Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th August 2012, 06:47 PM
nothing2lose Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Viet Nam
Posts: 4
linuxchrome
Error Python in FC17, help me

What do i have to do?
When i update my system, i receipt some error as below:

[root@localhost Downloads]#yum update
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* fedora: mirror-fpt-telecom.fpt.net
* rpmfusion-free: mirror.bjtu.edu.cn
* rpmfusion-free-updates: mirror.bjtu.edu.cn
* rpmfusion-nonfree: mirror.bjtu.edu.cn
* rpmfusion-nonfree-updates: mirror.bjtu.edu.cn
* updates: virror.hanoilug.org
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package python.i686 0:2.7.3-6.fc17 will be updated
---> Package python.i686 0:2.7.3-7.2.fc17 will be an update
---> Package python-devel.i686 0:2.7.3-6.fc17 will be updated
---> Package python-devel.i686 0:2.7.3-7.2.fc17 will be an update
---> Package python-libs.i686 0:2.7.3-6.fc17 will be updated
---> Package python-libs.i686 0:2.7.3-7.2.fc17 will be an update
---> Package tkinter.i686 0:2.7.3-6.fc17 will be updated
---> Package tkinter.i686 0:2.7.3-7.2.fc17 will be an update
--> Processing Dependency: /bin/python2.7 for package: PIL-1.1.7-10.fc17.i686
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Package: PIL-1.1.7-10.fc17.i686 (@atrpms)
Requires: /bin/python2.7
Removing: python-2.7.3-6.fc17.i686 (@anaconda-0)
Not found
Updated By: python-2.7.3-7.2.fc17.i686 (updates)
Not found
You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest
[root@localhost Downloads]#


Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2012, 07:30 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,687
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

Quote:
Originally Posted by nothing2lose View Post

--> Processing Dependency: /bin/python2.7 for package: PIL-1.1.7-10.fc17.i686
Error: Package: PIL-1.1.7-10.fc17.i686 (@atrpms)
This is why we don't typically use the atrpms repo. You are destined to run into dependency errors, like this one. Do you use the Python Imaging Library?

Quote:
The Python Imaging Library (PIL) adds image processing capabilities to your Python interpreter.
If you don't use PIL then try
Code:
yum --disablerepo=atrpms update
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th August 2012, 10:57 AM
nothing2lose Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Viet Nam
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo View Post
This is why we don't typically use the atrpms repo. You are destined to run into dependency errors, like this one. Do you use the Python Imaging Library?



If you don't use PIL then try
Code:
yum --disablerepo=atrpms update
Thanks for reply.
I have already used Python Imaging Library.
I have used
Code:
yum --disablerepo=atrpms update
too,
but not resolve the problem.
I'm installing FC17.
Hix.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th August 2012, 01:29 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,687
linuxfirefox
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

Did I read right? You're reinstalling Fedora 17?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th August 2012, 10:02 AM
MaartenBlaauw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

I had the same. Suggested way out:
yum remove LIP
(on my system this also removed dependencies hplip and hplip-gui, for hp printers)
yum update
yum install hplip-gui
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th August 2012, 06:31 PM
Alex Rast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
linuxfirefox
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

This appears to be some sort of problem/interaction with the rpms. I have the same problem (the recent date of this post suggests it's a new problem that's just emerged). Disabling atrpms didn't help. (On a side note, I have to ask, what exactly is atrpms designed to provide, and if most people are supposed to disable them why is it enabled by default? Not meant as a rhetorical/critical question, btw, but out of sheer curiosity)

MaartenBlaauw's suggestion didn't achieve anything either; same result. Indeed, it said initially LIP wasn't installed, so by trying an uninstall of hplip, then running the update the same error message as the original poster resulted.

I found the following note: http://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...ms/devel/16269
which suggests that you need to rebuild PIL from source. I will probably try that tonight. Ugly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th August 2012, 07:15 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,687
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Rast View Post
This appears to be some sort of problem/interaction with the rpms. I have the same problem (the recent date of this post suggests it's a new problem that's just emerged). Disabling atrpms didn't help. (On a side note, I have to ask, what exactly is atrpms designed to provide, and if most people are supposed to disable them why is it enabled by default? Not meant as a rhetorical/critical question, btw, but out of sheer curiosity)

MaartenBlaauw's suggestion didn't achieve anything either; same result. Indeed, it said initially LIP wasn't installed, so by trying an uninstall of hplip, then running the update the same error message as the original poster resulted.

I found the following note: http://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...ms/devel/16269
which suggests that you need to rebuild PIL from source. I will probably try that tonight. Ugly.
atrpms is not part of any default Fedora installation. If someone is using atrpms then they installed that repository deliberately. When the repository file is installed it is likely set as enabled by default.

For as long as I've been using Fedora (FC1 or 2) it has been widely known that using the atrpms repo can cause problems with rpm dependencies and so, for as long as I can remember, using that repo has been discouraged.

It can get, as you said, ugly, but that's not Fedora's fault at all.

Looks to me as though there isn't even a Fedora 17 branch in their repos.

http://atrpms.net/about

I just installed the atrpms repo on my server, just for kicks. Before I did that I updated the system. Once I had the atrpms repo setup I issued
PHP Code:
yum check-update 
Here's the result:

Code:
root@server glenn>$ yum check-update
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, local
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * fedora: mirrors.med.harvard.edu
 * rpmfusion-free: mirror.us.leaseweb.net
 * rpmfusion-free-updates: mirror.us.leaseweb.net
 * rpmfusion-nonfree: mirror.us.leaseweb.net
 * rpmfusion-nonfree-updates: mirror.us.leaseweb.net
 * updates: mirror.cc.columbia.edu

faad2-devel.i686               1:2.7-18.fc16                  atrpms
gstreamer-ffmpeg.i686          0.10.13-5.fc16                 atrpms
gstreamer-plugins-ugly.i686    0.10.18-14.fc16                atrpms
libbluray.i686                 0.2.2-2.fc16                   atrpms
libmms.i686                    0.6.2-4.fc16                   atrpms
libva.i686                     1.0.15-7.fc16                  atrpms
mplayer.i686                   4:1.0-90_snap20120311.fc16     atrpms
opencore-amr.i686              0.1.3-1.fc16                   atrpms
Obsoleting Packages
faad2.i686                     1:2.7-18.fc16                  atrpms
    faad2-libs.i586            1:2.7-1.fc11                   @rpmfusion-free
ffmpeg.i686                    0.10.2-54.fc16                 atrpms
    ffmpeg-libs.i686           0.8.12-1.fc16                  @rpmfusion-free-updates
lame.i686                      3.99.3-23.fc16                 atrpms
    lame-libs.i686             3.98.4-1.fc14                  @rpmfusion-free
x264.i686                      0.118-17_20111111.2245.fc16    atrpms
    x264-libs.i686             0.0.0-0.31.20110811.fc16       @rpmfusion-free
As you can see, there are several packages that atrpms is offering to replace. I'm hesitant because I'd bet there would be issues with at least one of them. Now let me go disable that repo.

PHP Code:
sed -'s/enabled=1/enabled=0/g' /etc/yum.repos.d/atrpms
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th August 2012, 11:32 PM
Alex Rast Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
linuxfirefox
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

As I mentioned, disabling the atrpms repo still caused the same error, so unfortunately that's not a solution. To be absolutely certain I deleted the atrpms repo from yum.repos.d and checked that it was completely gone with yum repolist all. The error STILL occurs, in exactly the same way!

Furthermore, I must report with frustration that an attempted rebuild as per the other appnote also didn't work.
First, yum-builddep PIL-1.1.7-10.src.rpm failed with exactly the same error as before, and then rpmbuild --rebuild PIL-1.1.7-10.src.rpm also fails:
error: line 13: Dependency tokens must begin with alpha-numeric, '_' or '/': Requires: %{python_libdir}

At this point I'm willing to state that it is Fedora's fault, or certainly they've got to be responsible for fixing it because it's gone beyond the ability of ordinary mortals to fix.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th August 2012, 08:27 AM
Mynos Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miralvalle
Posts: 3
linuxchrome
Re: Error Python in FC17, help me

The solution is next:

Code:
yum remove PIL
the next step

Code:
yum update
this solution for me

enjoy xD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
python

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error With Python / Python-Twisted-Web HMSS013 Using Fedora 6 11th November 2010 04:07 AM
Python, IDLE, Python-tools Gnome. Deonis Using Fedora 2 12th March 2009 03:44 AM
python and python-irclib problem LostSon Programming & Packaging 3 6th March 2008 11:12 PM
Processing Conflict: python-devel conflicts python< 2.3.4-13.1 guarriman Using Fedora 0 15th September 2005 05:53 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:03 (Wednesday, 27-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat