Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th March 2011, 04:04 PM
Seeked
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_vistachrome
Stop rc.local

I was trying to get a daemon to load on boot, I stupidly added it to rc.local and it just hangs. I would love to put in a live CD and edit out the line but the volume is encrypted and I cannot get it to mount.

Is there a way I can cancel the daemon from loading or get to the grub menu (not readily visible since I am single boot) and then boot into a console?

Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th March 2011, 04:36 PM
AndrewSerk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 889
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Stop rc.local

Hello,
If you have a Fedora livecd you should be able to boot the livecd and mount a encrypted partition for maintenance. If you use gnome 2.x from the live cd, just go Places and click on the partition you want to mount. There should be a pop up for you to enter the passkey.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th March 2011, 04:54 PM
Seeked
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_vistachrome
Re: Stop rc.local

Adrew,

I tried that and it tells me it is not a mountable volume.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th March 2011, 05:14 PM
AndrewSerk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 889
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Stop rc.local

Hello Seeked,
You could try to mount them through the disk utility palimpsest.
or
If you are not using LVM you could try something like :
Code:
su -
cryptsetup luksOpen /dev/DEVICENAME luks-fedora
mkdir /mnt/luks-fedora
mount /dev/mapper/luks-fedora /mnt/luks-fedora
replace DEVICENAME with your device's path.

Last edited by AndrewSerk; 12th March 2011 at 05:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th March 2011, 05:25 PM
Seeked
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_vistachrome
Re: Stop rc.local

Andrew,

I am using LVM. However, I did find a solution.

When booting use hit 'I' to enter interactive setup with GRUB, then 'a' to allow you to append the command that will boot the machine with a space 's'. This will put you directly into single user mode, a command prompt where I used vim to edit /etc/rc.local

Thank you for your time and effort!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th March 2011, 05:29 PM
AndrewSerk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 889
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Stop rc.local

Glad you were able to resolve the issue. You have to love linux for all the different ways to achieve a goal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rclocal, stop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
halt.local / rc.local.shutdown for Fedora? flansuse Using Fedora 4 10th December 2010 10:40 AM
Sending mail to a 'local' user who is actually not local danscott Servers & Networking 0 28th February 2010 05:03 PM
How to block all local IP and allow certain local IP using IPTABLES to connect inet? laluvirtual Security and Privacy 5 29th June 2007 01:07 PM
passwd: can't get local yp domain: Local domain name not set powah Security and Privacy 0 26th May 2006 01:31 PM
The cpu fan does not stop teudiss Hardware & Laptops 0 19th December 2005 01:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:44 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Isiro Travel Photos on Instagram - Vinales Instagram Photos - Alt-Hohenschoenhausen Instagram Photos