Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th August 2010, 05:51 PM
chaitanyakumar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
windows_xp_2003firefox
Configuring dhcp

Dear all,

I am trying to configure dhcp server in linux 5.4 version on VMWare. DHCP is already installed in my machine but I am not able to start the service.whenever I give service dhcpd start/restart, it gives message: starting FAILED My configuration file is like this:


[root@chaitu etc]# /etc/init.d/dhcpd start
Starting dhcpd: [FAILED]

[root@chaitu etc]# vi dhcpd.conf
ddns-update-style interim;
ignore client-updates;

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {

range 192.168.1.201 192.168.1.220;

# --- default gateway
option routers 192.168.1.1;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;

option nis-domain "domain.org";
option domain-name "test.com";
option domain-name-servers 202.65.156.10;

option ipforwarding off;

default-lease-time 21600;
max-lease-time 43200;


option time-OFFset -18000; # Eastern Standard Time
# option ntp-servers 192.168.1.1;
# option netbios-name-servers 192.168.1.1;
# --- Selects point-to-point node (default is hybrid). Don't change this unless
# -- you understand Netbios very well
# option netbios-node-type 2;


# we want the nameserver to appear at a fixed address
host ns {
next-server chaitu;
hardware ethernet 00:0C:29:EFD:EA;
fixed-address 192.168.205.129;
}
}

I have searched the configuration in google. But as given in some of the sites, I have configured as above. I am confused where I am wrong in this fiile. Please help me out....................
__________________
ChaitanyaKumar G,
RedHat Certified Engineer.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th August 2010, 09:07 AM
CSchwangler Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,535
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Configuring dhcp

Quote:
host ns {
next-server chaitu;
hardware ethernet 00:0C:29:EFD:EA;
fixed-address 192.168.205.129;
}
}
Is that part correct, since you seem to have two closing brackets but I can see only one opening bracket?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th August 2010, 11:41 AM
chaitanyakumar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Re: Configuring dhcp

In line number 4, I have given an open bracket.

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {

range 192.168.1.201 192.168.1.220;

and for permanent name server column,

I have given one more bracket. So at the end there are two brackets.

If this is confusing, could you please give me the complete file with explaining each column, so that I ll reconfigure my file and let you know the status.
__________________
ChaitanyaKumar G,
RedHat Certified Engineer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th August 2010, 12:38 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,515
linuxopera
Re: Configuring dhcp

There should be a command dhcpd -t that will test the configuration file. It will often give the line which contains an error. (Often, it's a missed semi-colon somewhere.)

See if that gives any hint.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th August 2010, 09:47 AM
chaitanyakumar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
windows_xp_2003ie
Re: Configuring dhcp

Hi dude, thank you very much for the update. Could you please give me the detailed explanation of the file. so that I can edit the whole thing again if needed..
__________________
ChaitanyaKumar G,
RedHat Certified Engineer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th August 2010, 03:11 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,515
linuxopera
Re: Configuring dhcp

There's a good one in the FreeBSD handbook. RedHat's documentation also probably covers it, but generally speaking, the BSD docs are clearer.

http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO...work-dhcp.html

Section 29.5.7.3 gives an explanation of the basic syntax.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th August 2010, 06:56 PM
chaitanyakumar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Configuring dhcp

Thanks dude, this is what I want. I will check it and let you know if any further help is needed.
__________________
ChaitanyaKumar G,
RedHat Certified Engineer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configuring, dhcp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help configuring DHCP server (FC5) for multiples subnets!!! agal Servers & Networking 9 29th December 2006 07:38 AM
DHCP error: Can't bind to dhcp address larry104 Servers & Networking 3 22nd June 2005 09:21 PM


Current GMT-time: 10:19 (Tuesday, 23-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat