Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th June 2005, 05:14 PM
mikecurry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near Brighton (UK)
Age: 28
Posts: 53
CD Not Found (FC4)

I have tried the FC4 CD1 on 3 PCs now and all come up with the same error:

'The Fedora Core CD was not found in any of your CDROM drives. Please insert the Fedora Core CD and press OK to retry'

On the debug screens I get

* mntloop loop0 on /mnt/runtime as /mnt/source/Fedora/base/stage2.img fd is 15
* failed to mount loop: Invalid argument
* ejecting /tmp/cdrom

Is this just a bad ISO I've downloaded, or are many others getting the same error...?
__________________
My Linux Machine
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th June 2005, 05:22 PM
bitrain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Age: 27
Posts: 1,426
Where do you try this, in which os, fc3?
Did you check the sha1sum?
__________________
Registered Linux user number 389291

Laptop: Nec Versa p550, Pentium M 1.86GHz, 1024MB ram, x300, 80 GB HD, bluetooth, 2915BG Wlan card
Desktop: Amd Athlon x2 4200+, 2GB ram, Geforce 7300GT 512MB silent, 160GB HD in a nice centurion 534 case :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th June 2005, 05:46 PM
mikecurry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near Brighton (UK)
Age: 28
Posts: 53
I left my laptop downloading overnight - windows XP (latest SP) with FreshDownload...

I have quite a few troubles getting the ends of the files - the mirrors I used seemed to reduce the speed to < 10KB/s

As for the checksum, is there a way of finding it out - or can anyone recommend a winXP download manager with built in checksum?

Anyhoo, I'll leave firefox downloading the CDs overnight if I remember tonight.

M
__________________
My Linux Machine
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th June 2005, 05:47 PM
Ug Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,999
When you load the installation program, why not do the media check? That should tell you for sure if the cd is dodgy, which i suspect so.

Try burning from the ISO again, and if you get the same error - then redownload it and try. A bit labourious i know.
__________________
gareth@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 301555
garethrussell.net


Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th June 2005, 05:55 PM
mikecurry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near Brighton (UK)
Age: 28
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ug
When you load the installation program, why not do the media check? That should tell you for sure if the cd is dodgy, which i suspect so.
I cannot run the media check wizard - that was going to be the first thing I'd do before installing... this error comes up first.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tho.mei
I now this Error. I got it this morning. I tried to insert the Disc 2. Now it works. I just burd the ISO image on a different burner again.
I tried inserting different discs for the stage2.img which didn't help. I also tried to load it from across the network using the FTP option, which gave 'Invalid argument' errors on the debug screen.

I'll re download the ISOs and try again...
__________________
My Linux Machine
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th June 2005, 05:49 PM
tho.mei Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Gallen Switzerland or Christchurch, New Zealand
Age: 29
Posts: 710
Quote:
mikecurry read:
'The Fedora Core CD was not found in any of your CDROM drives. Please insert the Fedora Core CD and press OK to retry'
I now this Error. I got it this morning. I tried to insert the Disc 2. Now it works. I just burd the ISO image on a different burner again.
__________________
tho.mei
I use KDE!
Many workstions and few servers running on Fedora or Scientific Linux professionally.
Using LINUX to do some scientific 3D-stuff.
I'm RHCT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th June 2005, 10:16 PM
cgem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
That's total bull**** about broken media.
I've seen this bull**** too many times.
Nobody mention the REAL PROBLEM.
2.6.x kernel do not support certain models of CDROMs.
There is nothing to do. Your CDROM won't work
after installation. It is not a problem of media.
Only possibility is to use 2.4.x kernels.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th June 2005, 10:05 AM
mikecurry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near Brighton (UK)
Age: 28
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgem
That's total bull**** about broken media.
I've seen this bull**** too many times.
Nobody mention the REAL PROBLEM.
2.6.x kernel do not support certain models of CDROMs.
There is nothing to do. Your CDROM won't work
after installation. It is not a problem of media.
Only possibility is to use 2.4.x kernels.
Did you not even read my post? I have tried it in 3 PCs all of which get the same error.
FYI the machine I am upgrading has all the latest updates on FC2 and there has been NO trouble at all with any of my CD/DVD drives on all of my machines when I have had linux installed on them at various times.

I have downloaded the ISO from the official fedora.redhat.com site now its back up and the CD 1 ISO is a different size!

Thanks for all your help anyway - it just shows that you can't always trust mirror sites to have valid ISOs.

P.S. cgem> please actually read people's posts before replying in the future!
__________________
My Linux Machine
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th June 2005, 10:23 PM
cgem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Of course, another possibility is to change CDROM.
BTW, if you are using first approach, do not forget to take away the power cable of your CDROM,
2.6.11 crashes when it sees your CDROM. With 2.6.9 CDROM simply didn't work, but with 2.6.11
Fedora won't boot. I believe, 90% of problems like "Fedora don't boot after installation" are caused
by CDROM/kernel bug.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th June 2005, 02:04 PM
cgem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
@mikecurry
This bug is very common. In area where I live every second CDROM has problems with 2.6.x kernel.
(Beacause there are plenty of Samsungs)
Trying on many PCs do not actually prove anything.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th June 2005, 05:58 PM
mikecurry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Near Brighton (UK)
Age: 28
Posts: 53
Problem solved

The ISO was redownloaded and burnt and has now gone straight to media check.
Before it came up with prompting for language + kb language options... not sure what the mirror I used supplied me with, but it didn't seem to work!

Almost forgot to mention - the CDs are passing the media check, so all should be well

(assuming I can sort out my setup - I hope to install onto my new(er) 80GB hdd and eventually bin the 10GB. Only problem being the 80GB is being used as /home right now... yay for networked backups)

TTFN, Mike
__________________
My Linux Machine

Last edited by mikecurry; 17th June 2005 at 06:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FGLRX.ko not found found for kernal 2.6.23.14-115.fc8 k13pt0 Using Fedora 8 13th February 2008 08:49 AM
Window Manager won't start, grep not found, yum not found....ah! plugitin Using Fedora 7 5th October 2007 03:04 AM
who found the best linux type picture? I found one that looks interesting stephanie.steve Linux Chat 4 3rd September 2007 04:49 AM
Device not found(i.e hard disk not found) while installing FC1 himanshuggc Hardware & Laptops 0 3rd May 2006 10:46 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:48 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Penang Hill, Malaysia Instagram Photos - McDonald's Malaysia - Melaka Sentral Photos on Instagram - Schloss Neuschwanstein - El Born