Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th October 2004, 04:06 PM
sakthi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 113
Making common partition in WinXP and FC2

My laptop has dual boot WinXP and FC2. I want a partition that is D: (under WinXP) to be a partition taht is accessible to FC2 also. But the problem was I formatted that as a NTFS one and so Linux did not recognize that. So after installation I tried formatting that partition in WinXP as a VFAT. How can I make this aprtition accessible in Linux also. Can you guys help me out? Can I do it without reinstallation and all??

Your help is sincerely appreciated
sakthi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th October 2004, 04:28 PM
Paloseco Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nothwest of Spain
Age: 29
Posts: 26
recompile the kernel with ntfs read support (and write too if you want but i wouldn´t do that isn´t 100% secure for now)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th October 2004, 04:34 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
VFAT (aka FAT32) should be mountable by Linux. That is the preferred way if you need to share files between the two. If you just want to read the NTFS (WinXP) portions, then you can either do as Paloseco suggests and build the NTFS drivers yourself or use an RPM from http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net for read-only operations. The third option is to compile the NTFS drivers for read/write, but that's is (again as Paloseco says) high-risk.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:

Last edited by crackers; 16th October 2004 at 04:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th October 2004, 06:36 PM
sakthi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 113
I formatted the D: in VFAT and tried mounting in linux. But the message says error in mounting there si no such partition. I did in /etc/fstab. Can you tell me how to make it mount in linux. As I want it to be R/W I would prefer it to be VFAT as u said it is very risly to ahve writing option in NTFS.

Thank you in advance
sakthi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th October 2004, 07:30 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
What did you put in /etc/fstab to mount it? What does your partition table look like?
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th October 2004, 10:43 PM
sakthi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 113
My parition looks like this

1) primary partition for dell - 2MB - hda1 - vfat
2) primary partition C: - 10GB - hda2 (winXP) - NTFS
3) primary partition / - 300MB - hda3 (FC2) - ext3
4) Extended
/swap - 600MB - FC2
/D: - 5GB - NTFS (now formatted with VFAT)
/home - 5GB - ext3 (FC2)
/usr - 7GB - ext3 (FC2)
Now I want the /D: partition to be accessible from linux also.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th October 2004, 10:51 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
I don't think /D: is a valid partition label in Linux (that ":" on the end). In your fstab, try using /dev/hdax (where x is the partition number) instead of the label and see if that allows you to mount it.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th October 2004, 12:08 PM
sakthi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 113
Actually I forgot what label I gave for that partition. Is there any possibility of findingout the label name. If there si no label name, how to mount it in the linux /etc/fstab file?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th October 2004, 04:14 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
You use the device/partition to mount it. This is an example for your root partition:
Code:
/dev/hda3   /    ext3 defaults   1 1
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th October 2004, 05:48 PM
sakthi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 113
OK i can put /dev/hda6 (mine is the sixth partition) in place of the partition what should I put in place of the label or the name it was mounted on when we partitioned. May be I did not mount in any name when i partitioned. What shall I do now?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th October 2004, 10:24 PM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
Create a mount directory (/mnt/windows) and mount it there.
__________________
Linux User #28251 (April '93)
Professional Java Geek :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18th October 2004, 12:44 AM
sakthi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 113
Thanks. I got it!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
common, fc2, making, partition, winxp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
use a common /boot partition for 2 installations? owlpen Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 21st December 2006 08:05 AM
making Linux appear as WinXP??? red-bear Security and Privacy 7 11th April 2006 10:26 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:14 (Thursday, 21-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat