Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st July 2010, 09:48 PM
Cole Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 66
linuxfedorafirefox
How do I switch user in KDE?

Hi,

In FC13, when one user logs into GNOME and locks the screen, there is a "switch user" button so someone else can return to the log in screen and log in as well. But in KDE, there is only two buttons "Unlock" (for the current user) and "Cancel".

How can I get KDE to support multiple users?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st July 2010, 11:07 PM
parish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 595
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How do I switch user in KDE?

I know this doesn't really help, but I'm running kde on F13 (gnome is not even installed), and when I screenlock the switch user button is there. Are your other users already defined?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2010, 05:47 AM
gldfshkpr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 90
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How do I switch user in KDE?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole View Post
Hi,

In FC13, when one user logs into GNOME and locks the screen, there is a "switch user" button so someone else can return to the log in screen and log in as well. But in KDE, there is only two buttons "Unlock" (for the current user) and "Cancel".

How can I get KDE to support multiple users?

Thanks in advance!
From the "Application Launcher". Install it in your panel. "Switch User" is there under "Leave".
__________________
Thanks,
kb

System:
Fedora 15
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.20GHz
MemTotal: 2061820 kB
Microsoft abandoned in favour of Linux: July 1, 2008
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd July 2010, 11:46 AM
Cole Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 66
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: How do I switch user in KDE?

Thanks for the responses so far.

parish wrote:
Quote:
Are your other users already defined?
Yes, all of the other users are already defined. Some have a preference for GNOME, others for KDE.

gldfshkpr wrote:
Quote:
From the "Application Launcher". Install it in your panel. "Switch User" is there under "Leave".
Yes, that option is there, which helps if one user has logged in and another user arrives to use the computer immediately. However, my problem is when one user who uses KDE has walked away from the PC for long enough that the screensaver has kicked in (and locked the screen) or that user has hibernated the PC and another user switches the PC on to find the PC locked.

How can I allow that second user to log in without logging that first user out?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd July 2010, 11:56 AM
Cole Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 66
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: How do I switch user in KDE?

Just for clarity. I've attached a screenshot showing the locked screen when a user using KDE hibernates FC13 and the PC is switched on again. The only option is "Unlock". If GNOME was used before hiberation however, there is an additional button "Switch User".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snapshot.png
Views:	89
Size:	15.9 KB
ID:	19797  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd July 2010, 03:42 PM
gldfshkpr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: California
Posts: 90
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How do I switch user in KDE?

I see what you're saying now. Maybe the only option is to change the power management settings in KDE so the machine will not hibernate or screen lock.

Settings>System Settings>Advanced (tab)>Power Management>Edit Profiles
__________________
Thanks,
kb

System:
Fedora 15
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.20GHz
MemTotal: 2061820 kB
Microsoft abandoned in favour of Linux: July 1, 2008
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd July 2010, 04:50 PM
parish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 595
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How do I switch user in KDE?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole View Post
Just for clarity. I've attached a screenshot showing the locked screen when a user using KDE hibernates FC13 and the PC is switched on again. The only option is "Unlock". If GNOME was used before hiberation however, there is an additional button "Switch User".
That is the strangest thing; my dialog looks just like yours except that I do have the Switch User button. As I mentioned above, mine is a default kde/kdm installation and I've never installed gnome at all. I wonder if it's related to having both kdm/gdm installed...

Anyway, I have looked through the various sys, kde, and kdm config dialogs and files, and I can't find what, if anything, is controlling this. I'll keep poking around out of curiosity and if I find something I'll post back. Also, if you figure it out, please let me know how you enabled it.

Daniel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th July 2010, 10:50 AM
Cole Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 66
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How do I switch user in KDE?

It does sound like GDM and KDM are not playing nicely together but I can't find a setting anywhere to switch between them.

Quote:
Also, if you figure it out, please let me know how you enabled it.
I'm interested in getting to the bottom of this too. Will post back here if I figure anything out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kde

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC9: switch user -> run app MgFrobozz Using Fedora 2 18th July 2009 11:20 PM
Switch User SFC Using Fedora 10 9th May 2009 06:59 PM
Unable to switch user Cole Using Fedora 0 30th December 2006 11:36 AM
Gnome switch user sheep Using Fedora 11 3rd November 2006 01:45 AM
KDE Switch User and FC4 Clamp Using Fedora 10 21st July 2005 12:30 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:23 (Tuesday, 16-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat