Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th February 2010, 07:41 PM
chepioq Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubagne France
Age: 60
Posts: 543
linuxfirefox
kernel panic with last kernel

To day there is an update for kernel (kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64).
When I try rebooting with this kernel I have a kernel-panic...
Have you same issue?

Here the message I see on my screen:
Quote:
Kernel panic-not syncing:VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknow-block(0,0)

Last edited by chepioq; 7th February 2010 at 08:24 PM.
  #2  
Old 7th February 2010, 09:08 PM
karo1170 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: east germany
Posts: 29
linuxfedorafirefox
Same here.

I changed the kernel-bootoption root=UUID=... to root=/dev/sd..... and it worked.


Cordialement
karo
  #3  
Old 7th February 2010, 10:23 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
linuxfedorafirefox
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by chepioq View Post
To day there is an update for kernel (kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64).
When I try rebooting with this kernel I have a kernel-panic...
Have you same issue?

Here the message I see on my screen:
My kerenel update has had an rpm error ever since grub2 got installed and created a couple of lines at the end of grub.conf. I don't know it that is the real cause but will next kerenel as I deleted those 2 lines.

Anyway, the kernel has allways installed ok exxxxxcept the today's .40.rc7

I have /dev/mapper (so no uuid or dev/sd)
The initramfs was created.

Checking the grub.conf - TA-DA
no initrd line for the new kerenl 40.rc7

copy/paste the prev kernel line and change the nembers. rebooted ok into 40.rc7.

This came from yum update and most of the time I do rpm -ivh
and coincidentally, rpm updates was updated before the kernel.

So if it works next time I will not know if it was the grub lines or the need for the old/new rpm?
Any ideas on that? Is the new rpm used during the same yum for the next packages?

Other than that just some some ibus deps missing --skip-broken

Until next time,

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
  #4  
Old 7th February 2010, 10:54 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowJet View Post
My kerenel update has had an rpm error ever since grub2 got installed and created a couple of lines at the end of grub.conf. I don't know it that is the real cause but will next kerenel as I deleted those 2 lines.

Anyway, the kernel has allways installed ok exxxxxcept the today's .40.rc7

I have /dev/mapper (so no uuid or dev/sd)
The initramfs was created.

Checking the grub.conf - TA-DA
no initrd line for the new kerenl 40.rc7

copy/paste the prev kernel line and change the nembers. rebooted ok into 40.rc7.

This came from yum update and most of the time I do rpm -ivh
and coincidentally, rpm updates was updated before the kernel.

So if it works next time I will not know if it was the grub lines or the need for the old/new rpm?
Any ideas on that? Is the new rpm used during the same yum for the next packages?

Other than that just some some ibus deps missing --skip-broken

Until next time,

SJ

I had the same error, did you get a grubby update today?


Code:
[root@localhost leigh]# cat /var/log/yum.log |grep grubby
Feb 06 16:59:30 Updated: grubby-7.0.10-1.fc13.x86_64
[root@localhost leigh]# cat /var/log/yum.log |grep kernel
Jan 09 08:39:02 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.32.2-18.fc13.x86_64
Jan 09 09:12:10 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.32.2-18.fc13.x86_64
Jan 09 09:14:18 Installed: kernel-2.6.32.2-18.fc13.x86_64
Jan 09 09:19:18 Erased: kernel-firmware
Jan 17 11:05:02 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.32.3-21.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 11:10:46 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.32.3-21.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 11:12:28 Installed: kernel-2.6.32.3-21.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 14:16:14 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.14.rc4.git3.fc13.x86_64
Jan 17 14:16:17 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.14.rc4.git3.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 12:20:40 Updated: abrt-addon-kerneloops-1.0.4-1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 13:40:11 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.20.rc5.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 13:40:15 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.20.rc5.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 23 13:41:53 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.20.rc5.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 27 20:43:58 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.23.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 27 20:44:06 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.23.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 27 20:46:43 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.23.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 28 20:33:11 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.24.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 28 20:33:15 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.24.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 28 20:34:58 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.24.rc5.git1.fc13.x86_64
Jan 30 05:37:53 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.25.rc6.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 30 05:37:59 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.25.rc6.git0.fc13.x86_64
Jan 30 05:39:45 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.25.rc6.git0.fc13.x86_64
Feb 02 13:19:05 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 02 13:20:05 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 02 13:21:55 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:45:20 Updated: abrt-addon-kerneloops-1.0.6-1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:47:30 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:50:43 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 05 11:52:36 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.x86_64
Feb 07 11:25:34 Updated: kernel-headers-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64
Feb 07 11:26:09 Installed: kernel-devel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64
Feb 07 11:26:28 Installed: kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64
[root@localhost leigh]#
  #5  
Old 7th February 2010, 10:59 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
linuxfedorafirefox
NO I did not, I have
grubby-7.0.10-1 thogh
and that is the current one from the 5th.


Does a new rpm package get used right away by yum?

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
  #6  
Old 7th February 2010, 11:05 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowJet View Post
NO I did not, I have
grubby-7.0.10-1 thogh
and that is the current one from the 5th.


Does a new rpm package get used right away by yum?

SJ

It depends where you point your rawhide repo to , it normally takes about a day.
  #7  
Old 7th February 2010, 11:12 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
linuxfedorafirefox
lol, I only have one rahide.repo,
I meant during the yum process when an new rpm package is updated before the kernel, for example, does yum use the new rpm version for the kernel package or continue using the old rpm version.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
  #8  
Old 7th February 2010, 11:16 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowJet View Post
NO I did not, I have
grubby-7.0.10-1 thogh
and that is the current one from the 5th.


Does a new rpm package get used right away by yum?

SJ

Ok, I have found the relevant Br:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=562514
  #9  
Old 7th February 2010, 11:18 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowJet View Post
lol, I only have one rahide.repo,
I meant during the yum process when an new rpm package is updated before the kernel, for example, does yum use the new rpm version for the kernel package or continue using the old rpm version.

SJ
I believe it uses the new rpm.
  #10  
Old 8th February 2010, 12:12 AM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
linuxfedorafirefox
Thank you,

SJ

---------- Post added at 03:12 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 02:25 PM CST ----------

I updated to the new e2fsprogs and got another %post error so something is buggy with rpm or ?
idconfg error 1

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
  #11  
Old 8th February 2010, 05:56 AM
chepioq Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubagne France
Age: 60
Posts: 543
linuxfirefox
I have the grubby-7.0.10-1.fc13.x86_64 installed and the initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.img is in my /boot.
I replace in my grub.conf root=UUID=... to root=/dev/sd and that work.

==EDIT==
with root=/dev/sd... plymouth don't work...

Last edited by chepioq; 8th February 2010 at 07:26 AM.
  #12  
Old 8th February 2010, 12:29 PM
STEVE555 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 104
linuxfedorafirefox
Hi guys,
I've just ran a yum update this morning and I got the latest kernel as well.
I also got the same kernel panic message as well,but I still have ordinary grub 1.

I've tried to see root=UUID in my grub.conf,but I can't se it anywhere in there.
I'll attach my grub.conf for you guys to have a look,or have a suggestion to my problem.

Regards,
STEVE555
Attached Files
File Type: conf grub.conf (1.6 KB, 151 views)
  #13  
Old 8th February 2010, 12:36 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by STEVE555 View Post
Hi guys,
I've just ran a yum update this morning and I got the latest kernel as well.
I also got the same kernel panic message as well,but I still have ordinary grub 1.

I've tried to see root=UUID in my grub.conf,but I can't se it anywhere in there.
I'll attach my grub.conf for you guys to have a look,or have a suggestion to my problem.

Regards,
STEVE555
Add the missing red line.

Code:

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd0,1)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=15
splashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.i686)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
        initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.i686)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
        initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.27.rc6.git1.fc13.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.i686)
        root (hd0,1)
        kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.i686 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
        initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.26.rc6.git1.fc13.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.31-rc8)
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.31-rc8 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_mernivia-lv_root rhgb quiet LANG=en_US.UTF-8 SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=uk rd_plytheme=charge
    initrd /initrd-2.6.31-rc8.img
title Other
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
  #14  
Old 8th February 2010, 12:42 PM
STEVE555 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 104
linuxfedorafirefox
Hi Leigh123linux,
I'm sorry about that,I couldn't see where it was missing.I've added the missing line.
thanks for that.

Regards,
STEVE555
  #15  
Old 10th February 2010, 08:51 AM
chepioq Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubagne France
Age: 60
Posts: 543
linuxfirefox
Hi
After the update off grubby two days ago, I do a test:
I remove kernel-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13 and re-install it, and after I have no problem with the grub.conf root=UUID=....
Just one problem:
In my grub.conf I have this line:
Code:
initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.img
and with this line kernel don't boot...
I replace by:
Code:
initrd /initramfs-2.6.33-0.40.rc7.git0.fc13.x86_64.img
and that work
 

Tags
kernel, panic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kernel panic with kernel 2.6.20-1.2925.fc6 - cannot detect SATA drives paulez Using Fedora 0 15th March 2007 07:02 PM
Updated Kernel Causing Kernel Panic - Image Provided arpsmack Using Fedora 7 3rd September 2006 02:31 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:16 (Sunday, 21-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Iglesia san Laureano Instagram Photos - Canon Australia Photos - Lasagna House - Piat, Cagayan Valley Instagram Photos