Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th March 2011, 11:19 PM
WiFiTech Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
windows_7chrome
Need help with 1st time DSL setup. [Solved]

Fedora 14 - AT&T DSL Modem in Bridge Mode.
Looking for guide on setting up DSL PPPOE connection.

Thanks

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:17 PM ----------

No worries. haven't been able to get much help on this and I am not a fan of forums. Putting this project in mothballs.

Last edited by WiFiTech; 26th March 2011 at 08:36 PM. Reason: Problem Solved
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th March 2011, 01:27 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Need help with 1st time DSL setup.

it's much easier to set up if you don't have your modem in bridge mode and let your modem do all the dsl authentication for you. The you just set up a network connection using your modem as the gateway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th March 2011, 06:41 PM
WiFiTech Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
windows_7chrome
Re: Need help with 1st time DSL setup.

I think I will do that...
A radius company needs full access to it, so just giving the IP to the box was an easier way to do it. I will see if the POS modem/router can allow full access, don't think it supports DMZ.
Now I have to figure out how to find the MAC address of the NIC card as the wired connection and the network icon on the top panel were deleted by a CAT jumping on the keyboard.
Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th March 2011, 06:56 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Need help with 1st time DSL setup.

do you have one of the 2wire routers? They do support dmz. It's on the Firewall Settings page.

You can get to the app for your network setup by going to the System-->Administration-->Network or by running system-config-network from a terminal.

Edit:

If you need to give them unlimited access, you will still need to allow the access in iptables even after setting it up as dmz in your router.

also, if you need the mac address, you can get it from the router as well

if you have the 2wire router here is the link for the page that gives you the device list:

Code:
http://192.168.1.254/xslt?PAGE=J08&THISPAGE=J07&NEXTPAGE=J08

Last edited by DBelton; 26th March 2011 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th March 2011, 08:01 PM
WiFiTech Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
windows_7chrome
Re: Need help with 1st time DSL setup.

I have an Actiontec and did something similar to what you posted. (disabled bridge mode)
It seems to be working I have internet access and the DMZ is set up.
Being as it is linux (Fedora) I am pretty sure I have to do something to allow access to the box itself. So back to searching how to allow access... I see a remote desktop app, but I am sure it is setup to access another machine, not to be accessed (VNC build) it looks like.
Thank you again for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1st, dsl, setup, time

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The system date and time is changing automatically, even after I set the correct time siva Using Fedora 8 31st July 2010 03:07 PM
How to query harddrive for idle time or time to standby? hobbieman Using Fedora 2 1st May 2009 07:25 AM
Fedora 8 dual boot with Windows XP [Pavilion dv6137tx] Time gets reset every time! maverick280857 Hardware & Laptops 5 23rd March 2008 11:48 AM
First-time proxy setup james_smith Servers & Networking 5 9th August 2006 12:29 PM
Network Time Setup? Hacked? MSExile Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 27th June 2006 01:00 AM


Current GMT-time: 01:35 (Saturday, 23-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat