Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th September 2009, 02:01 PM
art.gibbens Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Posts: 19
linuxcentosfirefox
Creating initial device nodes

Hi all,

(originally posted in the General Help Forum)

I'm putting a server together and have run into a boot up problem. (I thought about putting this in the server forum, but it might be a more generic problem that others have seen and know how to rectify.) The install seems to have gone just fine. I have the /boot partition on an internal IDE drive. The rest of that drive and another are mirrored in a Raid0 configuration (using the Linux software to do that) for data storage. The swap partition is a part of the Raid5 SCSI array that also has the / (root) partition on it.

After installation it would not finish the booting process. I suspected that GRUB didn't like all the Raid arrays and such, but it seems to be fine. I can say that because the machine will boot into rescue mode with the GUI splash screen and I have access to the whole directory tree.

I have already searched on-line and following prudent advice, ran the yum update while in the chroot /mnt/sysimage mode. That only took overnight to download and most of this morning to complete. Still no dice. Used vim to delete the rhgb quiet commands in the grub.conf file so I could see where the kernel seems to be hanging.

So right after the "Creating initial device nodes" is a line about my generic PS2 wheel mouse. So I tried a USB mouse. Got more output so tried swapping out to a USB keyboard. Got a little further with more information about input devices, but still stops. Also, I tried a PCI video card just to make sure the onboard video wasn't the problem - no change.

So, if someone in the Fedora community knows what loads up or is configured right after the mouse and keyboard, I might be able to figure out what's causing the computer to hang during the boot process. Or if there is something else I need to do, please let me know.

Thanx for listening,
  #2  
Old 16th September 2009, 03:02 PM
fpmurphy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: /dev/ph
Posts: 313
windows_vistafirefox
Suggest you try rebuilding your initrd image. Use mkinitrd to do that.
  #3  
Old 16th September 2009, 05:45 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
linuxfedorafirefox
Thread Closed. Please read the Forum Guidelines on Cross-Posting (double-posting) http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=229906

If you are still having problems, go back to the original thread and post additional information that YOU have tried.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Closed Thread

Tags
creating, device, initial, nodes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating initial device nodes art.gibbens Using Fedora 17 5th October 2009 02:20 AM
Creating initial device nodes art.gibbens Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 16th September 2009 01:59 PM
Monitoring Device Nodes mndar Linux Chat 0 3rd June 2009 09:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:26 (Thursday, 17-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin Copyright 2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat