Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th August 2008, 04:50 PM
IloChab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Milan - Italy - Europe
Posts: 28
No internet conn. on Fedora 9 via UMTS modem

On Fedora 8 everything worked fine.

I connected to the internet using my UMTS phone running wvdial with this configuration:
[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Init1 = ATZ
;Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init2 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","naviga.tre.it",,0,0
Modem Type = USB Modem
ISDN = 0
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Baud = 460800
Carrier Check = no
Phone = *99#
Username = 'a'
Password = ''

On Fedora 9 I did the same:
I can get the connection to my ISP up, but I can't access the internet.

I run wvdial and I get:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","naviga.tre.it",,0,0
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","naviga.tre.it",,0,0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
CONNECT
~[7f]}#@!}!}!} }9}#}%B#}%}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}& }^Q}%L5~
--> Carrier detected. Waiting for prompt.
~[7f]}#@!}!}"} }9}#}%B#}%}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}& }^Q}% X~
--> PPP negotiation detected.
--> Starting pppd at Mon Aug 4 17:29:21 2008
--> Pid of pppd: 11627
--> Using interface ppp0
--> pppd: 8
--> pppd: 8
--> pppd: 8
--> pppd: 8
--> pppd: 8
--> pppd: 8
--> local IP address 10.110.131.215
--> pppd: 8
--> remote IP address 10.64.64.64
--> pppd: 8
--> primary DNS address 62.13.171.1
--> pppd: 8
--> secondary DNS address 62.13.171.2
--> pppd: 8

I can see traffic on the link (for example with etherape or via my ISP's counters).

If I run ifconfig I get:

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:20154 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:20154 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1907166 (1.8 MiB) TX bytes:1907166 (1.8 MiB)

ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:10.110.131.215 P-t-P:10.64.64.64 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:58 (58.0 b) TX bytes:110 (110.0 b)


I can't surf the net, no address can be reached, even numeric ones (not resolved via dns).

I can't traceroute or ping any address (neither symbolic neither numeric).

The big difference that I can see between F9 and F8 is that on F8 I hadn't NetworkManger's service turned on, but I tryed to switch it off on F9 too and anything changed.

I tried to turn off my firewall too (...just in case) but anything changed.

So MY QUESTIONs are:

why I can't get a working internet connection even if I'm really linked and communicating with my ISP?

If it's not a dns or firewall problem, what else could be?

What other checks could I do on this problem?

[of course my phone is working and if I reboot my old F8 it surfs too]


Any help will be appreciated!
Ciao
Licia
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th August 2008, 09:01 AM
IloChab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Milan - Italy - Europe
Posts: 28
Solved

I solved my problem.

I checked the content of resolv.conf and I saw that evenif wvdial traced the acquisition of new dns

[
--> primary DNS address 62.13.171.1
--> pppd: 8
--> secondary DNS address 62.13.171.2
]

it didn't store them into resolv.conf, but it remained with my old ones.

I think that for some reason my mobile's ISP pretends that I use its DNSs because changing by hand resolv.conf's content I got every thing to work.

Turning off NetworkManager's service and turning on network's service I got this change on resolv.conf automatic again (how it was on my old F8).
Yesterday I made it wrong because I just turned off NetworkManager without turning on network's service.

Even if I did not receive any explicit help from the group I have to thank you anyway because the tip's absence let me know that there weren't obvious further checks to do and that the answer lied in some subtle detail.

Ciao, ciao
Licia
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
conn, fedora, internet, modem, umts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I connect to Internet Through USB Modem in Fedora 9 ajithkumarsl Hardware & Laptops 1 5th September 2008 08:11 PM
Strange UMTS modem lockups billlagr Servers & Networking 1 30th April 2008 08:55 PM
Nokia n73 with umts -> bluetooth -> laptop -> internet. how? chriske21 Servers & Networking 0 3rd January 2008 07:51 PM
How to - 3G/UMTS/HSDPA (Vodafone) on Fedora 7 thisisme Hardware & Laptops 4 21st June 2007 06:45 PM
Fedora --> Router --> Modem -- > Internet Problems ben_leah Servers & Networking 10 31st August 2004 02:41 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:19 (Saturday, 23-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat