Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th November 2008, 06:25 AM
inoculos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
adding distros to grub on multiple hds[SOLVED}

hello all,, I am new to fedora, and have one year with ubuntu. I have 2 hds, one with ubuntu and xp on it,, another with my fedora install. I added Fedora to my ubuntu grub and it loads fine. I am told that fedora updates so often that it is better to let fedora's grub be in charge. During install I must have told it not to include my Windows and ubuntu options, because my menu.lst did not anything else listed.

Code:
cat menu.lst.bkup
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd0,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sdb
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.26.6-79.fc9.i686)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.26.6-79.fc9.i686 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.26.6-79.fc9.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.26.5-45.fc9.i686)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.26.5-45.fc9.i686 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.26.5-45.fc9.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.25-14.fc9.i686)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686 ro root=UUID=a514abb0-f75e-4a58-8770-41c1685671da rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686.img
title Other
	rootnoverify (hd1,0)
	chainloader +1
I modified it as follows

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
#          root (hd0,0)
#          kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
#          initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sdb
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.26.6-79.fc9.i686)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.26.6-79.fc9.i686 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.26.6-79.fc9.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.26.5-45.fc9.i686)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.26.5-45.fc9.i686 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.26.5-45.fc9.i686.img
title Fedora (2.6.25-14.fc9.i686)
	root (hd0,0)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686 ro root=UUID=a514abb0-f75e-4a58-8770-41c1685671da rhgb quiet
	initrd /initrd-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686.img
title  Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-21-generic
	root (hd1,1)
	kernal /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-21-generic root=UUID=bcff3fcd-a60d-4931-ab38-00802d3ada03 ro quiet splash 
	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-21-generic
	quiet
#changed from (hd0,1) since I will be changing hd assingment in bios
title Other

#Windows 
title	Microsoft Windows XP Professional
root    (hd1,0)
savedefault
makeactive

	rootnoverify (hd1,0)
	chainloader +1

since I fedora is loaded on my second hard drive, but is listed as first hd first partition in grub/menu.lst I changed my ubuntu and windows to (hda1,0) and (hda1,1) respectively.

When I try to boot ubuntu I get error 19: Linux kernel must be loaded before initrd

when I try to boot windows it goes directly to Fedora's splash screen.

I was going to post the out put of fdisk but I get
Code:
@localhost grub]$ sudo fdisk
sudo: fdisk: command not found
Not sure what I am doing wrong....

Last edited by inoculos; 13th November 2008 at 03:40 AM. Reason: [SOLVED]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th November 2008, 06:49 AM
marko Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,097
[QUOTE=inoculos;1108982]
Code:
.............
title  Ubuntu 8.04.1, kernel 2.6.24-21-generic
	root (hd1,1)
	kernal /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-21-generic root=UUID=bcff3fcd-a60d-4931-ab38-00802d3ada03 ro quiet splash 
	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-21-generic
	quiet
...............
Was that just a typo here or did you really misspell "kernel" as "kernal" (see red)
in the grub.conf ? I bet if the latter, fixing that will solve the ubuntu problem

Quote:
I was going to post the out put of fdisk but I get
Code:
@localhost grub]$ sudo fdisk
sudo: fdisk: command not found
Not sure what I am doing wrong....
This was just a path problem, try sudo /sbin/fdisk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th November 2008, 07:13 PM
inoculos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
face palm


good catch lol

so ubuntu boots,, but not windows. It just displays what is in the grub.conf under other
Code:
#Windows 
title	Microsoft Windows XP Professional
root    (hd1,0)
savedefault
makeactive

	rootnoverify (hd1,0)
	chainloader +1
and says it is booting windows, but nothing happens. Anyone know how to get my windows partition to boot?

Last edited by inoculos; 11th November 2008 at 07:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th November 2008, 07:30 PM
inoculos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
bump, still need help getting my xp partition to boot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th November 2008, 09:33 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by inoculos
Code:
#Windows 
title	Microsoft Windows XP Professional
root    (hd1,0)
savedefault
makeactive

	rootnoverify (hd1,0)
	chainloader +1

Hello inoculos,

Any time you see the Windows system on a non-first drive in grub.conf, you should use the map GRUB menu command (see map in the GRUB manual). Try the Windows section like this...
Code:
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
chainloader +1
The root command was not necessary. The rootnoverify command does the same thing as the root command but without GRUB trying to mount the partition. The root command actually will work with Windows, but there is no use making GRUB try to mount a partition that it cannot mount. And there is certainly no reason to use both of them. See root and rootnoverify in the GRUB manual. The makeactive command is not needed by modern Windows systems (see Note 6 regarding makeactive in the GRUB manual). The savedefault command does no harm, but for it to have any meaning you must set the default command to "saved" (see savedefault in the GRUB manual). That can actually be kind of a neat thing. It makes the last choice made from the menu the new default.

P.S.: The grub.conf is extremely syntax sensitive even regarding things like spaces. It has to be perfect if you want it to work.

Last edited by stoat; 13th November 2008 at 01:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th November 2008, 12:30 AM
inoculos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
worked great! thanks guys!

U had just copied my windows entry from my ubuntu grub, weird that its so different.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adding, distros, grub, hds, multiple

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple distros phe Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 7th May 2009 10:02 PM
Fedora, grub, multiple distros & drives pedora Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 17 26th June 2008 12:07 AM
multiple live distros on one dvd? Wiles Using Fedora 0 20th December 2006 07:46 PM
Multiple distros, location of the /boot partition and kernel updates Jongi Using Fedora 13 19th October 2006 09:55 AM
Multiple distros using Grub from Fedora cabber Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 30th March 2006 05:01 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:14 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Valsad Photos - Stung Treng Photos on Instagram - Pathalgaon Travel Photos on Instagram