Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th March 2010, 01:22 PM
MitraMai Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 53
linuxfedorafirefox
Thumbs down Fedora 12 & alc662 surround sound

Hello
I have recently switched to F12 from Ubuntu 9.10. Everything sems to work just fine except for the surround sound on my
Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
that uses the ALC662-codec.

I get sound, but only in two channels. In Ubuntu I had to add the option: options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-6ch-dig to the /etc/modprobe/alsa-base.conf. However, that file does not exist in F12. So, I'm wondering, which is its equivalence?

In /etc/pulse/pulse.conf I have changed to 6 channels.

Some help would be really appreciated.

---------- Post added at 01:22 PM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 11:45 AM CDT ----------

Ok, fixed it by following this:http://fedorasolved.org/Members/fenr...nd-workarounds. Instead of model I added 3stack-6ch-dig.

Then reboot, open up a terminal and type in:alsamixer. Press F6, choose the intelcard, change 2 channels to 6 channels. Exit alsamixer. Then kill pulseaudio: pulseaudio -k. Now you can choose which type of surround sound you want.

Last edited by MitraMai; 20th April 2010 at 09:19 AM. Reason: Changed the icon and unsolved the thread
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th April 2010, 09:15 AM
MitraMai Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 53
linuxfedorafirefox
Thumbs down Re: Fedora 12 & alc662 surround sound

Suddenly surround does not work anymore. I think it might have happened after the last kernel upgrade or when I installed Skype. Having added the options to /etc/modprobe.d/snd_hda_intel, set alsamixer to 6-channels, I still have only stereo, even do pulseaudio volume-gui shows all channels, and so do alsamixer. aplay --list-devices gives:
Code:
[martin@Alcor:~] aplay --list-devices
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
[martin@Alcor:~]
I have a .asoundrc that looks like this:
Code:
pcm.duplicate {
type plug
slave.pcm "surround51"
slave.channels 6
route_policy duplicate
}
Maybe I should mention that I never got the subwoofer to work correctly before either. It worked only in 4.1 surround.

Does anyone have any clue on what's going on?
__________________
Facts are meaningless. You could use facts to prove anything that's even remotely true!
-- Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alc662, hda-inte-snd, pulse

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F12 & ALC662 & Sound 5.1 NickLee Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 11 29th October 2009 08:50 PM
HOWTO: Fedora 11 - Surround Sound w/ Pulseaudio Picomp314 Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 6 24th August 2009 02:25 PM
Fedora 11 surround sound over pulse zippy-cz Using Fedora 0 10th June 2009 01:10 PM
Fedora 10 sonido 5.1 con alc662 (surround) racu Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 6 10th May 2009 04:29 AM
nForce3 Motherbourds, Fedora Core 6, and Surround Sound ReachingFarr Hardware & Laptops 0 2nd November 2006 04:02 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:11 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat