Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th July 2008, 04:08 AM
Hellfish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Is it possible to clone F9 to other computers with similar hardware?

Hi, i'm just wondering if theres a possibility of cloning fedora 9 from one hard drive of a computer to another (like ghost in windows)? The other computers I want to clone (i.e I've got a batch of about 20 I want to convert to fedora 9) have similar hardware profiles to the one that is currently running fedora 9.

As a test, I tried placing the hard drive into the machine with the similar profile only to find it wants me to log on with my root password in order to go through the command prompts at the root level. From there, once i logged on all i got was a screen similar to this (not exactly certain about the prompt but looks similar) - [local.host]#

Can anyone suggest ways in which i may be able to go about cloning onto the hard drives of each computer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th July 2008, 06:44 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Why are you asking the same darn question? dd is your answer in your other thread.
Ok dd, may look messy.
Since you are going to run this same thing 20 times. Goggle for "Fedora kickstart"
http://www.linuxdevcenter.com/pub/a/...kickstart.html

That kickstart is a timesaver.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th July 2008, 07:54 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
Hi ill give you another good tip that shoud help you
to make a kickstartfile of your current configuration
Quote:
/usr/bin/system-config-kickstart --generate currentsystem.cfg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th July 2008, 08:09 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
There it is, more info on kickstart.
http://docs.fedoraproject.org/instal...tallation.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th July 2008, 09:59 AM
Hellfish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks! Kickstart looks like the best option I've got.

Sorry for posting the same thread twice. I've found through using some forums in the past that it sometimes helps to post a diverse question into the relevant sections as it gives the question better exposure to different opinions depending on the section.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clone, computers, hardware, similar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to clone a HDD with Fredora 9 onto another computer with similar H/W? Hellfish Hardware & Laptops 3 4th July 2008 08:31 AM
rbash or similar? hiberphoptik Using Fedora 1 3rd March 2008 12:34 AM
Two Kernels with Similar Name jimc52 Using Fedora 2 25th April 2007 06:14 PM
Something similar to Via Voice? Trek1701 Using Fedora 3 16th February 2006 03:23 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:24 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat