Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st March 2006, 02:34 PM
kloy1334 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
FC5 sound broken

I have posted another topic about this but there was no reply.
I am trying to fix my sound problem as it is not working.
First, I reinstalled the alsa-lib
Second, I installed VIA's AC97 82xx drivers (source rpm)
Third, I ran my modinfo soundcore and it came up fine.
And then finally, I look ed at my modprobe.conf and it shows this:

alias eth0 via-rhine
alias scsi_hostadapter sata_via
##del alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx
##del options snd-card-0 index=0
##del options snd-via82xx index=0
##del remove snd-via82xx { /usr/sbin/alsactl store 0 >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-via82xx
alias sound-slot-0 viaudiocombo

I did not manually change anything in the modprobe.conf file, so is there anything I need to do to make my sound work again?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st March 2006, 02:47 PM
kloy1334 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Upon looking at /sbin/modinfo snd-via82xx, my shell returns with:
modinfo: could not find module snd-via82xx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st March 2006, 04:03 PM
red_dungeon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 179
did kudzu detected your soundcard ?

do you unmuted your mixer ?

added the "external amplifier" checkbox ?

why do you reinstalled alsa ?
__________________
LINUX - because booting is for adding hardware! :D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st March 2006, 11:24 PM
kloy1334 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
I had to reinstall 'cause I stupidly installed realtek drivers due to the low quality sound that VIA soundcards have on LInux.
But that was before I found out that they had low-quality sound problems that were fixable.

I can't load any mixer programs to unmute, not even alsamix.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd March 2006, 11:13 AM
red_dungeon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by kloy1334
I had to reinstall 'cause I stupidly installed realtek drivers due to the low quality sound that VIA soundcards have on LInux.
But that was before I found out that they had low-quality sound problems that were fixable.
I can't load any mixer programs to unmute, not even alsamix.
wh0000t ?

do you have problems out of the box or not ?
__________________
LINUX - because booting is for adding hardware! :D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd March 2006, 12:31 AM
kloy1334 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Here's more information to help you guys out if you wanted to know a bit more.

Quote:
------- System Config Soundcard --------
Tue Mar 21 16:27:26 PST 2006

------- lspci --------
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400/KT600 AGP] Host Bridge (rev 80)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI Bridge
00:0f.0 RAID bus controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (rev a1)

------- lsmod --------
Module Size Used by
ppdev 8645 0
autofs4 19013 1
hidp 15937 2
l2cap 23617 5 hidp
bluetooth 44069 2 hidp,l2cap
sunrpc 136573 1
video 14917 0
button 6609 0
battery 9285 0
ac 4933 0
ipv6 225569 14
usblp 13377 0
lp 12297 0
parport_pc 25445 1
parport 34313 3 ppdev,lp,parport_pc
floppy 57733 0
nvram 8393 0
ehci_hcd 29005 0
uhci_hcd 28881 0
via_rhine 22597 0
mii 5313 1 via_rhine
i2c_viapro 8277 0
i2c_core 20673 1 i2c_viapro
dm_snapshot 16237 0
dm_zero 2241 0
dm_mirror 19985 0
dm_mod 50521 6 dm_snapshot,dm_zero,dm_mirror
ext3 116809 2
jbd 53077 1 ext3
sata_via 8517 0
libata 54225 1 sata_via
sd_mod 16577 0
scsi_mod 125289 2 libata,sd_mod

------- /etc/modprobe.conf --------
alias eth0 via-rhine
alias scsi_hostadapter sata_via
##del alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx
##del options snd-card-0 index=0
##del options snd-via82xx index=0
##del remove snd-via82xx { /usr/sbin/alsactl store 0 >/dev/null 2>&1 || : ; }; /sbin/modprobe -r --ignore-remove snd-via82xx
alias sound-slot-0 viaudiocombo

------- /etc/asound.conf --------
#Generated by system-config-soundcard, do not edit by hand
#SWCONF
#DEV 0
defaults.pcm.card 0
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 0

------- aplay -l --------
aplay: device_list:218: no soundcards found...

------- amixer --------


------- /proc/asound/version --------


------- rpm -q alsa-lib --------
alsa-lib-1.0.11-3.rc2.2

------- rpm -q alsa-utils --------
alsa-utils-1.0.11-3.rc2

------- /proc/asound/modules --------


------- /proc/asound/pcm --------


------- system-config-soundcard --------

Wrong card index 0...
/usr/share/system-config-soundcard/soundcard.py:217: GtkWarning: gtk_label_set_label: assertion `str != NULL' failed
self.module_label2 = gtk.Label(_(self.module))
/usr/share/system-config-soundcard/soundcard.py:273: DeprecationWarning: use gtk.ComboBox
self.primarySubDeviceOptionMenu = gtk.OptionMenu()
/usr/share/system-config-soundcard/soundcard.py:308: GtkDeprecationWarning: gtk.timeout_add is deprecated, use gobject.timeout_add instead
self.timer = gtk.timeout_add (100, self.checkStatus, self)
/usr/share/system-config-soundcard/soundcard.py:548: GtkDeprecationWarning: gtk.TRUE is deprecated, use True instead
gtk.main()
ALSA lib pcm_hw.c:1313_snd_pcm_hw_open) Invalid value for card
aplay: main:533: audio open error: No such device
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd March 2006, 02:59 PM
kloy1334 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Nah, I didn't have problems OOTB, only the low-quality sound. By that, I mean, like, when you hear a song and the vocalist sounds like he/she's right on the microphone and so it's a bit muffled (if that's the right word).

Now I'm trying to put in alsa-drivers if that would help. I just need some help compiling the kernel.
On http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/releas...fc5/#sn-Kernel, I am stuck on step 8.7 as I don't know which source dir to point alsa-drivers' ./configure to.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd March 2006, 03:53 PM
red_dungeon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 179
ok. but OOTB it should be possible, that the mixer is running, nor ?

Try to mute your MIC if on...
Try to set the Amplifiers correctly...

I think this must have to something with the mixer... and not with the driver OOTB
__________________
LINUX - because booting is for adding hardware! :D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd March 2006, 11:19 PM
kloy1334 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
How would I get into the mixer program? Is it alsamix? 'cause that wouldn't load.
Should I reinstall FC5 altogether?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd March 2006, 08:42 AM
red_dungeon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 179
No... the Gnome-Mixer-Applet should do the job. You don't need the ALSA Mixer App
__________________
LINUX - because booting is for adding hardware! :D
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23rd March 2006, 01:48 PM
kloy1334 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
It says:
No volume control GStreamer plugins and/or devices found.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23rd March 2006, 02:29 PM
red_dungeon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 179
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...49#post1188149
http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showpos...9&postcount=12

hrm...

try to look in your BIOS for such a setting...
__________________
LINUX - because booting is for adding hardware! :D
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broken, fc5, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound broken after update eppo#1 Using Fedora 8 2nd May 2009 02:09 PM
F8: Broken sound after hibernation gopxkslbpiadd Using Fedora 6 31st January 2009 03:36 PM
Broken Sound, Tried Everything sahilm Using Fedora 4 21st November 2007 04:20 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:56 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Nagqu Photos - Lesnoy - Lokossa Travel Photos on Instagram