Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd May 2004, 01:54 PM
ZeroVerteX Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alabama, USA
Age: 33
Posts: 19
Question Synaptics Touchpad on Dell Laptop Tap to click not working in FC2

In FC1 I could tap the touchpad to click. I've loaded a fresh install of FC2 on it and I have to use the buttons to click. I can't tap to click anymore. It's just a minor annoyance, but if anyone could help I would greatly appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd May 2004, 02:16 PM
Steve++ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Ah! Just the problem I finally fixed yesterday. And I'm a complete noob. Open /boot/grub/grub.conf in your favourite text editor, find a line that starts with kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358, and add psmouse.proto=imps to the end.

This is one workaround. The other involves fixing the kernel. Something to do with evdev - i don't know what that is... Some guy said using the above method made his mouse pointer movement choppy and the kernel patching method made it work smoothly and flawlessly. But to be honest, I can't say I've noticed any real choppiness.

Let me know how you go.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd May 2004, 02:36 PM
ZeroVerteX Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alabama, USA
Age: 33
Posts: 19
Steve++ is the man! That worked great! Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd May 2004, 03:08 PM
micha Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Age: 36
Posts: 533
That's weird, I got a Dell Inspiron 8600 and FC2, and the tap-to-click feature works out of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd May 2004, 04:34 PM
Steve++ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Yeah, weird indeed. Perhaps taps are converted to clicks in hardware by defaut. Who knows... All I know is that this is a kernel 2.6 thing. When I installed RH9 the other day, tap-click worked fine. Like FC1, that also has kernel 2.4.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th May 2004, 07:43 PM
sancho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
This parameter did indeed work for me as well and did duplicate the behavior of FC1 on my laptop.

I can, however, attest to increased choppiness with this parameter. To me, it is quite noticable, but luckily not bad enough to render it unusable (I guess I got used to it with FC1 as it was choppy by default).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th May 2004, 01:48 AM
quinquen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Age: 46
Posts: 5
same on compaq presario notebook

thanks for your post, I hope to solve the same problem, but on a compaq presario laptop.

see ya
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th May 2004, 06:29 PM
luibh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: the Tennessee Valley
Age: 35
Posts: 63
same on hp pavilion

work with hp pavilion ze4420
__________________
registered linux user #362605
registered linux machine #286504
brainbench certified linux administration (general)
jordanmarshall.org
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th July 2004, 03:55 PM
oddworld14 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Is there any way to turn it off? My laptop is a dell 8600 and it worked out of the box... but one thing, I dont want it lol. I hate it, i dont use the touchpad and when i type it clicks somewhere from me resting my wrists. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th September 2004, 10:08 PM
debi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Thumbs up

Thanx for the tip!! I received a new dell inspiron 1150, installed fedora (k12ltsp) and the once working touchpad didn't work... until a google search led me here. Thanx again.

:o)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
click, dell, fc2, laptop, synaptics, tap, touchpad, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Synaptics Touchpad Not Working thaceres Hardware & Laptops 2 27th December 2007 03:41 AM
How to disable 'touch-to-click' for Synaptics TouchPad leonard Hardware & Laptops 3 27th February 2006 04:53 PM
[FC3] synaptics touchpad not working julianmayer@mac Hardware & Laptops 6 30th November 2004 03:53 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:53 (Tuesday, 16-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat