Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th May 2004, 02:18 AM
pvtpilot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Age: 52
Posts: 18
Remote Desktop

I'm running Fedora Core 1 with an AMD Athlon XP 2400 CPU with 256 MB RAM with an NVIDIA Chipset.

Does a module exist for Fedora to connect remotely to a MS Terminal Server comparable to what XP has with Remote Desktop?

The reason I ask is the hospital I'm setting up this pc at will allow us Internet Access via WIFI only. PCAnywhere is no go since they won't open ports 5631/5632.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:34 AM
crackers Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 57
Posts: 3,423
Oh, certainly - it's called (ready for this?) "rdesktop." Available at your favorite apt/yum repository, or by direct download at http://www.rdesktop.org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th May 2004, 12:48 PM
pvtpilot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Age: 52
Posts: 18
Fantastic!!! Thx so much. One thing though, how do you uncompress these files that end with the tar.gz? Is there a GUI interface rather than going to the root and utilizing linux commands?

Again, thx so much
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th May 2004, 12:53 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
Quote:
Originally posted by pvtpilot
One thing though, how do you uncompress these files that end with the tar.gz? Is there a GUI interface rather than going to the root and utilizing linux commands?

Again, thx so much
tar -xzvf filename
in the console
or file-roller as gui.
And you needn't to be root to extract files.
(A little tip, use http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~squadron/ it is very good. )
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th May 2004, 02:23 PM
fjleal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portugal, Europe
Age: 44
Posts: 519
If you install tsclient, you'll have a nice graphical shell for setting rdesktop options, saving profiles for rdesktop, and launching rdesktop using a selected profile without using the CLI. Give it a try!
__________________
"I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
-- Vance Petree, Virginia Power
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:20 PM
pvtpilot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Age: 52
Posts: 18
I've opened up rdesktop with file roller gui....thx. Now, how do I install it?

I tried the commands from the readme file at the console screen, but didn't work (i.e. % configure [options], % make and % make install).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:22 PM
pvtpilot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Age: 52
Posts: 18
Regarding tsclient, where do I find this and then go about installing it to use with rdesktop?

thx for the info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:28 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
you can find tsclient here: yum - http://redhat.secsup.org/fedora/core/1/i386/os/
found here :
http://www.fedoratracker.org/tracker...&package.arch=!src&actionID=9802&iteration=2
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:45 PM
pvtpilot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Age: 52
Posts: 18
Thx for pointing me in the right direction for tsclient. Regarding rdesktop ......

I've opened up rdesktop with file roller gui....thx. Now, how do I install it?

I tried the commands from the readme file at the console screen, but didn't work (i.e. % configure [options], % make and % make install).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:49 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
You can install rdesktop with yum. There are even two repos : http://www.fedoratracker.org/tracker...&package.arch=!src&actionID=9828&iteration=2
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:53 PM
Thoreau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age: 31
Posts: 410
Code:
 tar -zvxf rdesktop
Code:
 cd rdesktop
Code:
 ./configure
you might run into a dep error it may want XFree86-devel package i am doing it right now, and that's what i ran into. It may be easier to
Code:
 yum install rdesktop
__________________
Things do not change; we change.
HDT

"Do I understand your question, man, is it hopeless and forlorn?" Bob Dylan

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.
-- The Friends of Voltaire, 1906

My NcpMount script for Netware servers
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=544473&postcount=8
Thanks to: Brunson & Ibbo

Last edited by Thoreau; 12th May 2004 at 03:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12th May 2004, 03:55 PM
ilja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Euregio
Posts: 3,613
Quote:
Originally posted by Thoreau
...
and all this things in console
__________________
--
http://twitter.com/ik12
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th May 2004, 04:14 PM
Thoreau Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Age: 31
Posts: 410
yeah after you get the dep sovled, it'll tell you what to do next. Remember i'm just know how to install it, not actually work it
__________________
Things do not change; we change.
HDT

"Do I understand your question, man, is it hopeless and forlorn?" Bob Dylan

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.
-- The Friends of Voltaire, 1906

My NcpMount script for Netware servers
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showpost.php?p=544473&postcount=8
Thanks to: Brunson & Ibbo
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th May 2004, 05:18 PM
fjleal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portugal, Europe
Age: 44
Posts: 519
Both rdesktop and tsclient are int the FC1 cds. Check the RPMS folders. Then just "rpm -Uvh ..." 'em.
__________________
"I'd crawl over an acre of 'Visual This++' and 'Integrated Development That' to get to gcc, Emacs, and gdb. Thank you."
-- Vance Petree, Virginia Power
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th May 2004, 05:46 PM
pvtpilot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Age: 52
Posts: 18
Thx fjleal!

Thoreau.....when I try ./configure at console from rdesktop folder I get: "ERROR: Could not find a C computer. You probably want to install gcc". I current with my updates.

After the above, I then tried "yum install rdesktop" and got the following: "Gathering header information file(s) from server
Server: Fedora Core 1 - i386 - Base
ERROR: - /var/cache/yum/base/header.info cannot be found. Please ask your sys admin to update the headers on this system"

If I'm up to date on my updates, then what's the above mean?
I really appreciate all the help from everyone. Thx again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, remote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Desktop Help! jamelb Using Fedora 3 14th October 2009 03:50 PM
How do I remote connect to my Linux Desktop from a remote computer? wonderweirdo Using Fedora 6 12th April 2009 05:27 AM
Remote desktop pactpc40 Using Fedora 8 16th September 2007 07:41 PM
Remote Desktop x2p Using Fedora 5 17th September 2004 11:14 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:58 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Dimona Travel Photos on Instagram - Aplahoue Photos on Instagram - Ishikawa Photos on Instagram