Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th November 2010, 04:31 PM
jonrpick Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 171
linuxfedorafirefox
Need a little guidance with fstab and "bind" option...

I just completed a fresh installation of F13 on my newly rebuilt PC. I decided to keep a separate large partition for documents, downloads, videos, music, etc... However I didn't want several smaller ones. I just created the one big one and mounted it at /mnt/Extra.

Afterward, I created folders in that partition such as "Downloads", "Music", etc... then using the "bind" option in my /etc/fstab file, I mounted those folders to the folders under my /home directory.

Follow me, so far? When I save a file in /home/pickens/Downloads the file is physically located at /mnt/Extra/Downloads. My reasoning for doing so is so that I can run multiple distros while keeping all of my files within reach. When I install Mandriva, for instance (later today, probably) the contents of /home/pickens/Downloads will be exactly the same.

So... I noticed that of the folders I've mapped over to the /home/pickens folder, there are now TWO locations appearing with the same name--one with the full path "/home/pickens/Downloads" and another that just says "Downloads". They both appear under "Places" but the latter doesn't have a folder icon--it has an icon that looks like a CDROM drive.

Here's a screenshot as an example, as well as the error I get when I click on the location:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4025/...42f7b96f_b.jpg



If I'd scrolled down further to the "Downloads" location that has the folder icon, it'll work fine.

Why do I have a redundant, non-working location?

Here's my fstab file, in case it helps...

Code:
[pickens@Galvetron ~]$ cat /etc/fstab 

#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Thu Nov  4 12:42:43 2010
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
UUID=72f69745-f850-45dc-8219-9d8d6b207220 /                       ext4    defaults        1 1
UUID=65d8c382-777f-42f8-8c68-8ac22587a944 swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
UUID=c67e5e4d-54fb-46a1-9dc4-53d33d75b629 /mnt/Extra     ext3    rw,noexec,auto,users,async        0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0

/mnt/Extra/Desktop/     /home/pickens/Desktop/   auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
/mnt/Extra/DirecTV/     /home/pickens/DirecTV/   auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
/mnt/Extra/Documents/   /home/pickens/Documents/ auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
/mnt/Extra/Downloads/   /home/pickens/Downloads/ auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
/mnt/Extra/Movies/      /home/pickens/Movies/    auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
/mnt/Extra/Music/       /home/pickens/Music/     auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
/mnt/Extra/Pictures/    /home/pickens/Pictures/  auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
/mnt/Extra/Videos/      /home/pickens/Videos/    auto    rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0
[pickens@Galvetron ~]$

Thanks!

~Jon
__________________
Desktop machine: Zotac MiniITX MB / Pentium Dual Core E2200 (Soon to be Core 2 Duo), 4GB RAM, 640GB SATA, nVidia integrated GPU. Fedora 13, adding Mandriva Powerpack and Puppy soon.

Netbook: HP Mini 311: 3GB RAM, 160GB SATA. Nvidia ION LE Graphics. XP SP3 and F13...adding Mandriva soon.

My avatar is indicative of my attitude... [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th November 2010, 04:22 AM
Mack Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central California
Posts: 109
linuxfirefox
Re: Need a little guidance with fstab and "bind" option...

I'm not an authority, but I've used "bind" a good deal for other purposes. And at least you deserve a reply.

You might try lines like

/mnt/Extra/Desktop/ /home/pickens/Desktop/ none rw,bind 0 0

rather than

/mnt/Extra/Desktop/ /home/pickens/Desktop/ auto rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0

I think you're just attaching one node in the directory tree at another, rather than mounting a files system there (hence "none" for "auto").

If this doesn't help, you could always use symlinks: Remove /home/pickens/Desktop/ and instead

ln -s /mnt/Extra/Desktop /home/pickens/Desktop

My experience is that this works just as well unless the remapped directories include relative symlinks (that is links to nodes starting "../..").

I hope this helps...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th November 2010, 06:18 PM
jonrpick Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 171
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Need a little guidance with fstab and "bind" option...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mack View Post
I'm not an authority, but I've used "bind" a good deal for other purposes. And at least you deserve a reply.

You might try lines like

/mnt/Extra/Desktop/ /home/pickens/Desktop/ none rw,bind 0 0

rather than

/mnt/Extra/Desktop/ /home/pickens/Desktop/ auto rw,noexec,auto,users,async,bind 0 0

I think you're just attaching one node in the directory tree at another, rather than mounting a files system there (hence "none" for "auto").

If this doesn't help, you could always use symlinks: Remove /home/pickens/Desktop/ and instead

ln -s /mnt/Extra/Desktop /home/pickens/Desktop

My experience is that this works just as well unless the remapped directories include relative symlinks (that is links to nodes starting "../..").

I hope this helps...
That made sense... Those "extra", non-mountable volumes had the disk icons next to them as if they were removable volumes. They were listed right along-side the other removable media types (cd/dvd, flash cards, etc...)

I this, as you suggested:

Code:
/mnt/Extra/Desktop/     /home/pickens/Desktop/   auto    rw,bind         0 0
...and the removable volumes went away, yet the folders themselves still functioned the same.

Thanks for your help...

~Jon
__________________
Desktop machine: Zotac MiniITX MB / Pentium Dual Core E2200 (Soon to be Core 2 Duo), 4GB RAM, 640GB SATA, nVidia integrated GPU. Fedora 13, adding Mandriva Powerpack and Puppy soon.

Netbook: HP Mini 311: 3GB RAM, 160GB SATA. Nvidia ION LE Graphics. XP SP3 and F13...adding Mandriva soon.

My avatar is indicative of my attitude... [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bind, fstab, guidance, option

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server startup error: "cannot find / in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab"; /etc/fstab readonly nwarner Using Fedora 4 30th August 2010 04:22 AM
ATI dual head problem (even with Option "MonitorLayout" line in Section) Jonathan_mcw Hardware & Laptops 1 10th April 2006 02:29 PM
Error:visibility arg must be one of "default", "hidden", "protected" or "internal" wangfeng Using Fedora 0 23rd May 2005 04:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:42 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Les Ulis Travel Photos on Instagram - Monrovia Travel Photos on Instagram - Bauda