Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st March 2011, 07:14 PM
DirolTerminator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
linuxopera
Stucked Caps

Hi all. I have a very specific problem.
I have my CapsLock remapped to change the keyboard layout (to switch the input language), via Gnome standard System->Preferences->Keyboard ui shell.
On that config ui - I leave field "Caps Lock key behavior" as a "default" and change the "Keys to change layout" to CapsLock.
If I try to select in "Caps Lock key behavior" something other, that "default" - the key stops to switch layout as well.

The problem is that sometimes (I think, after 8-12 hours of working) Caps Lock not only switches the layout, but also the Caps Lock mode, so all the letters get capitalized. And the only way to turn that mode off - is to remap Caps Lock key back to it's default value, change the mode, and then remap the key again to function properly. It's very inconvenient.

Don't suggest me to turn the Caps lock key off - it makes switching layout also impossible.

Maybe there is some command, which I can enter on the terminal - to change Caps Lock mode?

xmodmap -e "remove lock = Caps_Lock" disables the key, but not the mode =(
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd March 2011, 07:39 PM
DavidMcCann Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 459
linuxopera
Re: Stucked Caps

I suggest you leave Caps as a caps lock key and use something else to change the layout. In the keyboard preferences section, there are lost of options: how about Shift+Caps or Alt+Caps?

If you have the notification applet on the panel, it should show the current layout and you can change by clicking on it.

You could use xmodmap to set the scroll lock key to ISO_Next_Group. The keyboard options section allows you set use the Scroll Lock LED to show when you're using your second layout.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd March 2011, 07:45 PM
DirolTerminator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
linuxopera
Re: Stucked Caps

Thanks, I think I'll do, as you suggest. At least until the some improvement to the core hasn't been made, or I won't figure out, that's were caused by some third party app..
If I manage to make some progress on that problem - I'll post here what's caused that bug.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
caps, stucked

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to map CAPS to Hyper modifier mischmitz Hardware & Laptops 4 7th January 2009 01:49 PM
Turn off CAPS LOCK James Board Using Fedora 4 3rd December 2008 03:58 AM
HElp pliz im stucked at localhost magusxp Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 17th October 2008 10:04 PM
Keyboard CAPS Button Rebmob Using Fedora 2 30th September 2007 02:15 AM
SERIOUSLY NEED HELP WITH INSTALL! (caps) xJiX Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 24 22nd August 2007 11:52 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:02 (Monday, 15-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat