Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th August 2004, 09:33 PM
treedstang Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Post Fedora2 X configuration

I have a Dell Optiplex GX150 with a intel integrated I845 video card and Fedora2 won't load
X. what command line tool can I use to make X work with this video card?


Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th August 2004, 10:30 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,958
What does your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file say about the driver for your card? I think it should say something liike "i810"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th August 2004, 11:48 PM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Run
Code:
/usr/sbin/setup
as root and select X Configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th August 2004, 12:26 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
or you can become root and type: gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf than copy and paste here in the forum
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th August 2004, 12:30 PM
treedstang Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Ok here is my xorg.conf file>>>

# XFree86 4 configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.

RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"

# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"

# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "AOC"
DisplaySize 360 270
HorizSync 30.0 - 95.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "i810"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "Intel 845"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th August 2004, 12:57 PM
treedstang Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Just wanted to let you guy know I got it working..

I had to go into the bios and change the video memory setting from 1mb to 8mb since the
config file was trying to load 24bit color

Hopefully this can help someone else with the same problem

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th August 2004, 02:47 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,958
I curious what that BIOS setting was called. There is usually one called "aperture size", was that it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th August 2004, 03:03 PM
treedstang Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
No the setting was called "On board Video Buffer"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th November 2004, 11:14 AM
youtie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
I am trying to install FC3, but having X window problem. I could not find where I can change the BIOS setting as there is no such item called "On Board Video Buffer".

If I set the color depth in xorg.conf to 8 it can display X window with horrible colors, but if I set color depth to 16 or higher (24), the screen just goes black and machines hangs.

I can install other distros on this machine without any problem. Why cannot FC3 recognise this machine's video card properly?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th November 2004, 11:28 AM
zAo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by youtie
I am trying to install FC3, but having X window problem. I could not find where I can change the BIOS setting as there is no such item called "On Board Video Buffer".

If I set the color depth in xorg.conf to 8 it can display X window with horrible colors, but if I set color depth to 16 or higher (24), the screen just goes black and machines hangs.

I can install other distros on this machine without any problem. Why cannot FC3 recognise this machine's video card properly?
Well, probably it does reconise your card, but I think your mem-size is to small. That's the reason that 8bit X will start and 16+ bit will not.

Use google to find out how you can change the memorysetting in your bios.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configuration, fedora2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update KDE for FEDORA2 kernelvn Using Fedora 1 9th October 2004 04:32 AM
3crwe62092a on fedora2 bzimage Hardware & Laptops 2 9th October 2004 01:18 AM
Nvu 0.3 for Fedora2 marian Links 8 2nd July 2004 10:24 PM
Fedora2 ??? FC1 much better Igoraus EOL (End Of Life) Versions 5 24th June 2004 04:56 AM
.iso Fedora2 arnenilsson Using Fedora 2 25th May 2004 06:01 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:00 (Wednesday, 27-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat