Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th April 2005, 05:05 PM
mohelgamal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 32
Posts: 34
un able to save setting under root

hi
I am a newbie to linux, I was palying around with distros learing tricks to make things going
one of the tricks I learned is creating a file association through kde component in control center, in order to make specific extension run by aspecific program. and it was working with other distros.

Now on my recent FC3 installation the system refuses to remembr any of these setting, it is forgotten as I leave the control center, I also tried OPEN WITH and the option of remember the program association, in both cases the computer tells me it is updating the data base then nothing happens.

I am trying to make xine which I installed from downloaded rpm packages run all vedio files, because all other programs who came with the installation (noatun, kaboodle and helix) refuse to run anything of any kind. even media player 10.0.0.4 (also installed) refuses to run its origninal RM format.

I now open files every time by writing xine in the open with and it works succesfully.

and Of course I am logged as Root all the time.

thank you
__________________
visit my site
www.geocities.com/scienceinislam
it is small and concentrated won't take you 10 min to read it all
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th May 2005, 08:20 AM
mohelgamal Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 32
Posts: 34
may I revive my post any help
thanks
__________________
visit my site
www.geocities.com/scienceinislam
it is small and concentrated won't take you 10 min to read it all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th May 2005, 03:35 PM
jonest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 162
Have you tried it as a non root user? Of course, you understand it is not a good thing to be running as root.

I've seen this issue on other threads, though I do not have the problem with FC3. My only guess is that possibly root acts a certain way which is different than a regular user under kde.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
root, save, setting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to save Nvidia setting to x Jammerdelray Using Fedora 1 9th December 2007 09:45 PM
where is save setting when I logout? fedoradebut Using Fedora 0 4th April 2006 10:43 PM
How can i save the old kernel setting? webeye Using Fedora 1 2nd September 2005 11:59 AM
how do you save a modprobe setting? LinuxHippy Using Fedora 5 24th August 2004 09:08 PM
Setting power save Claudius Using Fedora 0 3rd June 2004 05:57 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:16 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat