laptops 2 6th January 2006 08:44 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:39 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat